We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Sofitel So Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel So Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Redeem code 30% Off
Ranked #22 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My business trip truly felt like a vacation. Tastefully done up rooms with all amenities. A magical rooftop Swimming pool with a view to kill for. The Staff embody the 'land of smiles' in Bangkok tagline and are very friendly. Laila, at the front desk makes you feel welcome anytime she meets you throughout the day. The Staff will go out of the way to hail a Cab for you, store your luggage even after you have checked out or with useful tips for the City. Nearest BTS station Sala Deng is comfortable 10 mins walk away. A local Thai resturant just outside is a perfect place to sample the local Cuisine. Lumpini Park is bang opposite and a great place to run. Which brings me to the only average part of the Hotel - The Fitness Centre. I would have expected it to have a better equiped Weights section. All equipment there are in perfect condition though and very well maintained. Would definately stay there again when visiting the city of Squalla!

Room Tip: There are room motifs - Wood, Metal etc. Ask to see each room and chose the one you like if they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! We will definitely share this comment with our Staff (and especially to Laila!), it is indeed very encouraging! We are very happy to read that you had a nice relaxing time in our hotel, even if it was for business. We are expecting to see you back soon then!

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    920
    279
    60
    28
    26
See reviews for
134
592
136
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As part of the deal.com package we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and being regular visitors to Bangkok this was the first time at a Sofitel branded location. The transport from the airport to the hotel was excellent and upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the amount of staff on hand to welcome us. We were seated and given a brief introduction of the hotel and facilities and asked for a credit card for security, what wasn't explained by the guy was that the hotel would block $15,000 baht( approx $500 aus) as a security deposit during our stay, we we only made aware of this once trying to withdraw money and being denied by our Aus bank. Upon speaking with the reception staff the following day it was then explained to us and told it would be reversed on check out, 8 days later after leaving the Sofitel we are still waiting for it. The hotel is located in a great location and has beautiful views of the city, we were placed on one of the upper floors and waking each day to the view of the park was amazing, the pool and its view across to the city skyline is spectacular and the top floor bar at night is the place to go for a cool drink and chilled atmosphere. The hotel is a little over styled for our liking but given the audience they are going for I think it will prove to be a very popular destination for many. The staff are plenty and very efficient and always on hand to say hello which is a nice touch, the room was very lovely although the only other thing I could say that we didn't really like was that the hallways on the floors are way to dark, a little more lighting wouldn't hurt. Overall it was a great stay being our first time and although the Sofitel brand hasn't won our returning dollar it is a hotel which you need to experience and make up your own minds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Khun Drue S

It is always wonderful to hear a good feedback with such constructive points. Thank you very much for sharing your experience at recent stay at So here on Tripadvisor.

However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you had experienced with regards to the credit card pre-authorization, which clearly our associate did not properly explain to you since the very beginning.
Allow you to inform you that if the pre-authorized amount on your credit card was not used to settle your hotel expenses, our team will cancel that amount on your check-out day, however, it can take up to 14 days for the amount to be released, which all depends on the process of that commercial bank, not the hotel.

As for the brightness on the corridor, I am delighted to inform you that we have added lights by adding more powerful light bulbs on each floor, which we are confident with the imrpovement.

Once again, thak you very much for your feedback, which we greatly value.
We hope you would return in a near furture again as we would like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Have a wonderful weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Travelling for business feeling like in vacation.
This was my third stay at Sofitel So and I'm not gonna change for any other in BKK in the future. Good reastaurant at reasonable prices at 7th floor, amazing view at the roof top bar and great stay in the design rooms. The luxury swimming pool and fitness club can do the rest if you have time to enjoy them.

Luca

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Luca,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are very happy to read that your stay was smooth enough to make you feel in holidays, even on a business trip!
See you next time then, for another so good stay!
With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I usually stay at 5 stars hotel, i travelled with brother this time. Really exceeded my ecpectation。service is good. breakfast is good。the manager Paul is super and all staff with smile at all times。very good training of thr staff。

Room Tip: Their room is chic and fun but a bit dark for people over 45。
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you So much! It is very nice to read our staff is doing a great job, and that all our work gives good results!
I wish you all the best, and hope to see you back soon!

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

first visit and no one at the reception cares to show me the room facilities..arrive myself and opened the door..dark blu walls and black floor...switch not to be seen...total dark...after sometime succeded to turn a light but already difficult to see the switched which happen to be black color on dark blue walls...a few things and gl;itches here and there before finally succeeded to have someone to explain how the tv/nternet system works...few things did not work so hotels agreed to switch me to another room....same story..no one show the facilities and even harder to find a puc for the laptop which is under a table ina corner with no lights...had someone to come over and to do the process again...service nowhere to be seen for the all duration of the stay...the best thing honestly was the checkout...so happy to leave. and never return oo far below the standard of a 5stars sorry

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Khun leo246642

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about the recent stay with us. We read with concerned that your experience was rather a disappointment.
I have shared your feedback with our General Manager, Mr. Cretallaz and concerned department heads, and you can rest assured that all the points you raised have been carefully noted. Investigations have been done, however, Mr. Cretallaz and myself would like to ask for the opportunity to contact you in person to gain feedback in some more details so that we can make sure necessary rectifications will be appropriately conducted.

More importantly, we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better, and we hope you would be considering that.

Once again, we truly sorry for the disappointment experience you had and profoundly hope to hear from you.
Thank you for your time and feedback, which we greatly value.

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

New hotel with modern design. Arrived there in the afternoon, waited for about 20 minutes to check in. Check out so early in the next day so couldn't enjoy the breakfast in the hotel. But the breakfast box prepared by the hotel is plentiful.
A new hotel worth to try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I deeply apologize for the too long check-in you experienced for a so short stay. I would be very grateful if you gave us a second chance to welcome you, maybe for a longer stay to have the opportunity to try all the features. Should you have any special requirements, please allow me to be your first contact and send me an e-mail: H6835-HR2@sofitel.com.
With So Courtesy,

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived as part of a package deal. Met and chauffeured from the airport in high quality transport. Upgraded to a So Club room, thereby allowing use of Club Signature - well worth it. It allows for your own 'get a way' within the hotel where you can wine and dine - including evening cocktails and breakfasts away from the madding crowd. A new hotel, immaculately presented with funky design. Rooms impressively laid out and spotlessly clean. However the highlight is the exceptional customer service that we received from each and every member of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they conveyed a genuine interest in all clients. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views as hotel is not closely surrounded by other high rise complexes. Park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this so encouraging comment! We are very proud we managed to contribute to the highlight of your trip, and that your stay was a nice and smooth experience from the pick up at the airport. Please be sure we will share this to our team!
We hope to see you back soon, and all the best till then.

Akira Y.
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel So Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 30-storey urban design hotel in Bangkok, created by a reputable Thai Architect and five Thai interior designers, linked to French elegance by Monsieur Christian Lacroix, Sofitel So Bangkok offers themed accommodation inspired by the Five Elements; Water, Earth, Wood, Metal and Fire. Adjacent to Lumpini Park, business and entertainment districts, with easy access to Lumpini Subway and Saladaeng Skytrain station. The hotel is located 25km from Suvarnabhumi airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Sofitel So Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.