We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right in the heart of Sathorn, Bangkok..a very very pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Sofitel So Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel So Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Redeem code 30% Off
Ranked #22 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“right in the heart of Sathorn, Bangkok..a very very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As a frequent biz traveller,and an artist i have stayed in many many hotels.most of the time, city hotels choices goes by whats convenient. so wen recommended to stay here,i thot..ok, its near the station and night market n easy for meetings...but how different can it be?And then , i was SOOOOOO taken away by the view from my room, the details that goes into the decor ( i have my fave monkeys every on the curtains ) ,the amazing high tech connectivity anywhere in the hotel, and most importantly..the service- whilst attentive, its not pretentious and smouldering..; I will be BACK !! ( oooh ohh , almost forgot,the Club Signature is very conducive for meeting and inspiring! felt like i was in a contemporary arts museum instead !! )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear So Guest

It is really fantastic to hear that you admire our concept & design. Every corners and every pieces of products here have been well-thought & designed with attention to detail. So glad that you love us! Moreover, it is so wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay, thank you for sharing an encouraging feedback & great recommendation.

Please come back soon as we'd like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!

Have a lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    921
    279
    60
    28
    26
See reviews for
135
592
136
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

second stay in this great hotel and once again SO great and good.
From the first step in to the last step out, all was perfect.
service mind, smile, little touches and details everywhere for the pleasure of our eyes...
Love the room especially 2605, question of colors as well design
Will stay again for sure.
Definitely much better than W Bangkok

Room Tip: 2605 has a great view on Bangkok as well if you like dark colors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear So Guest

Having you staying us for the second time was absolutely a great pleasure. So looking forward to your third visit and more!
We can't be happier to know that you enjoyed the room 2605, however, we'll tempt you to try other room elements as well as massage treatment at So Spa so that you will be pampered & relaxed!
Thank you for your feedback & recommendation here on Tripadvisor, it is very valuable and encouraging and I have shared with the team and our General Manager, Mr. Cretallaz!

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!

Have a lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rising above the intersection of South sathorn and Rama IV, ultra design Sofitel SO bangkok exceeds all our expectations mid february.

We like :
-Ultra modern edge design room. SO comfortable bed. All the amenities and facilities you may expect in a so luxurious Suite from SOFITEL. One of the nicest room we have experienced so far. Our 1818 overlooks the area around South Sathorn street.
-Club Signature serves unbelievable buffet and a la carte breakfast, one of the nicest buffet we've seen so far, and empty most of the time.
-Ultra modern edge design hotel, magnificent lobby on 9th floor. Very nice poolside.
-Outstanding staff always looking to help, and smiling.

To our opinion :
-AC fan a bit noisy.
-Although across Lumphini MRT station, the nearest and more convenient BTS is Sala Daeng and is a well 10 minute sweating-walk away

So, the luxurious Sofitel SO Bangkok sets standards very high on the capital hotel scene, and it has all the latest amenities you may expect from its family name, no less. But being a bit away from the nearest BTS station is the only down side to our opinion. This said, we OVER enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SO Guest

We cannot thank you enough for such a great feedback and recommendation you wrote here on Tripadvisor...thank you so much.

We're delighted that you had a fantastic stay, particularly pleased with the room (no other comment can beat what you said that 'it was the best room you've ever stayed in") and helpful & friendly services provided by our ambassadors were a big part to make your stay enjoyable.

We have noted the points you have raised regarding noisy aircon and the distance from the hotel to BTS and I have shared these with concerned people in order to rectify the matters.

We hope you will return soon and wishing that next visit you will get to try different room elements and our So Spa, which will be very relaxing ;-)

Wishing you a lovely week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a beautiful, chic urban hotel. At first I thought the themed rooms is a bit gimmicky, but turns out nicely appointed.

Everything about the rooms are evidently well-thought. The TV is a smart TV, so no need to bring your laptop.The WiFi is complimentary. And no need to bring electrical adaptors, full-powered hairdryer and clothes steamer either as they also available in the room.( also an iron..so no excuse to look sloppy in this snazzy hotel ! )
The staff are all helpful, but the service is a bit slow. Their outfits are incredibly chic, designed by a famous French Couturier Christian Lacroix. I guess it's a modern take on the traditional Thai outfit.
The Red Oven restaurant is EXCELLENT !! the buffet menu is really extensive. I adore the fresh honey ( freshly dripped from a tilted honeycomb ) and the Thai Ice Tea gelato.
All in all, I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear So Guest

What a delightful feedback you wrote here...thank you so much! We can't be happier to hear that you had afantastic stay with us, particularly pleased with the room, which I can guarantee to you that every single concept and design were thouroughly thought through by all Thai designers and we couldn't be more proud!

It is also wonderful to hear that our ambassadors were helpful and friendly to you. However, the speed of service matter as you mentioned has been shared with the management team to highlight to their respective departments for necessary improvement.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back and have the pleasure to have you as our regular guests!

Wishing you a fab week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very nice urban chic hotel with different room themes meticulously designs. I checked into the Wood design which was fine but personally preferred a brighter room. The staff was very helpful and willing to move us to the Metal design. Drinks and snacks were complimentary and so is the WiFi access.

The view overlooking Lumphini Park with high rise building on the background afar is as pleasing as can be for a hotel in the middle of the city. The breakfast at Oven Red was very good with lots of fruits and fresh juicy specially made upon order.

We like the location as it is just adjacent to the Lumphini MRT Station, and a couple of stops away from the city core.

Things we didn't like.

There were no taxis queued up at the hotel waiting to be called so it may take varying time to get one depending on time of the day and how many other guests are there in front of you.

We stayed in 2 different rooms and both had some minor lighting malfunction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear So Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, particularly with the food at Red Oven and the services from our ambassadors.

However, we are sorry that the lighting system in the rooms were below your expectation. This has been notified to the DIrector of Engineer for urgent rectification. You can rest assured on that.

I hope you would give us the opportunity to welcome and better serve you in a very near future.

Have a so lovely weekend & see you soon!

With So Couretsy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The first thing I have to say about this hotel is that the outfits the staff wear are crazy cute! The combinations of Thai style puffy short pants and little jackets in very lavish yet modern fabrics are stunning and give the hotel a very funky vibe. The hotel itself is designed just as well as the outfits. All the public areas are very moden and cool and everything seems very new and high tech.

The service was great every part of the hotel we went and check-in and check-out were quick and no fuss. This was great as we had arrived at the hotel after midnight and were tired and the last thing we wanted was a long and tedious check-in. Our bags arrived almost as soon as we got to the room so was nice to not have to wait forever for them.

We stayed in a wood themed room and it was beautiful. Everything was designed really well and all the high tech wifis and gadgets worked perfectly. The internet was super easy to connect to and fast. No problems with logging in or with passwords like I have experienced in other hotels. The only criticisms I have of the rooms was that there was no sofa (which meant I fell asleep accidentally watching TV on the bed and missed going out for dinner), the lighting in the bathroom was not very flattering, and the full length mirror was inconveniently located behind the bathroom door. But everything else was great and free soft drinks, juices and snacks in the mini-bar!

We tried both breakfast and lunch at Red Oven during our stay. All the foods were delicious and high quality but I feel that the price for the buffet was expensive if you don't like eating big meals. The drinks were also a bit expensive but tasted pretty good. The decor of the restaurant was nice, as were the views over the park. Service was mostly very good but drinks a little slow to come out. The bread baskets on the table were super yummy!

The pool was lovely and the gym was clean and had a nice view of the pool and the park, but could have done with more machines and weights. But for a hotel gym it was not bad. The staff there were very friendly and helpful.

Finally, the guys downstairs on the door and at the concierge desk were very helpful and patient with us, especially considering we only had vague ideas of what we wanted to do and where to go and relied on them for suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear So Guest

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, particularly with the services provided by our ambassadors. I have shared your feedback to our Concierge and guest services team, and they are absolutely delighted to hear that their tips and suggestion were helpful and made your visit a blast!

Thank you so much for recommending us so great on Tripadvisor as well.
Your feedback regarding the lighting and bathroom mirror have been shared with our Director of Engineer, and therefore, appropriate measures will be quickly taken to ensure improvement is being applied.

I really hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again soon as we would like to have you as our regular guest! So, next visit we would like to tempt you with other room elelments and our SO Spa treatments.

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A top Design Hotel with excellent staff. One of the most beautiful hotels through and through. Everything is carefully thought through from the clothes of the staff to the accessories in the room. The view from the room on the 26th floor, overlooking the park was simply stunning. And the infinity pool on the 10th floor is top. Last but not least... Don 't miss the breakfast - you'll be overwhelmed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear So Guest

Thank you for your feedback and great recommendation on Tripadvisor. We're so happy that you had an amazng stay with us.

So, we hope you will return soon as there're so many surprise to welcome and make your stay more and more plesant! So see you soon!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel So Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 30-storey urban design hotel in Bangkok, created by a reputable Thai Architect and five Thai interior designers, linked to French elegance by Monsieur Christian Lacroix, Sofitel So Bangkok offers themed accommodation inspired by the Five Elements; Water, Earth, Wood, Metal and Fire. Adjacent to Lumpini Park, business and entertainment districts, with easy access to Lumpini Subway and Saladaeng Skytrain station. The hotel is located 25km from Suvarnabhumi airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.