We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously fancy and ultra modern 5* hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Bangkok to your Saves list
Sofitel So Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Seriously fancy and ultra modern 5* hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I don't often stay in these higher end hotels, but this hotel is one of the most impressive things I have seen for a long time. The theme that runs through the hotel and the quality of the fit out is very well done. The staff here are top of their game, very helpful, super polite and smartly dressed! However, I would agree other reviews that check-in is fairly time consuming and if you arrived at a peak time you may have a wait on your hands.

Room (unsure of type, 14th floor) was of reasonable size - neither large nor small, with a small desk and sofa/ledge near the window. As is typical of these higher end hotels, the bathroom is almost as big as the main room, including a massive shower with rain head and even a separate bathtub. Great amenities, and none of those little bottles of nasty shampoo, these bathrooms come with nice dispensers of very nice smelling soaps etc. The bed was very comfortable, medium firmness with lots of pillows provided.

Hotel location is about 60 baht from Sukhumvit (NOT including traffic) which may make it not necessarily the kind of location you would base yourself if you were coming to Bankok to party it up every night. However it's right near Lumpini park which is also a popular destination for some.

One minor criticism would be that I did find the hotel has out-fancied itself in some respects - an example being the fact that the room service menu is buried inside the tv system, took a while to figure that one out. The hallways and main thoroughfares are quite dark and it's easy to feel a little disoriented when making the elevator swap, but the longer I stayed the more things I started to notice around the place that made me think "wow".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear khun jg161,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    318
    71
    30
    29
See reviews for
177
719
164
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the Wood Element room for 5 nights.
Could not fault this hotel at all.
From the airport pick up, to check in, everything went smoothly.
The breakfast was the best I have had in some time, almost everything you could imagine.
Staff all very friendly and attentive. Especially Paul!
Met a number of the staff and the GM at the cocktail party which we were invited too.
They really can not do enough for you here.
The chocolate shop is a must do. As part of our package we received some boxed chocolates and were treated to some in our transfer too.
I would highly recommend this hotel, only a 15 minute walk to the main night life area and close to public transport too.
I suggest using your Do not disturb light if you do not want your turn down service too early.
We had a view of the park which was lovely.
Anytime we requested extra water or ice it was promptly delivered with a smile.
Would definately recommend and you can request different pillows which we did too.

Room Tip: Park view rooms up high are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear khun scbling,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my third time to stay at Sofitel So Bangkok .Everytime we re well welcomed from all staff but for this time it's So special one with club benefits at Recently opened "Club signature by mr. Christian lacroix" It's So beautiful, high fashioned decoration and specially come with a exelent service staffs. We ve enjoyed our afternoon tea, evening cocktails and a gorgeous breakfast in the morning. Room in Water element theme was impressed me,good combination with function and fashion. I love the bath tub with panoramic view of City of angel and Sceneric Lumphini park view.Thanks for my great stay here, I love you So!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear khun Naitualek,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Sofitel SO Bangkok in early November. We were there for our honeymoon & they couldnt have made us feel more special. We were in the wood room & absolutely everything about the room was perfect. The bed is the comfiest bed I've stayed in & the pillows devine! The buffet restaurant where we had breakfast & also indulged in dinner one night called The Red Oven is beyond words. The food options available were fantastic & so fresh & tasty!!! Im a real foody & this place impressed!!! We will be talking about Sofitel SO for a long time to come and have already reccommended it to everyone we know.

THANKYOU to Sofitel SO Bangkok!!! We cant wait to get back there.

Room Tip: we had the Wood Room & it was beautiful but im sure they all are!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Khun Tam M,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

There might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Impressive is the word. So unconventional. Checkin was fast, almost virtual without a front desk. All staff were uniquely dressed, so "un-uniformed ". Everybody is so pretty , nice and polite. Room was unique, can choose 4 different moods / elements , and I had the white one. Food was special, open kitchen right in the middle of the Fire restaurant. The location is close to the hawker streets, very convenient for food , shopping or Thai massages. All in all, the hotel is really Different from the norm.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Khun Dankittraveller,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

There might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

An unusual luxury hotel! Luxury and very contemporary with a lot of minimalism. you like it or not. I had a complete white room which remembered me of the Sofitel Vienna which is a design masterpiece of Jean Nouvel. I really liked the Red Oven Restaurant. Exceptional concept. I would have loved to sit on the rooftop bar but they rented it out to groups every single day our conference. that was a real downturn. hope they changed this in the meantime and offer tables for individuals as well

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves M, General Manager at Sofitel So Bangkok, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear khun ExpatinChina,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel So Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 30-storey urban design hotel in Bangkok, created by a reputable Thai Architect and five Thai interior designers, linked to French elegance by Monsieur Christian Lacroix, Sofitel So Bangkok offers themed accommodation inspired by the Five Elements; Water, Earth, Wood, Metal and Fire. Adjacent to Lumpini Park, business and entertainment districts, with easy access to Lumpini Subway and Saladaeng Skytrain station. The hotel is located 25km from Suvarnabhumi airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.