We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in a mad city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Residence Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Oriental Residence Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oriental Residence Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Now!
Ranked #2 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Haven in a mad city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after spending a week diving in Phuket what a pleasure to stay at from the limo pickup to the magnificent room which was huge the beds were to die for we slept for 12 hours straight heaven
Food and service superb and loved the indoor/outdoor pool
Close to sky train station and surrounded by greenery in the embassy district a little hidden gem in a mad city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear nudge63,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed a lovely stay. We are honored that you chose the Oriental Residence Bangkok and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the service, guestroom, amenities and food and beverage. We are already looking forward to your return visit so that you can enjoy the breathtaking Garden views, which are always stunning. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    117
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
195
420
69
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent our last few days in Bangkok here and were amazed by this place! Never stayed in such a beautiful, professional and friendly place. We decided to take the local train system there and had to do a couple hundred meter walk in the midday heat. We arrived very hot and sweaty with everyone looking flash and fancy. They did not judge us at all or no funny looks only smiles and they were very accomodating and offered us cold towels and water before we had even showed our passports or checked in!

Rooms were incredible - had everything and more and could not fault anything. Pool facilities were fantastic.

Fancy a bit of luxury in Bangkok - this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Matt W,

Thank you. It is a joy to hear that you experienced outstanding and friendly service. We appreciate your feedback and hope we will have the chance to welcome you back once again.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Oriental residence hotel is a gorgeous hotel with top of the line service. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by numerous bellhops who were very helpful throughout our stay. The concierge is a kind man who speaks English well and happily provides great tips for getting around the city and seeing the sights.

The design of the hotel is very elegant. The pool and gym on the fourth floor are amazing and have great views of the city. The pool is very clean and has comfortable lounge chairs and two cute lotus-shaped beds. The gym has top-notch equipment and free bottles of water.

The two restaurants - Cafe Claire and Mondopop - are expensive but has good quality food and service. Cafe Claire is designed like a french cafe and has a bistro and thai menu.

The hotel rooms are very large and have high quality furniture and lovely design. The bed, in particular, is extremely comfortable and soft. We received a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom after the AC broke in our room. The one bedroom was incredible as it was a corner unit on the 16th floor with breathtaking views of the city. It also had a huge, dream bathroom.

When booking the hotel, I was worried that it would be isolated based on reading other reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is only a few blocks from a BTS station and from a popular street.

If we ever visit Bangkok again, we'll be staying at the Oriental Residence. Staying there was a highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and if you can afford it, splurge on a one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Lavender888,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay and we cannot thank you enough for pointing out the staff and departments that assisted in making it all the more memorable. We take the utmost pride in our work and are flattered that you felt this too. We just hope that each guest experiences that same high level of warm, inviting service. Thank you for recommending the Oriental Residence Bangkok to others and thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us; it means the world! We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back once again.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This boutique hotel was a wonderful experience from an effortless pick-up at the airport, great upgrade to a one bedroom, calm and pristine décor, caring and efficient staff who made the effort to understand what was wanted and provide what was needed. The location is out of the noise and congested traffic, though still fairly easy to get anywhere which the staff organise very well. This matched many 5 star hotels across the globe.

Better maps are needed for thai taxi drivers and the shuttle service to and from Siam BTS would be a better option due to Chit Lom BTS requiring lots of walking to get to most places.

Room Tip: The upgrade available to One Bedroom is a very nice surprise. There is a very good supermarket with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you took advantage of our central location near great shops and dining options. We are so proud of our staff and the excellent service they provide. We are honored to be on the same level with other Five Star hotels across the globe and we hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A lovely, new hotel in a leafy location. Well located within walking distance to the sky train for access to much of the busy city. Across the street from a small shopping mall with ATMs, casual restaurants and a small grocery store. We did not eat the hotel breakfast; but instead bought breakfast things across the street and used the kitchen to make our own quick meals in the mornings.

If we return to Bangkok, we will book the Oriental Residence again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear LucyH49,

We are honored that you enjoyed our property so much and appreciative that you took the time to share this review. We hope you will have the opportunity to return in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel and everything is immaculate. The location is perfect, just off wireless road, easy enough to walk to the main shopping direct. In a large city you don't need a hotel with a large selection of amenities - the important things are cleanliness, location, service and breakfast. Which this hotel for-filled admirably - except for maybe the breakfast.

Pro
Friendly efficient staff always willing to help.
Immaculate rooms with a small kitchen area with microwave and cooker/hobs
Great location and pool on the 4th floor

Cons
You are limited to two devices when using the internet, which isn't great especially if you have two phone's, an Ipad and a laptop. They said you need to pay extra for more devices.
Breakfast had limited selection, the buffet was under stocked.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms contain everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Daniel-Sarah2327,

We place tremendous value on guest feedback and cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a joy to know that the service has always been stellar – that is what we strive to achieve with every guest stay. As was mentioned about our complimentary internet, unfortunately we would not be able to accommodate every device as nowadays people having an average of three devices per person. We have to ensure we have availability to accommodate other guest as well.

Thanks once again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We chose a 2 bedroomed suite for a reunion with our adult son who lives in HK. It surpassed expectations. The welcome, from collection at the airport, to registering in the suite itself was faultless. The suite was superb with stunning views over the Dutch and American ambassadorial house/grounds. The decoration was subtle and extremely tasteful. Everything was in pristine order and sparklingly clean. We wanted for nothing. The included breakfast was of very high order. We made good use of the beautiful swimming pool. The staff could not have been more helpful in organising transport, making recommendations for good local and very reasonable restaurants. They even spotted that it was our son's birthday and a card duly appeared. When there was a problem with the AC late at night, an engineer was there within minutes and fixed it. Highly recommended, we would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: The views over the embassy gardens are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear SimonW923,

Thank you for your detailed and wonderful review! We have shared your comments with our entire team. It is such a joy to know when guests have taken advantage of every aspect of the hotel, from the room to the pool to our location. Not the least of which knowing that we were able to help in creating a magical experience for your family. We love ensuring that families have special memories to take home with them and know that every little extra touch makes a difference. Thank you for your compliments; we all express our thanks for your business and just hope we will have the honor of welcoming your family back once again.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Mandopop – signature Chinese restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Residence Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.