We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise of a place in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Residence Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oriental Residence Bangkok to your Saves list
Oriental Residence Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive: Save 20% Now
Ranked #2 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Paradise of a place in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed at one of tiheir two bedroom suites for our short holiday weekend in Bangkok and it was a dream.
The team could anticipate your every wish before you even thought of it! From technical pack to bathroom amenities to in room facilities they have everything you ever need.
The service team is always enthusiastic to help, ambience of the hotel is just the right balance between contemporary chic and classic cozy. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear confucius73,

Thank you for your very kind compliments. I am delighted to read about the level of customer service you experienced as well as the hotel amenities and will be certain to share with the entire team. We hope you will escape from Singapore and stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    118
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
195
427
71
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our 4 night stay was most relaxing in this beautiful hotel. The room was luxurious, most comfortable with a lovely bathroom and dressing room. Loved the kitchenette with quality appliances. The staff was always courteous and helpful. The shuttle service to the BTS station was a bonus. Across the street there is a morning market where you can buy local food and all sort of things. There is also a seven eleven store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear maclinksgoer,

Thank you very much. It pleases me greatly to hear that you had such a nice time with us and you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in the Oriental Residence Bangkok in January for three nights. It's a modern and well appointed hotel that manages to not feel too cold. The room was great, with a separate living and dining area and a galley kitchen and island with sink and washing area. The toilet was large, with separate toilet, shower and bathtub areas as well as separate dresser and sink tables. Having two flatscreen TVs in the bedroom and living area was a plus as you don't have to worry if there's a clash in different people wanting to watch different programs. The hotel pool is on the fourth floor and is large enough to do laps.

The hotel is in a prestigious location, next to the Dutch embassy and the US ambassador's residences. But it's situated midway between two stations (Ploenchit & Chidlom) and about a 10-15 minute walk to either. If you need to be at the doorstep to Siam Square shopping area, there are probably better located hotels for you, though having said that, the hotel does provide a half hourly shuttle to Chidlom station.

I found the breakfasts at the cafe adequate but the setting and view of the greenery of teh Netherlands embassy compound make up for it. Do book a dinner at the in-house Chinese Restaurant Mandopop. It's a very stylish restaurant and the food and service were good. For a high-end restaurant it was also relatively inexpensive.

Finally, if you can, do book the hotel's airport transfer service. Bangkok traffic can be hell, and it makes a huge difference to be fetched to and from the airport in one of the hotel's Jaguar XJ limousines. They are very luxurious cars that have sunroofs, huge amounts of leg space and even massage functions in the rear seats. You can even control the music from the in-car IPad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear BertSingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts. It pleases me greatly to hear that you had such a great experience with us. I will certainly share your kind words with my team, especially with Mandopop team. See you on your next trip to Bangkok!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were after a 24 hours flight so it was a huge hope to get some sleep and a take a good shower. But we found much more than sleep and shower, we were treated like some presidents from the movie and a bed... Guys, from where did you get this bed, it is a piece of heaven to sleep, we want the same to us!

I definitely recommend this hotel for a recover from flight. Kitchen was a bit useless for us but overall everything is just great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear iSerge,

Thank you very much for kind comments. We will be delighted to have you again on your next trip and we are always here to help you recover from jetlag or a reason to get jetlag!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my second favorite hotel in Bangkok and lagged slightly behind the Hansar hotel for only two reasons: Location and breakfast.

While the location is not bad (it is about 1km away from the BTS) taxi drivers and motorcry? (scooter taxis) don't seem to know the street even when I handed them the thai directions given by the hotel.

Breakfast served its purpose but was not nearly as memorable as my other stays

Rooms were bright, clean, and comfortable. While I tend to prefer more modern aesthetic, this hotel was done well for its style.

Staff was very friendly and helpful

The pool was by far the best of the three hotels I stayed at. Great outdoor space with very comfortable loungers.

FWI- this place caters to a more sophisticated crowd with a slightly stricter dress code. While traveling I tend to bring comfortable clothes and running shoes as I will be spending the majority of the day walking around the city. While at the Oriental I felt a little underdressed walking through the lobby wearing sneaker and a t-shrit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Anthony Q,

Thank you very much for your generous compliments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was simply wonderful. The staff was excellent and very friendly, the room itself was HUGE and beautifully appointed. It felt like home immediately. The room was immaculate and everything was very new. The hardwood floor was beautiful, the shower was amazing, and the walk in closet was a nice bonus. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again in the future. Great price for what you get as well, stay here while it's still reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Jomikewa,

It is a true pleasure to hear your thoughts about your recent visit. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and I am delighted to hear your feedback about our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

all i can say is WOW...best hotel ever...the service team is amazing, great manager, everything was perfect...i was soo impressed i would recommend this hotel to anyone...i was there from jan 3-6..i couldn't believe the service from the min i step out to the min i left...the team was super friendly, helpful, caring, and it wasn't that fake caring ...they took their jobs seriously...thank you thank you thank you for making my first time being in bangkok amazing i will be back to stay at this hotel...everyone please stay at this hotel amazing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Kareem R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts. It pleases me greatly to hear that you had such a great experience with us. See you on your next trip to Bangkok!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Mandopop – signature Chinese restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Residence Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.