We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Residence Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Residence Bangkok to your Saves list
Oriental Residence Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off with Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 768 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Oriental Residence Bangkok back in September with my mother. We got a One Bedroom Suite for a weekend staycation. First entering the hotel, the lobby was grand with a lot of light, and high ceiling. The front office staffs were very attentive and courteous. Check in was no problem. We were guided to our suite and were introduced where the necessities could be found

The room is spacious, and tastefully decorated. The hardware are of good quality, definitely not the five-star-wannabe. :) The living area and bedroom are of good size with extremely spacious bathroom, that can fit another extra bed in there! I love the separate bath and shower, as well as the amenities provided in the bathroom.

With the kitchenette in the room, we decided to make an easy meal the one evening. We had everything we wanted, a pot, a pan, dishes of various sizes and cutlery. Everything was cleaned and put back in the cupboard the next day. The complimentary coffee and tea provided were also of excellent quality and taste.

The food and afternoon snack at Cafe Claire are also excellent. My favourite are Ceasar Salad, Snow fish with miso glazed and Chocolate tea. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, I'd still highly recommend you to try.

The location is quite convenient, only 5 mins walk to Ploenchit BTS station. There is an office complex right across from the hotel with Starbucks and a few restaurants, as well as TOPS supermarket. There's also a small 7-Eleven just right across the street. There are also quite a few restaurants and massage places in Soi Ruamruedee, which is a short walk from the hotel. Taxi is easy to get and the apart from the usual rush hours, the area is quite and safe (Embassy Row).

I'd go back again and highly recommend the hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear breakofdawning,

Thank you for sharing your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service. I will make sure to share your kind comments with our team especially with our chefs. They will be delighted to hear your wonderful comments about the cuisine at Café Claire. We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    145
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
217
509
84
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when our taxi pulled into the Porte-cochere of Oriental Residences, not only we were instantaneously greeted by friendly staff but when we were ushered into a lobby, in front of us is not a typical nor conventional 5 star lobby but an intimate, cozy, homely and unpretentious lobby that welcomes you. The feel of coming home and sense of belonging was immediately felt, and little do we know, they do offer Private Ownership for those that enjoy high-life and for those would crave for a residence in the heart of Bangkok.

We checked into a one-bedroom suite. The spacious suite was well designed and the choice of the furniture and deco is exquisitely appointed. It is a perfect place for holiday makers as the room is well equipped with a kitchenette, living area and all the amenities you would expect from a 5 Star luxury hotel. Business traveller would also love the abundant of power points available in the room as well as the free WIFI access. The bed is very comfortable and the toilet is marvelously spacious. You can experience the attention to detail in every aspects from the renowned TWG tealeaf to cup coaster to the bathroom amenities.

It is located in the Embassy area, and some of the room command a panoramic view over the lush greeneries. Diagonally opposite the hotel is the All Seasons Place where you can find supermarket, eatery outlets and exquisite shopping.

The breakfast is served at Café Claire. Though the seating capacity is not huge but for a 145 units residences it is marginally adequate. The ambience is truly relaxing, and to sip a cup of hot aromatic coffee facing the greens is simply heavenly. The only downside is the buffet/a la carte order is not as extensive as compared to those large hotels.

The hotel provides free shuttle service to the nearest BTS station that make the shopping experience hassle free. For those prefer to take a walk, it is also a mere 10 mins walk.

Although our stay at the Oriental Residences Bangkok is brief, the fond memories were further enhanced by the friendly and helpful hotel staff. We would highly recommend any regular Bangkok tripper or even first-timer to try out the Oriental Residences Bangkok for a brand new stay experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Benlim55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property, service and atmosphere. Our little Café Claire is a wonderful restaurant to relax and take in the garden sights. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Oriental Residence is more than deserving of it's place as number 1! My boyfriend and I stayed here in September, as a treat in the middle of 8 months backpacking.

We were blown away by the room and the service. Everyone was so friendly and they really went out of their way to make our stay memorable with complimentary afternoon snacks of mango and sticky rice, and a small cake since it was my boyfriends birthday while we were there! The room was amazing, and much more than we expected, we had a 1 bedroom suite and it was huge! The hotel and rooms are really clean and modern.

We will definitely be back. It's a great slice of luxury in bustling Bangkok!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Stephanie D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that our service and facility made you feel comfortable and enjoyable. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The service was very good. They tended to our every need. The room was very clean, sleek, and functional. The fruit basket is very good; they know how to select fruits! Very sweet and juicy! Also, it's very nice that they have a crossing guard there, the cars drive so fast, making it really hard just to jaywalk. On top of that, it is literally right next to the Netherland and American embassies, so you should feel super safe.

DON'T TRY HOME'S KITCHEN. THEY SUGGESTED IT TO US. THAT PLACE WAS A NIGHTMARE. NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES THEY SUGGEST IT TO YOU, JUST DON'T GO THAT PLACE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear HAI-AND-BYE,

I wanted to thank you for all of your kind remarks about our staff and I am proud to be part of a team that takes such excellent care of our guests and will most certainly share your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the first time i comment at tripadvisor but this hotel really deserves it!
We absolutely loved our stay at Oriental Residence.
Everything was just PER-FECT!
The attention on every little detail made our stay unforgettable
The staff was genuinly very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel is so beautifull and cosy that you wonder if you should leave to know the city.
Wish i had more time in Bangkok to enjoy more of this wonderfull hotel.
Cafe Claire is also a must!

Having a SPA would definitely be a plus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear CristianaVazFranco,

Thank you very much for your confidence in us. It pleases me greatly that you felt the service during your stay was exceptional and everything was perfect! We appreciate that your first Trip Advisor review was for us. See you again soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and my wife chose the Oriental Residence due to the 5 star rating and the fact that it was so much cheaper than some of the other hotels in the top 5 for Bangkok on Trip Advisor.

I spent weeks reading up on all the different hotels and reviews before booking the OR hotel. This was part of a 3 week trip to Australia and Thailand and had been a year in the planning so I wanted everything to be spot on.

The minute we arrived at the hotel the staff made us feel very special and they very genuinely wanted to assist us. The girls on reception were very pleasant and beautiful in equal measure and a joy to deal with (They even sorted our phones as we were struggling to connect to the hotels WIFI, that's going above and beyond in my book).

Having been to Thailand before it seems being nice and polite comes natural to most Thai people.

I can hand on heart say this probably the nicest and most pleasant hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. We were kindly upgraded to a one bedroom corner suite with a balcony for our 3 night stay (wish we could have spent a few more nights but work commitments in the UK called).

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas, there are free bottles of mineral water, fruit and newspapers in the hotel for guests. We ate in Cafe Claire on the first night as we were too tired to venture out after out flight from Sydney and it was a lovely meal with very attentive staff, we also had breakfast in Cafe Claire which was extreme nice and a good selection.

I went in the pool a couple of times and it was a very relaxed, clean and quiet environment after all the walking and madness of Bangkok's traffic and people.

On our last night we ate in the Mandopop restaurant and this was a prefect way to end our trip, the food was outstanding and very reasonably priced we even managed to catch happy hour which pleased this tight Scotsman :-) The staff were first class in everything they did and made us feel like royalty I don't think we had to touch a door to open it for our whole stay.

All in all the staff we dealt with were a credit to this hotel and this is why it is number one in Trip Advisor, I just hope the prices don't sky rocket in the future.

A few posters have made a big deal about the location and how long it takes to walk to the Skytrain. The Hotel offer a free shuttle service to the station if you have difficulty walking or would prefer not to. I think it took us 10-15mins to walk to the Skytrain on our way back from touring Bangkok and was a doodle even in the heat of Bangkok.

All in all and thoroughly enjoyable stay and I'm happy to give this a 5 star review and would highly recommend the Oriental Residence

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jofneytoad,

First of all I must thank you for your generous words regarding our staff. Hiring the best team in Bangkok is something I am extremely proud of. This is the level of service and generosity we aim to deliver and you described it perfectly. From the minute you arrived at the hotel, we truly aim to please our guests and offer the best service in the business.

We are humbled by your review and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here just one night, but it was fabulous.

Check-in was in a spacious lobby, soaring ceilings and the staff were efficient and friendly. The apartment rooms were a cut above anything similar I've stayed in before. The reasons - style, furnishing, content and attention to detail. Lots of room, all manner of gadgets and items to make your life easier, huge bathroom and nicely equipped kitchen. All appearing very new and up to date.

I didn't have time to check any other facilities barring breakfast.It wasn't your typical huge 5 star spread, more limited but there was the advantage there was actually a menu and so they'd take your order which was nice.

As the rate was comparable to a 5 star room only rather than an apartment, I'd be back here in a flash.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mupple,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and I am delighted to hear your feedback about our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriental Residence Bangkok very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 768 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Mandopop – signature Chinese restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Residence Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.