We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic choice options!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger

Ginger
999/99 Rama 1 Road | 24 Floor, Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre at CentralWorld, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
021006255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,480 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, fantastic choice options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is at the higher cost end for Bangkok but is well worth the visit. Around 1600ThB per person however house wine is included (and quite nice) and free flowing.
We took 2 guests who were new to Thailand and were unsure on their willingness to be adventurous with Thai food.
Ginger is a buffet service with a global selection of choices, including various Thai dishes. You can basically eat until you can eat no more, wait a bit then go for it again.

We had a window seat, which was pre-booked an hour or so before. It wasn't that busy but all other window seats were taken so it is worth making the reservation in advance if you want the view.

If anything negative can be said, its the layout. The actual restaurant is split over 2 sides of the building which means you have to walk, carrying your food, through a lobby area and the lifts. It's not that bad but just feels a bit odd.

The service is really good and we didn't have to wait for anything. Glasses never go empty and there is always someone close by if you need anything else.

I really recommend this place and try the sushi. It's fantastic!

After eating, I would recommend heading up to the roof bar for a drink. It was raining when we were there so the large open air area was closed however inside has a nice atmosphere with live music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Buffet, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate here for their Duck and Merlot night. What a night! The food was to die for. Duck every way imaginable and as much as you could eat. I had never eaten Duck Foie Gras before and what a true delicacy, to be able to go back and get a second serve was a treat. The Merlot did not stop flowing and the wine waiter was amazing. You never saw the bottom of your glass. Excellent value for money approximately $50 AUD p/p. Will certainly eat here again when in Bangkok

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

GInger and the World restaurant are on either side of the same floor and you can visit both sides for their buffets We went on duck and merlot night! Lovely food. Ginger is nicer than the World in ambience and far less crowded. But food choice greater on World side so you might end up wandering over and taking your plate back a fair bit. Ginger concentrated on Asian inspired stations but not Thai. World had thai, italian and french. Wonderful salads made to order. Duck liver with glaze delicious as was papaya salad.

Its buffet. So you end up wandering around a lot. Not ideal for chat! And they ridiculously charge for all drinks including water except wine. So its cheaper to drink 3 bottles of wine than to have a Sprite! But the wine was quaffable so if you all drink it its very good value. With tax and soft drink and coffee its more like 2000 tbh a head but still good value. My child made up for no wine by eating about 8 good desserts!

You can go to happy hour first at the sky bar on top floor or if you are flush afterwards when they have live music and a good buzz. Happy hour is two for one but dont get too excited as it doesnt include cocktails! Service terrible at sky bar but you just have to put up with it for the view. Service in ginger very good but then they only have to deal with drinks and clearing plates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet spreads we had in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant is in the Central World Hotel, adjacent to the Central World Mall. We went there for a dinner buffet. The choice of spread was simply amazing. There were a lot of choices for vegetarians which was unusual. The dessert spread was so good that I had to skip some dishes to keep room for dessert & had to make two trips to sample all that I wanted. The only oddity I found was that the Thai food was in the international section.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are very happy you are happy! Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Buffet in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant offers a buffet to die for, the choice is amazing and has every culinary delight you could imagine, most nights the price includes complimentary wine to go with the food of your choice, very good value

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.