We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Buffet, Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger

Ginger
999/99 Rama 1 Road | 24 Floor, Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre at CentralWorld, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
021006255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,250 of 7,829 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Buffet, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate here for their Duck and Merlot night. What a night! The food was to die for. Duck every way imaginable and as much as you could eat. I had never eaten Duck Foie Gras before and what a true delicacy, to be able to go back and get a second serve was a treat. The Merlot did not stop flowing and the wine waiter was amazing. You never saw the bottom of your glass. Excellent value for money approximately $50 AUD p/p. Will certainly eat here again when in Bangkok

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

GInger and the World restaurant are on either side of the same floor and you can visit both sides for their buffets We went on duck and merlot night! Lovely food. Ginger is nicer than the World in ambience and far less crowded. But food choice greater on World side so you might end up wandering over and taking your plate back a fair bit. Ginger concentrated on Asian inspired stations but not Thai. World had thai, italian and french. Wonderful salads made to order. Duck liver with glaze delicious as was papaya salad.

Its buffet. So you end up wandering around a lot. Not ideal for chat! And they ridiculously charge for all drinks including water except wine. So its cheaper to drink 3 bottles of wine than to have a Sprite! But the wine was quaffable so if you all drink it its very good value. With tax and soft drink and coffee its more like 2000 tbh a head but still good value. My child made up for no wine by eating about 8 good desserts!

You can go to happy hour first at the sky bar on top floor or if you are flush afterwards when they have live music and a good buzz. Happy hour is two for one but dont get too excited as it doesnt include cocktails! Service terrible at sky bar but you just have to put up with it for the view. Service in ginger very good but then they only have to deal with drinks and clearing plates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet spreads we had in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restaurant is in the Central World Hotel, adjacent to the Central World Mall. We went there for a dinner buffet. The choice of spread was simply amazing. There were a lot of choices for vegetarians which was unusual. The dessert spread was so good that I had to skip some dishes to keep room for dessert & had to make two trips to sample all that I wanted. The only oddity I found was that the Thai food was in the international section.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Ginger, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are very happy you are happy! Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Buffet in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant offers a buffet to die for, the choice is amazing and has every culinary delight you could imagine, most nights the price includes complimentary wine to go with the food of your choice, very good value

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very nice buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We took advantage of the two restaurants for the price of one offer (access to both Ginger and The World) to check out what they had to offer on their dinner buffet. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality and variety of food that they offered at Ginger, in particular. As big fans of Japanese and Chinese cuisine, I loved that the food was tasty and were always replenished. The staff were very friendly as well. They offered free refills Pinot Noir wine. We also checked out the buffet at The World, but were kind of disappointed with the menu that night. It was NZ lamb night, which I don't really like, but also the other choices were not interesting to me. The best part of their menu was the dessert table, where we had our fill of coconut ice cream, apple crumble, choco mousse, panna cotta and creme brulee. I would recommend that people try out Ginger first, only because they offer better food choices and ambience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.