We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary....for Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snapper New Zealand

Snapper New Zealand
1 / 22, Sukhumvit Soi 11 | Klongtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 651 1098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #274 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Tauranga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary....for Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After spending a month in Thailand I get a longing for some good old Kiwi style food.

A good steak and fish and chips are always top of my falang food desires when here. Having travelled extensively through Thailand this trip and being disappointed on more occasions than can be written about here we chose Snapper on some good TA recommendations. Having read many TA reviews, most good and a few negative we decided to try Snapper on our last night in BKK.

I'm not writing a positive review just because I'm a Kiwi, I am very picky when it comes to fish and chips and also well cooked steaks.

We ordered the crayfish tail for entree' and as a main, deep fried snapper with rocket salad and chips and pan fried snapper with cos salad.

The crayfish tail was cooked to perfection although the sauce overpowered the subtle flavour very slighty.

Both servings of snapper were good sized fillets, cooked to perfection ( both came pan fried instead of 1 deep fried ). The rocket salad was without guava, celery (which I don't like) and olives. The cos salad arrived as described on the menu. The chips were great, hot, crisp on the outside and soft in the middle.

Despite the mix up with the deep fried snapper order I am glad it arrived pan fried. Overall the meals were excellent, well portioned, well cooked and filling.

The service was prompt and discreet. The atmosphere is great and despite being located on a back alley on the LH side of Soi 11 we found Snapper easily.

A great meal and a pleasant surprise in Thailand. Would I go again, yes...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    66
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attentive owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I don't need to say much about the quality of fish and chips here. I'm more impressed with the fact that they offer more than one type of fish for this particular dish. It depends of your preference on the fish whether you like it more firm or silky. The think I like most about the restaurant is how attentive the owners are. The Thai partner of the restaurant would come to each table to ask his patrons how the food was. There are 2 things I didn't like about the restaurant. There is no parking, but you can park above Villa Supermarket in Sukhumvit Soi 11. Just go purchase something from the supermarket to get the parking ticket validated. The second reason is the mediocre drinks. Just order beer, soft drinks, etc. The chowder is really good here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious South Pacific Seafood in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The title of best fish and chips in Bangkok is well deserved. The different descriptions of your fish choices and dishes are spot on and concise. The staff is very friendly and they mean it when they say generous pours on their mixed drinks.
This is a great place to get a western / seafood meal in Bangkok! And make sure to try the house Thai sweet chili sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“if you want fresh fish, this is the place to find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Many friends recommended Snapper and it did not disappoint. The service was good, and the entrees were large and prepared very well. The choice of sauces for the fish were tasty and the side order of chips could feed a table of 4. My husband loved his salmon and I think I would order than next time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phayao City, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fish, Best steak, Best decoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We live around here and have try many many restuarant in sukhumvit 11 (there like 100 of them) This was one of our favorite, The service is great, the lady manager come to our table to talk about the food all the time. If you love Australia, NZ style fish & chip or steak there no where better to go in Bangkok. The price is quiet high you can find cheaper Fish&Chip maybe in khaosarn or soi cowboys but the service and the decoration here is much much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper New Zealand also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Snapper New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snapper New Zealand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.