We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fine dining food and very good price for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Meat Sweet

Eat Meat Sweet
99/11 Langsuan Soi 7,Lumphini,Pathum Wan | Langsuan Balcony, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Gai & Joel Global Flavors)
+66 87 497 9015
Improve this listing
Ranked #560 of 7,182 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $9 - $65
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
HK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining food and very good price for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went to Joel and Gai in my first Thailand trip in July 2012. I was recommended by the TripAdvisor review and go there for lunch. It's a weekday so not many customers. The 4-course and 3-course set lunch is at a very reasonable price. All food is presented and decorated like arts and taste good. I love this place and would like to go back if I will visit Thailand for second time. You must give it a try if fine dining in your home town is expensive. Remember to take a Thai address if possible if you need to take a cab there. For me, I phone the restaurant and the staff helped me telling the address to the taxi driver.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“มากกว่าในทีวี”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

ดู National ช่อง 5 รายการ "Living 108" หลายครั้งก็อยากมาลองทาน ตัดสินใจพาครอบครัวมาที่ร้านไม่ผิดหวัง อาหารอร่อย ดูสด บริการก็ดี ได้เจอเชฟตัวจริงเสียงจริง ประทับใจ ทางร้านส่งเมล์โปรโมชั่นกุ้งมาให้น่าสนใจจัง อยากให้มาลองชิม และมารับประสบการณ์ที่มากกว่าในทีวี

We watched this restaurant doing a cooking programme on National TV channel 5 “ Living 108 “ a few weeks back on a Sunday morning so we decided to check it out. Now we have to write about it, infact it’s our first ever review! The experience was just like the owners demonstrated on the TV, fresh quality ingredients, very creative presentation and friendly staff to serve. They also are doing some interesting weekly promotions, the week we came to eat at the restaurant it was Kangaroo and now we just received an email that this week is buy one lobster and get one free!
We will be there for this one as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Simple restaurant with very simple food but you can taste and see that the chef has cooked you meal with attention to detail. Our waitresses were not good in English and had problems taking our order.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great place for a romantic evening or group of friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The chefs Gai and Joel use fresh ingredients from all parts of the world to create international style cuisine. Arrival of the latest ingredients is posted in advance so one can reserve a portion before entering the restaurant. The portions are small so it is worth ordering several of one course and sharing. I have a weakness for chocolate, and their dessert selection doesn't disappoint.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Good Food but can be Better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went in a group of 10 and were greeted by chef/owner. He is definitely a friendly person from Australia. There was reality TV as camera was fixed on the kitchen and beamed to the patrons.

The whole evening went smoothly. Service was quite good. Bread and appetizers were acceptable in general. The main courses were OK but not spectacular and we found the portions relatively small. My steak was a bit overcooked and the seafood pot was not so generous (whilst mantaining strong flavor). Desserts saved the evening somewhat with "over the top" presentations and taste to match. The wine selected was nice.

Overall, I would say worth a second visit to confirm whether this place justified its high ranking. We did have better meals on this trip (both are Italian restaurants) at around the same price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Meat Sweet also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Eat Meat Sweet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Meat Sweet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.