We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views of the Bangkok Sports Club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viu

Viu
159 Rajadamri Road | The St. Regis Bangkok, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 207 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #491 of 8,069 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 66 Reviews
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Viu, panoramic city views, distinctive interiors, exceptional international cuisine, and attentive service combine to create an extraordinary restaurant experience. Located on the 12th floor next to the Sky Lobby, Viu embraces captivating views of Royal Bangkok Sports club, and beyond. By day, the inviting restaurant offers a bright, sunny environment that recalls the grace and character of a stately home.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Views of the Bangkok Sports Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice restaurant and staff is very polite, however, their language/comprehension skills could be improved.
Lavish breakfast buffet is certainly a highlight.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Brunch in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I returned to Viu Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. As I hadn't been there for a while, I was really looking forward to it. The last time there, the food was great but the service disappointing. I am happy to say this time the food was even better than I remembered, and the service was greatly improved.

The hotel has increased the proved by a few hundred baht, but now it not only includes cocktails but also a free flow of wine : a selection of whites and reds, as well as a really good prosecco. We certainly got out money's worth!

The food is amazing! Starting on the seafood section, there are fresh mussels, crab, squid and oysters, oysters, and more oysters! There are also a variety of mini seafood cocktails to try. There is also a great Thai buffet as well as several roasts and oven-baked fish. Main courses are presented on a menu and cover a broad spectrum. Foie gras, Singaporean chiili crab, lobster thermidor, lobster sashimi and a lot more. There was even a fun foie bar that included foie macaroons as well as other interpretations of foie to make it look like cookies and candy.

I didn't get around to desserts and cheese, but it is there in abundance.

Without doubt, Viu is the best Sunday brunch in town! Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a great way to start your day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in St. Regis, Bangkok 2 years ago. Since we chose another hotel to stay this time, we decided to go back to Viu for breakfast to refresh our memories. As before, Viu has a great selection of breakfast buffet. The service there was the best in Bangkok or anywhere. We had staff remembered us from 2 years ago. Who can have such good memories? In the end, the waiter asked us if we had a SPG membership card. We said yes, but didn't have it with us. He offered to look up our e-mail address to get the SPG number and gave us a 15% discount. On our next trip to Bangkok, I will not stay anywhere else other than St. Regis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“very nice brunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lots of food choice both on the buffet and as side order. (guinea fowl, pheasant, venison, boston lobster)
Iberico ham was very nice also not properly cut.
Recommend to eat cold on the buffet and make sure you specify the level of cooking for your side order to avoid disappointment.
Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tried the first time, enjoyed it very much. Did not regret choosing St Regis Bangkok Sunday Brunch instead of the much reviewed Sunday Brunch at Four Seasons. The view was nice overlooking the fields, food was good, selection was great, and the staff was excellent. Knowing that it was my Best Buddy birthday, they surprised him with a lovely blueberry cheesecake which he loved it but sadly he was too full to finished it. Although the price was a little on the high side, but with dishes that includes premium selection of food and drinks makes it kinda worth it, especially when you are enjoying it with your loved ones.

Will definitely return again on a special occasion, or maybe if I planned to stay at The St Regis Bangkok in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viu also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Viu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.