We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva & Aviv

Viva & Aviv
23 Trok Rongnamkhaeng, Si Phraya Pier, Yota Road | Sampantawong, Bangkok, Thailand
+66 2 639 6305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #691 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the nearby Sheraton hotel, and ended up here every evening. The drinks were good value, the food pretty good, and it's a great place for people-watching when the dinner cruise ships are boarding ! The music was slightly loud for our tastes, but it was easy to move away from the speakers. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    39
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A nice place on the river for a "cool munch" and some drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I had a great time at this little restaurant. They had excellent quality Italian meats and cheeses and we had a very nice pizza as well. The location is perfect and while some people don't like the music - we thought it was funky and somewhat cool.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Balanced Wine & Food! Grab a bottle and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Invited here by a friend, it is located on the river front- great place to watch the action on the river cruise by.

Food (See photo) was brilliant, and the wine was paired to our food and it was nothing short of perfect.

It isn't cheap but when you have that location, that service and that food it is worth every cent.

Wine and food lovers must put this on their to do list

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Nice find thx airbnb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were so impressed with this bar that will be coming back.. Airbnb hosted a great party here, friendl bar staff and excellent location. Convenient to reach by free River City boat shuttle from central Pier. Couldnt ask for more! Fresh delicious pizzas and other snacks... not much choice on the river unless mostly 5star dining at River Hotels so were happy with the casual Viva Aviv..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great riverside bar, people watching....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We live in Bangkok and always seem to gravitate towards this bar when we are in the riverside area (its part of the River City shopping mall, on the river front). We tried it originally out of curiosity as it is in the Lonely Planet guide. The drinks are on the pricey side (around 130 Bahts for a large beer, plus service charge and tax which bumps it up) however, the staff are pleasant and efficient.
Its just a great place to sit and watch the riverside traffic mooch on by, and on an evening to watch all the tourist punters lined up for their dinner cruises - River City is the place where many of these go from and therefore this bar is great if you like people watching. Also great when the sun is going down. Its all quite chilled out.
The down side is the annoying loud music sound system they have on at times which is quite out of place and seems rather inappropriate. They do turn the volume down however, we do not understand why they need it in the first place. Its an odd one! (But we are in Bangkok!)
We had some food here once, just a pizza. It was nice enough but very small. Its not somewhere that we would personally target as an eatery, but it might be fine for others. We just like to enjoy a few drink and look at the view...
A plus is that there is a free river taxi from Saphan Taksin pier to River City shopping mall.
No doubt we will be back here soon...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva & Aviv also viewed

 

Been to Viva & Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva & Aviv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.