We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean rooms. Convenient location (malls, Pratunam market).” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam to your Saves list
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City breaks
Ranked #93 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good, clean rooms. Convenient location (malls, Pratunam market).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here a couple of months ago (sorry for the delayed post!) on our way back from Krabi, for two nights. This hotel is in the same building/complex as the Platinum Mall (hence the name), with a separate entrance that takes you to a small reception desk and elevator (lift) bank, with the main reception area on the 6th floor! That floor also has the coffee-shop, restaurants, and bar/lounge, with guest rooms on other higher floors. We stayed on the 17th floor with a nice view of the city (and its traffic!). The pool (on the 9th flr, if I recall correctly) is amazing and worth a visit.

The room was decent-sized and clean, although some may find the see-through glass-walled toilet/shower area a bit discomforting (shades/curtains are available to cover that up!). The food, including buffet breakfast or lunch/dinner was so-so. The breakfast was still okay, but one of the dinner buffets we had was nothing much to write home about. You may also want to check out some of the nearby eateries (which also include a KFC and a McDonald’s, for those seeking something familiar).

The key positive for this hotel is its location – bang opposite the Pratunam Market and close to some of the touristy places. The only downside is that the nearest BTS stations are a not very pleasant long walk (given the hot weather + distance) from the hotel. The nearest BTS is Chit Lom station, about 15 minutes walk from Novotel/Pratunam. Take a train to Silom station from there, which is well connected to spots such as the river pier (Saphan Taksin station) from where one can get onto the Chao Phraya River Express ferries to places like the landmark Wat Arun temple (laced with Buddhist and Hindu themes).

Cabs and tuk-tuks are easily available outside the hotel, but they haggle and over-charge. For those wanting info on airport-to-hotel travel: it took us about an hour to reach the hotel from Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK) in daytime on a weekday, and cost us roughly THB 450 (including toll fees). While returning to the airport, we left the hotel at around 8pm (had a night flight) and reached BKK (Suvarnabhumi) in 50 mins for THB 400 (including toll).

If you are in Bangkok as a tourist with shopping or sightseeing plans, and wish to have a 4-starish place to crash during night-time, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor room if you are a light sleeper. And if you think that bright wall video/neon li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear value guest,

Greetings from Novotel Bangkok Platinum!

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave your feedback with us.

We do really appreciate your detailed review, which allows other guests to get a better opinion of our hotel. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the location, the view from the room and the pool.

I am sorry that your experience with our food and beverage outlet didn’t meet your expectations. I have shared your comments for review with our exceutive chef and food and beverage manager.

Again thank you very much for your description of your stay with us. The entire team of Novotel Bangkok Platinum is looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    741
    152
    23
    16
See reviews for
474
446
80
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am mostly impressed with the friendly, helpful, hospitable and professional hotel staff from managers to receptionists to bellboys to waiters. The room is big, clean, well-equipped and comfortable. I like the shower room though there are signs of leaking on the toilet floor. Good location, just next to Platinum Fashion Mall! So convenient to get to other big malls like Siam Square, Central World and Paragon. I will definitely stay at Novotel Bangkok Platinum again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Novotel Bangkok Platinum!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback with us and to give other guests and us a better picture about your recent stay.

It is great to see that you really enjoyed the hospitality of our team members, the room, the shower and the location.

Please be informed that I have sent already our engineer team to the room to solve the problem with the water leaking. Thank you for pointing this out.

I will take the liberty to pass your comments to the entire team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the very new future.

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location for all shoppers
Clean and tidy hotel
Great service
Friendly Staffs
Very Well English speaking staffs
Good facilities Pool, meeting rooms, Gym etc
Nice Bath Room
Great selection of Breakfastin the Restaurant
Good size room with very comfortable Bed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

May I begin thanking you for taking the time to share your comments with us and to give us the chance to improve ourselves.

We really appreciate that you emphasize the great location of the hotel, the excellent service delivered from our team members, the facilities such as the pool and gym, the great breakfast and the comfortable bed.

We will ensure that your comments reach all of our team members.
Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back here.

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thip is a very helpful and knowledgeable staff who helped us with our bookings of restaurants and spas that require some travelling from the hotel.
Great location at platinum ie you can shop and return to your hotel room to deposit your stuff. Rooms are well clean and maintained. The only downside is that the walls are not very well sound-proof and I had a rude incident of neighbouring guests banging on the wall in an attempt to get me to lower the volume of my tv set.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Novotel Bangkok Platinum as the hotel of choice for your recent stay.

We also thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed the performance of our team members, the location of the hotel and the rooms.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the noise from the guests in the other rooms.

We do hope to see you return soon as we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bangkok Platinum.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Sascha Kunze
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

stayed for 3 nights and love the room for the cleanliness and comfort due to well kept facilities.
we were given a high floor room hence we could enjoy a nice view from our room.
liked the design of the bathing area due to the full length glass and you can watch the tv while bathing.
service wise, not too consistent as one of the staff who was always smiley throughout our stay, was suddenly not too smiley on the last day when we nicely declined his offer to call for cab for us.
also, room is a little dim without enough lights but the comfort level of the room outweighs the cons.
as for location, love it that its opposite pratunum market and only a short ten mins walk from centralworld mall.
overall, it was nice staying here and will return again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest !

Greetings from Novotel Bangkok Platinum and thank you for your valuable time to share your experience to other guests and with us.

It pleased us very much to know that your experience with us was so exceptional and we were able to meet your needs, especially because of the cleanliness, comfort and view from the room.

I will personally ensure that your feedback will be shared with our entire team. I am sorry that one of our team members didn’t smile to you. I have re-emphasized to the team that while this is a simple gesture, smiling is our first step to making our guests feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our hotel.

Warm regards

Sascha Kunze
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

stayed at 11th floor... but i think my room is too far corner and near the generator... can hear the "engine" vibration sound at intervals... quite irritating .. actually like to change my room.. but since most of the times we doze off very fast as we are tired from all the shopping n eating... in end... we make do with it... nice hotel, nice staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Bangkok Platinum and for taking time to share your experience with other guests.

Iam pleased to note that you enjoyed shopping in our location and that you were more than happy with our team members.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and I will certainly be posting your feedback to share with all of our team members. Pleae accept my apologies in regards to the machine vibration. I am currently investigating this with my manager of engineering. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome back you to Novotel Bangkok Platinum in the future.

Sascha Kunze
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights last may 19. (check out foodinthebag.blogspot.com for whole detailed experience of this hotel with pictures.)

The location is excellent as it is in the shopping district. Actually it is on top of one of the malls and has an escalator connecting to it.

In terms of luxury and elegance I can give it a 3/5 because the lobby is actually located on the 6th floor. Only a small concierge area and a few seats are in the first floor. The staff here was helpful. You leave your luggage here to let them bring to your room.

Got here at past 2pm hoping that our room was available. We were informed that the room wasn't available yet and was just asked to go shopping or eat lunch somewhere (seriously). Got back almost 4pm, Good thing the room was already available. Front desk's English needs a little more refining.

Room was all right. We were 3 adults (mom, younger brother, and I) that shared 1 room. It was a bit cramped since we all had 3 single beds.

The view from the room was also a failure. They placed a sort of dotted sticker on the window which hinders one to marvel at the cityscape of the shopping district. I later learned that they had placed a poster/ advertisement on the the rooms' at that side of the hotel. (avoid the rooms which had a pool view)

MINI BAR HAS CONDOMS!!! (is this the norm in BKK?). My mother quickly stored it away from my younger brother.

No bathtubs but had an open view from the shower area to tv with motorized curtains and speaker in washroom. Toilet has a bidet. Hot and cold water.

They offer free wifi (clocked at 2mbps). and free use of 2 macs in the lobby.

Rooms got cleaned everyday. Although we had to put a sign on the bed for them to change the linens daily and another sign on the door knob outside for them to know that they could clean the room.

Security was an issue for me. For a hotel like this I was hoping that they have elevators that uses guest key cards as a way for them to operate. I mean, even if I wasn't a guest I could easily go to their pool area, gym, and even the guest floors. Although there was security cams everywhere, I made sure the door stopper locks in our room always on as someone might just barge in.

Gym was up to date opens at 6am to 10pm. Pool opens at 8-8. Pool was small but had a stunning view because it was the infinity kind. Locker area was nice. Steam room and a relaxation room were present. Located at 9th floor.

Breakfast was buffet. egg station, noodle station, bacon was not cripsy, a few hot choices, different pastries and bread, cereals, juices,yogurt, milk, salad bar, were present. The cheese platter was a bit disappointing. Unlimited coffee and tea also. Opens at 6am and closes at 10am. Only a 1-2 dishes were changed daily. Service was excellent

Dinner at the hotel's restaurant THE SQUARE was affordable. they had this 25% discount promo ongoing. They only offer dinner buffet wed-Sun if I am not mistaken. Lunch buffet is buy 1 take 1.

Room service or in room dining was a little disappointing. Unlike other hotels, they didn't have a table brought or wheeled in but rather just a tray and placed the food on the study table. We had to move our electronic gadgets and other bags. Furthermore, there were no glasses/water provided. Just the food ordered and the utensils. The price was okay wasn't that expensive compared to other hotels I have been to.

Checkout was done within 20 minutes. I mean we checked out early at 10am to get our flight.
So i believe it wasn't peak time. They had to check the room personally if they needed to bill you other stuff.

If you were going somewhere you could leave your luggage with them if your flight is still at nighttime.

Will I go back? Maybe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your generous comments about your recent visit at Novotel Bangkok Platinum.

I was very happy to read that you liked the location and our facilities such as the pool. Thank you for your very detailed review as it gives us and other guests a better picture of the hotel.

I will together with my front office manager investigate why the room was not ready for you on time. Our executive chef and our food and beverage manager will work on improvements of the breakfast and will work on your ideas of enhance the room service presentation and service. Please accept my apologies for this and thank you for pointing this out.

Currently most international hotel groups in Thailand provide condoms as part of the minibar service.

Feedback like yours is making a difference to motivate our team and to keep up with the unparalleled service we strive to provide.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Novotel Bangkok Platinum.

Warmest regards,

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Address: 220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort and technology, Novotel Bangkok Platinum is the perfect choice for your next holiday or business trip. Located in Bangkok vibrant and fashion district, the hotel is on top of Platinum mall, a short walk from Siam Square & Siam Paragon, near BTS stations and a quick drive from the airport railway. Featuring 283 well designed rooms, Novotel Bangkok Platinum offers two bars and one international restaurant " The Square", three meeting rooms & one ballroom, free Wifi internet & I Mac corner, outdoor infinity swimming pool, wellness & fitness center as well as access to an indoor secured car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.