We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent choice for shopping trip"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam to your Saves list
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City breaks
Ranked #94 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"Excellent choice for shopping trip"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, booked superior room with 2 single bed plus extra bed for 3rd adult. After check-in, welcome drink, credit card deposit for security, staff led us to our room as house-keeping stand-by with extra bed, towel, robes.. Extra bed set up is efficient. Staff assist us with in-room wifi connection & ensure all mobile phones wifi is working b4 she leave. Nice touch.

Modern, clean & neat room. Located just on top of the Platinum Mall Zone 3. Within walking distance to Central World, Big C, Gaysorn, Erawan Shrine.

Quite a number of Novotel hotel in BKK therefore we usually pop onto taxi, tell driver to Platinum Mall instead of Novotel Platinum Hotel. Drop off at Mcdonald & walk a few step to hotel. It work well!

Luggage can be stored with concierge team after check-out time, the staff arrange taxi for us to airport & advise THB400 however taxi driver ask for THB550 after we told him Suvarnabhumi Airport. According the taxi driver, THB400 is to Don Muang Airport. (???) Anyway on day 1 we took meter taxi to hotel & cost us THB590 so THB550 is still reasonable.

The Cons
- Room wifi unstable. Connection was frequently lost after connected for the first time.

- Toilet is still quite transparent with shower screen down, quite awkward for friend or family with tennage. For complete privacy, you have to shower with all the bathroom lights off.

- Upon check-in, ask credit card for security deposit when room are fully paid thru credit date b4 arrival. After check-out, was told they can't void deposit on the spot can only do it BY BATCH end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments and feedback.
We are delighted that we were able to impress you with our services, which were provided by several of our departments, such as the concierge, housekeeping and front office. I have already shared your comments to my team. They truly appreciate it.
Thank you for your contribution, which will motivate our team to further improve our hotel.

Our manager of IT was already briefed about the unstable connection, who then followed up on this to ensure this will not happen again. In regards to the deposit, we ask our guests for a security deposit to cover additional charges while staying with us, which allows the guest for example to use our food and beverage outlets by simply signing on the bill or to use the minibar in the room.

I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

Looking forward to welcome you again to Novotel Platinum Hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Best wishes,

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    740
    152
    23
    16
See reviews for
474
446
80
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is strategic and perfect for shopaholic (platinum mall, pratunam market) walking distance to four face buddha...erawan...
Housekeeping service is very efficient. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Would come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Bangkok Platinum for your recent stay in Bangkok and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your feedback is an essential part of our efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff, especially our housekeeping team. Your comments have been shared with all department heads and related team member.

Rest assured that our team members endeavor to make a concerted effort to achieve ultimate guest satisfaction and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the very near future again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I always love this hotel and atmosphere. Novotel Platinum is my #1 choice in Bangkok
The service as usual always remarkable. The concierge even still remember me from my previous stays.
I booked and stayed this hotel for 5-days in conjunction with the meeting done at the nearby Bangkok Convention Centre, The hotel was fully booked when I booked online from the website so the king size bed wasn't available. I sent an email to Ms Piyada, the FO manager. She replied back to me immediately and promised me to accomodate for the King Size if any cancellation as they were fully booked as well for the meetings. So I wasn't expecting too much when I arrived.
When I checked in, the King Size Bed was available so it was a good suprise.
As expected, the room size was good, bed was super comfy, bath room was in good size but I smelled some odd smell from the bath room, like some kind of medicinal balm, but it didn't trouble me so much.
Internet speed was reasonable, only on my first day was a bit slow.

For shopping trip, you can't go wrong with the location. BTS is around 10 mins walking, a bit hard during day time as the pedestrian way is very crowded. Taxi is not a recommended option to go on the day-time because of super heavy traffic in the Pratunam area.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Novotel Bangkok Platinum as the hotel of choice for your latest stay with us. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel with us and other guests.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great service (especially from the concierge), the handling of your reservation and the comfort of the room.

Like you most of our guests consider our location an advantage since we are just a footstep away from major shopping centers.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back for another relaxing stay with us.

with kind regards,

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Duration: 16th - 19th

Pros:

1. the best part of this hotel is location! Bang in the heart of Bangkok's shopping and entertainment area. I chose this hotel for this particular reason, and I was rewarded.

2. Food was good. Breakfast awesome. For vegetarians, there was ample of things to have. Happy hours at the hotel worth the while.

Cons:

1. All rooms are non-smoking. You have to go outside the hotel altogether to smoke.

2. The rooms are luxurious, but something is missing. It almost feels like an aircraft - the oomph is missing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience following your visit to our hotel. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great to see you liked the location of the hotel, the food (especially the breakfast) and the Happy Hours at the outlets.

I am sorry to see that we could not offer you a smoking room as all of our rooms are non smoking rooms.

I truly appreciate the detailed information you shared here on tripadvisor and your recommendation of our hotel. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back, hopefully very soon.


Warmest Regards

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our last stop in Thailand and were not disappointed
STAFF WAS VERY POLITE
The hotel is very clean, comfortable beds,spacious rooms good A/C
The hotel is very close to shopping, no problems with taxies ect
Would certainly recommend it to my friends
P.s excellent breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sascha K, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Firstly allow me to thank you for your very positive review and that you have taken the time to rate us on tripadvisor.com.

It is our greatest pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your compliments on the hotel, especially on the rooms and the excellent breakfast you had. It is always gratifying for the whole team to receive these positive comments.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. It serves as great motivation to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in the near future.
Best Regards,

Sascha Kunze
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Address: 220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort and technology, Novotel Bangkok Platinum is the perfect choice for your next holiday or business trip. Located in Bangkok vibrant and fashion district, the hotel is on top of Platinum mall, a short walk from Siam Square & Siam Paragon, near BTS stations and a quick drive from the airport railway. Featuring 283 well designed rooms, Novotel Bangkok Platinum offers two bars and one international restaurant " The Square", three meeting rooms & one ballroom, free Wifi internet & I Mac corner, outdoor infinity swimming pool, wellness & fitness center as well as access to an indoor secured car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.