We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam to your Saves list
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City breaks
Ranked #94 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location but poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I manage to get a free upgrade to Executive room which is much bigger and comfortable than the standard rooms. The hotel is located just below Platinum mall. Beside us is Central world and opposite us is Big C. The hotel is within walking distance to Pratunam market and Siam area and opp us is the boat terminal to chinatown.
I love the location but dislike the customer service.

The food for breakfast is just right but variety can improve. I think baiyokesky is probably better though I had not gone before.

The bell boy are very aggressive in snatching our luggages and keep insisting that they will bring to our room when we wanted to pick up our own luggages.

The hotel front desk staff are not very patient to help and listen and shows their guest a black face.
They often have a standard phrase when checking on hotel rooms i.e. "our rooms are fully booked".

My door was not closed after the housekeeping staff clean my room on one of the days. When i complain, the front desk just keep nodding her head.

Not too sure if they understand English but all this incidents are enough to make me re-consider for further trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    734
    152
    23
    16
See reviews for
472
444
79
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

1. The location of this hotel right above the shoppers paradise, Platinum Mall, makes it a top choice for us to stay. You can jus unload your shopping bags and head off for another round of shopping at all the nearby department stores, Pratunam market etc.

2. The room was spacious and clean with a huge toilet, well- designed, with comfortable beds and interiors. I find the bed a little too soft to my liking as well as the pillows. TV channels were acceptable to me with many channels available. View from the room was great!

3. Breakfast was a feast with so many varieties. It will be better if they can change their menu occasionally as it gets quite bored after eating the same thing for consecutive days.

4. Free wifi throughtout the hotel was a bonus.

5. The reception area was very posh with comfortable seats while waiting or to rest after some shopping.

6. Price was reasonable for a decent night's stay and the experience was made wonderful with friendly reception and travel concierge, ready to help us make bookings, provide maps, and answer all our queries.

Tip:
Rooms located at corner are usually one big bed with sealed toilets. All orher rooms have toilets separated from the room with a transparent window pane, that can be made slightly opaque with blinds in the room( for privacy)

Overall, it was a great stay and will recommend to anyone who visit Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you're in Bangkok and want to shop, shop and shop, Novotel Platinum is perfect. It's attached to Bangkok's infamous wholesale shopping mall and walking distance to Central World and Siam Paragon. Location wise it's amazing, given Bangkok's notorious traffic, walking is some times the only way to travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had three rooms here for a night for our family of six. We got a great rate via the Accor website (less than $100 AUD per night, per room, including breakfast).

Our whole family agrees that this was our favourite place to stay in Thailand. The hotel has a luxurious feel to it. The room, the amenities, the lobby, everything is fab.

The staff are friendly and very efficient. We were here overnight only and had an early check out of 6am and I had asked for breakfast baskets and the lovely lady at reception said she would take care of it. True to her word everything was ready for us to go.

Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at Novotel Platinum over the weekend, and the experience was great! Connected to the big wholesale shopping mall (Platinum Mall), and within walking distance to many other malls, this place is a great convenient location for shopaholics! The hotel is pretty new, and our room was spacious and clean. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located on top of the Platinum Fashion Mall (lobby on the 6th floor). Novotel is situated in walking proximity to all of the main shopping areas of Pratunam, Isetan, Big-C, Gaysorn, Central World, Paragon, short commute to MBK.. 10 mins walk to both the BTS and the Airport link. The taxi entrance to the hotel is very unobtrusive and can easily be missed. Coffee shops, ATMs, Money exchanges, starbucks, swensons, mcdonalds at street level.

Efficient service (front desk, concierge, housekeeping, F&B), new, clean and very comfortable rooms with the room safe, ironing horse, LED TV, minibar, etc. Breakfast offers a good selection. The Bar beside the lobby is an excellent place to hang out in the evenings. Didn't eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner so can't comment on their other food offerings, same for the pool and gym facilities.

The belhop on the ground floor provided us with umbrellas when it rained and got us taxis when we needed them.
The only negatives would be related to being such a new hotel; so the elevators silos still had construction debris, fresh grout in the bathrooms, the smell of curing concrete and the occasional mosquitoes in the lobby. Had a room at the end of the corridor, accounting for the unusual shape of the room. WI-FI was free but weak inside the room had to stay within 10 feet of the room entrance to get a decent signal.

Also found it strange that despite my offer to pay cash in advance for the 10 day stay, the front desk wouldn't release the equivalent charge they had placed on my credit card. So I spent the cash and paid with the card.

There are cheaper places in the area but the location, comfort and value are in its favor.
I Would recommend this hotel others and intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam

Address: 220 Petchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending comfort and technology, Novotel Bangkok Platinum is the perfect choice for your next holiday or business trip. Located in Bangkok vibrant and fashion district, the hotel is on top of Platinum mall, a short walk from Siam Square & Siam Paragon, near BTS stations and a quick drive from the airport railway. Featuring 283 well designed rooms, Novotel Bangkok Platinum offers two bars and one international restaurant " The Square", three meeting rooms & one ballroom, free Wifi internet & I Mac corner, outdoor infinity swimming pool, wellness & fitness center as well as access to an indoor secured car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.