We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn to your Saves list
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good choice.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in EASTIN GRAND HOTEL SATHORN for 3 nights before heading for Phnom Penh and enjoyed it immensely. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just out of this world. Beginning at 0600h in the morning you really have one hours peace for reading the newspaper and have a few cups of coffee before he big run starts. The location is just ideal for visiting the city and by foot you'd be down by the river. The pool is just a show......Coming back from Cambodia we booked for another night before we go home for good. We will be - most definetely - back again. Tks for everything. Never mind the comments of some wannnabees.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,007
    602
    84
    23
    10
See reviews for
374
1,468
158
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is great with direct access to bts skytrain. The room was okay but not to big, the lobby and pool area are very stylish. The breakfast area was more like a canteen than a relaxed place to enjoy breakfast. For € 90.- per night I would recommend to stay at Eastin Grand if there wasn't a lack of service. We had to wait for the room (at 9 pm) for more than 45 minutes. After complaining they lied to us that we would get an upgrade but the room number was still the same. At the pool bar we also had to wait almost half an hour to be served although the staff didn't have to do anything (excpt standing around and joking). I've been to Lebua and Le Meridien before and will stay at Le Meridien again during my next stopover in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGS_General_Manager, General Manager at Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear wolfewolf,


Greetings from Eastin Grand Sathorn Bangkok

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments are invaluable in ensuring that we provide the best standards and service for our valued guests and rectify any problems that may arise.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations.

Due to the problems you encountered with your delayed check-in I would deeply appreciate it if you would contact me with the details of your stay in order for me to investigate the matter. I would also like to find out the exact details of your experience at the pool bar as we have never had a complaint of this nature regarding the lack of attention and tardiness of the staff, especially as you claim that you had to wait nearly half an hour for service. In fact we receive many comments praising the attitude and prompt service of our staff at the pool area.

Regarding the room upgrade promised to you as compensation for your delayed check-in. I can categorically assure you that my staff do not “lie” to guests in any situation. If there was an oversight on our part then again I offer my full and frank apologies. If you could also provide me with the details regarding this I will investigate further. Unfortunately we have no record of having received any complaint about a guest not receiving their promised upgrade while staying with us. If we had done so then the situation could have been dealt with immediately to your satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you soon in order for me to take any necessary action to rectify matters regarding your comments.

I would like to end by saying what a delight it was to serve you as our honoured guest and that we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the very near future.


Yours sincerely,


John Westoby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Is this a truly 5* hotel? I still have my doubts.

The positive: - new and clean hotel;
- good breakfast (enjoyed it in the peace of the executive level). Same goes for the evening canapé's and cocktails. Great views, pleasant atmosphere, plenty delicious bites to eat;
- very friendly staff;
- amazing view (at least from the executive floor)
- great bed
- beautiful pool (constantly cleaned), nice relax chairs and ''cocoons'' by the pool
- very conveniently located hotel and perfect connection with the sky train (their own bridge)
All this having been said, too bad there is also:

The Negative: - the elevator is incredibly slow and very hot. Could be a problem for people who suffer from claustrophobia. Not acceptable for a new 5* hotel;
- the check-in was very chaotic. Executive room meant a preferential check-in and that was: leave the luggage downstairs, take that elevator to the executive floor, wait there for 1 hr, finally in the room, however no luggage. Staff kept on asking us how the suitcases looked like.....We almost thought they lost them!!! Very unpleasant
- the executive room came with some benefits - some of them we had to claim, presenting the reservation mentioning them - unpleasant. One wouldn't expect that in a 5*!
- communication was very difficult as the English level of the staff is very limited. Even for trained ears, sometimes it was almost impossible to understand what you were being asked or told without asking them to repeat 3 times.
- the fruit basket in the executive room......that must have been a joke! See pic attached at the review!
- the water in the pool was extremely cold.

We stayed 1 night in November, in an executive room. Is it worth paying extra for such a room? Only if you want to stay on a higher floor, enjoy the view and you want to benefit from the evening canapé's and cocktails. However, the room itself was quite small and except for the view, it had nothing special to be worthy of an executive title.

The lack of attention to details, bad organization and the overall chaos make this hotel a 4*. That's a pity because they have everything they need to become a fully beautiful 5*. Just not there yet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGS_General_Manager, General Manager at Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Citizen_Stu


Greetings from Eastin Grand Sathorn Bangkok.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments are invaluable in ensuring that we provide the best standards and service for our valued guests and rectify any problems that may arise.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed so many of the facilities our hotel has to offer and will pass on your praise to my staff personally.

I must sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations.
I have spoken to my Director of Rooms regarding the problems you encountered with your luggage and Executive Level benefits in order that she introduces measures to ensure such things do not happen again.

I regret that you found communication with our staff difficult as we welcome a vast number of international guests from many different countries and we rarely experience any problems regarding this. I am sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way whatsoever.

I must politely point out that what you refer to as a “fruit basket” is in fact our standard complimentary welcome fruit which is replenished daily. We have never mentioned supplying a fruit basket on our website etc.

Regarding the temperature of the swimming pool. Due to this being the cold season in Thailand naturally the water would be cold. Unlike Europe heated swimming pools are not the norm and it is extremely unlikely that any luxury hotel you stayed in would have a heated pool as for most of the year the water temperature is very pleasant through the natural heating of the sun. I hope that this clarifies the situation.

May I end by saying that it was an honour to serve you as our guest and that we hope to have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Bangkok.


Yours sincerely,


John Westoby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for three nights from Christmas Day and would highly recommend it if you are looking for comfort at a good price for a 4 star hotel. We booked the standard room. It was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and all service very professional. The gym is ok for a hotel gym. The pool looks impressive but the pool area is quite small - I don't know how they would cope if a lot of guests decided to go there at the same time! That said it turns into a lovely night time bar with great views. As reported by others the lifts seem slow sometimes and it seems like they may not have built in enough to cope with peak times. However the screen display tells you about various promos that you may not otherwise know about. A couple of other good things: there is a walkway linking the hotel to the Skytrain and it is, quite literally, next to the Blue Elephant Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Excellent new hotel....all facilities are in good working order with friendly & efficient staff. Fantastic Infinity pool on 14th floor. Great location with direct pedestrian overhead bridge access to Surasak BTS station from which it's 5 stops to Siam BTS & the big malls..Paragon, Central World etc. In other direction from Surasak, next BTS station is Saphhan Taksin on the Chao Phraya...take the river ferries from here up river to the Royal Palace, ChinaTown etc.
Hotel was 45mins by taxi from Don Mueng (DMK) - THB 350. Will stay here again on next trip to Bangkok!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel for our friend's wedding at this hotel.
Room - clean, tidy, modern and what you expect from this grade of hotel.
Location - one of only a few hotels located with direct access to the sky train (BTS) - the easiest way to get around Bangkok. However, if you prefer to be right in the middle of busy bars, Sukhumvit or Silom are better locations, alternatively Silom road can be reached in 10 minutes walk.
Pool and gym - very nice facilities and adequate for a city centre hotel.
Breakfast - excellent, 5 out of 5 as serves a range of European and Asian food.
The wedding and the grand ballroom - The service and the quality of food was excellent and reflected the quality of the hotel.
Value for money - Excellent value, you get what you pay for.

One downside we encountered was that at peak breakfast/morning time. The lifts were very busy and we had to wait for a while. However, we stayed at the peak time over Christmas and the hotel was nearly full.

One tip - this hotel will charge you 1,000 baht (£20) refundable deposit to cover incidentals. It is better to pay in cash but you must remember to ask for it when you check out. You can also pay by credit card but it can take up to 2 weeks to get your money back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Good location, with direct access to skytrain, not too much around hotel, but you can find more shopping and eating on Silom road, or just use skytrain and go to Siam area or Sukumhvit road. Getting here from airport BKK by taxi, aprox. 1, 5 hour in morning traffic jam, all i needed after 15 hrs of traveling was to check-in. They informed me, that any room is available at moment and sent me to walk around the city and shopping what i refused, as i sent them my flight info details, plus i was almost 2 hrs late. So finally we got a room.
I booked superior sky room which was great. Spacious bedroom and bathroom, amazing view over Bangkok.
Breakfast (main buffet restaurant) are quite busy, with good choice of asian and west options. Nice selection, also for vegetarians. Didn't try lunch or dinner so can't rate it. Snacks and drinks quite expensive at pool bar.
Location and infinity pool is the main reason why i selected this hotel. It's stunning, good swimming, but only few sun beds, so it could be problem in main sunny season. We spent every sundown here, although it was raining every day.
Staff was always smiling and attentive.
Overall it is very good hotel, everything is brand new, service is prompt, but don't expect Hyatt, Conrad or similar true 5 stars hotels. If you like to spend day outside hotel and come back to quality room, have a tasty breakfast and enjoy amazing infinity pool go for it.
For those who travel from hotel to DMK airport, it takes about 1 hour, but we were lucky, we spent only 35 min. in morning traffic jam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, just minutes from the world famous Chao Praya River and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.