We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai & Western Food in Sukhumvit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
6 Sukhumvit Soi 8 | Adelphi Suites Bangkok, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
02 653 1110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 7,944 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Thai, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Thai & Western Food in Sukhumvit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The ambience is nice and the food is overall very good. The service is above average for Thailand, but you pay for it. There is a wide variety of things- the cheapest being common Thai food at an inflated price, which gets you good quality meat in your curry or pad thai. Salads, burgers, etc. as well as a well-stocked bar round out the "fusion" aspect- although there are few true "fused" dishes to choose from.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our restaurant, we really appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience.

We do hope we will be able to make a best service for you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Monsoon.

Kind regards,

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    80
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming staff and really nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Charming staff and really nice food, this was my little oasis of pleasure amongst the hurly burly that is Bangkok.

Excellent menu choice and a really nice terrace so you can dine outdoors

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our restaurant, We really appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience.

We do hope we will be able to make a best service for you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Monsoon.

Kind regards,

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place but some issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was in here a few days ago in the evening, It is in a great location on Soi 8 and looks nice - I think it's fair to say the staff were good, the wine I had was good value (actually the 1/2 carafe was huge) I ordered Burritos and they were fine nothing special but absolutely fine.
The one problem I have is that I was sitting inside where the kitchen is on show - and everyone and his dog were handling the salad that was being placed onto plates.
Seriously I watching some plates of salad sides being arranged by 3 seperate people none of whom wore gloves - I include waitresses and kitchen staff but not the chefs - I was very surprised to see that but gladly had not salad with my meal.
There seemed to be one dodgy and unhappy looking foreign guy there with a pony tail overseeing things - but this "Guru" didn't even notice lol.

To be fair the food and wine were good and I will go back but wont go near the salad items!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

The voice of our customers is critical for us in maintaining our service and the experience you shared certainly matches what we aim for. Thank you for choosing Monsoon restaurant and we look forward to the next occasion where we will be able to provide a memorable experience for you.

Kind Regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We live near Monsoon and have eaten here on numerous occasions. The food is consistent and always delicious. I've ordered everything from pasta, pizza, burger, Mexican, Thai - all has the same quality. The Lemongrass martini is the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you for the time that you have taken to write a review for Monsoon restaurant.

The voice of our customers is an essential part in helping us to maintain our services quality. It would be our great pleasure if our services become one of your memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Monsoon.

Kind Regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent food menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food menu is elaborate with great pasta & thai food options that excite your taste buds.Good service & affordable

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

The voice of our customers is critical for us in maintaining our service and the experience you shared certainly matches what we aim for. Thank you for choosing Monsoon restaurant and we look forward to the next occasion where we will be able to provide a memorable experience for you.

Kind Regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.