We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Garden Serviced Residence

Save Saved
You added Viva Garden Serviced Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Garden Serviced Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1988 Sukhumvit 60/1, Sukhumvit Road | Bangchak , Phrakanong, Bangkok 10260, Thailand (Formerly Viva Garden Serviced Residence by Bliston)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Upgrade to our Suite
Ranked #35 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed from 02/01/2013 - 05/02/2013 and wished I could stay forever :)

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Location - It is right in front of Bangchak BTS, which is 10 BTS stops from Siam. Going to Siam takes about 20 to 30mins.

Rooms - I booked a Studio and they provided a baby cot (free of charge) for my baby girl of 8 mths. The bed was soft n comfy, the toilet was HUGE (it's really big), and they had many TV channels and a DVD player.

Food - Variety was sufficient and tasty, about 10 choices: bacon, ham, eggs, fried rice, noodles,soup, veges, hash browns, fruits, cereals, bread, fruite juice, hot tea/ coffee.

Service - The staff at the front office are very friendly and helpful. The staff at the restaurant will ask if you would like any more food before keeping the food after the breakfast hours ended. Their service is one of the best which I encountered.

What more can you ask for, staying at a place like this. *thumbs up*

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for selecting Viva Garden by Bliston as the choice of accommodation for your family while visiting Bangkok city. We much appreciate your kind feedbacks regarding your recent stayed with us on TripAdvisor website.

We are so delighted to hear that you considered us as one of the best hotels you have stayed in. We are glad to know that you satisfied with the accommodation, location, f&b, and the service from our staff.

Should you visit Bangkok again in the future, please do not hesitate to return stay at Viva Garden.
We look forward to welcoming both of you and your lovely baby girl back to our residence again soon!

Have a Blissful Day
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    158
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
147
218
52
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ViVa Garden located on great location with room that furnished full of equippment. Hotel staff could not be better, they helped us for laundry, places to see in BangKok, wifi free for the whole building as well. We stayed here for three days, everything was great and would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Viva Garden by Bliston would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind feedback regarding your recent stayed with us on TripAdvisor website. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and satisfied with our accommodation and service.

Thank a lot for recommending us to other travelers. Should you visit Bangkok in the future, please consider returning stay at Viva Garden again.

Have a Blissful Day!
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

straight and to the point:

stayed in the one bedroom apartment and it was satisfactory (bed is a bit hard but thats ok)

pros-
two bathrooms
big balcony
one tv in each room
modern washer and fridge
living room and bedroom are very big
very close to the sky train
tiny night market a short walk away - geared more towards locals you won't find any souvenirs here
lots of street food, which i enjoy
pool is very big

cons-
internet kept going in and out
they limit you one computer per log on, but since we are two they gave us two logons
no real coffee maker, but they do have an automatic tea kettle
key card kept getting erased, had to go to the front desk to change it

i'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a decent place to stay. very clean, modern, and friendly staff. the only reason i give this 4 instead of 5 stars is because of its location. its probably 20 - 30 minute travel by sky train (60 baht per person 1way) to the central area of bangkok where most of the bars are, (even longer taxi + atleast 200 baht 1way) but if you don't mind that.

plenty of malls to visit via sky train as well (10-15 minutes )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Viva Garden by Bliston while visiting Bangkok. We appreciate you take the time to share feedbacks and tips regarding your recent stayed with us on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to know that you satisfied with our accommodation, facilities, and location. Thank you for recommending us to other fellow travelers.

Hopefully, we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our residence again soon.

Have a Blissful Day!
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Viva Garden is located next to Bang Chak BTA station, so it makes it easy to get anywhere in Bangkok. If you want to be closer to the main attractions you should look for another hotel. The rooms are spacious and well maintain. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is buffet is good. The quality of the room service could be better.

I usually like to book hotels directly from the hotel website, but Viva Garden offers higher rates if you book directly through them. I recommend you use booking.com or asia web direct to book your room. I called to ask if they could match the rates that I found online and they said they were unavailable if I booked through the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for choosing Viva Garden by Bliston as your choice of accommodation while visiting Bangkok.

We appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor website regarding your recent stayed at our residence. We would like to explain about the booking channels / room rates that the rates showing on our website are net rates and are parity with the rates on online travel agent websites.

Should you visit Bangkok in the future, please consider to return stay at Viva Garden and kindly contact us directly.

Have a Blissful Day!
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel looking at all the positive reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel and rooms are pretty decent but the location is very poor. There is a BTS station very close to the hotel though but otherwise its far away from the centre of Bangkok (Siam). Its very difficult to get taxis to go to the hotel when returning from the city at night.

I would advise people to stay here only if they can manage the location. The BTS closes at midnight and its hard to commute at nights especially if you want to go partying and stuff.

Otherwise everything else was good. Rooms were clean and equipped. Staff was always willing to help and assist.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Viva Garden would like to thank you for choosing our residence as your choice of accommodation while visiting Bangkok city.

We appreciate your kind comments about our property and service standard. We also noticed that you weren’t happy with the location of our residence. Viva Garden’s location is clearly mentioned on website as well as on other reviews that it isn’t in the tourist district where pubs, bars, and night life places are located. We can say that location issue is depending on each preference, different kind of travelers prefer different location. We are locating on a Thai residential area of Sukhumvit road, just a stone throw from BTS Skytrain Bang Chak station and expressway. There are several of restaurants, convenient stores, market etc in walking distant.
All in all, thank you for your stayed and the reviews. Should you visit Bangkok again, please consider return staying at Viva Garden.

Have a Blissful Day!
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

In the hustle-bustle of the Bangkok city, VIVA GARDEN is a lovely,clean and ideally located hotel.It was very convenient to access the BTS ( sky-train) as it was just outside viva garden ( Bang Chak station). We stayed there for 3 weeks.The staff there was very friendly,especially Kathy,Ekky and the 2 bell-boys : Naphat & Patrick. They made us feel at home.The swimming pool was very beautiful and clean with a hotwater-jacuzzi............

Would definitely stay here whenever we would visit Bangkok again. We had a LOVELY stay here.
THANKS TO THE STAFF OF VIVA GARDEN !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent an unpleasant two nights in Viva Garden.

After our first day touring Bangkok, we returned to our room to find an overpowering stench of durian fruit. If you've never smelled durian fruit, it smells like rotting meat -- not something you can sleep through. We did not purchase durian, we had not eaten any, and we certainly did not bring any into the room. Yet when we called down to the front desk to complain about the smell, the staff was having difficulty understanding or believing that we were not to blame.

After some back and forth, they asked me what I wanted them to do about it; and when I told them we needed to change rooms, they claimed not to have any but said they would send someone up to "spray the room" -- which would only make the situation worse. Someone came to the door, sniffed around a bit, then confirmed to the front desk that indeed there was a very powerful smell of durian in the room. My wife and I went down to the front desk, and after some arguing, they offered us another room on the first floor. The room was on the smoking floor, which we had already told them was unacceptable, so we waited another half an hour while the front desk person spoke with a manager on the phone at some length.

During this time, someone from the staff asked for our key and repeatedly went back up to our old room, presumably to check for signs that we had been eating durian. Finally, after nearly an hour of waiting late at night, they agreed to give us a room in one of their two-bedroom suites.

Our issue with Viva's actions here, apart from the fact that they did not believe we had nothing to do with the smell in our room (which they otherwise made no other attempt to investigate, explain, or apologize for), was the fact that they clearly did not want to move us if it meant giving us a larger room. The desk staff repeatedly claimed not to have any rooms available in the hotel at all, then after speaking with the manager -- voilà ! -- they had something larger available. Did they really think we were pulling some kind of scam? The way we were treated made us feel that way.

The mediocre facilities, shabby room furnishings (including a cheap, uncomfortable mattress), and noisy air conditioner were hardly worth the trouble we went through here. I would not recommend this hotel, and am frankly surprised at the high reviews i've seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM_BANGKOK, General Manager at Viva Garden Serviced Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stayed at Viva Garden by Bliston. From your review, the management really concerned about the mentioned issue and we had investigated this situation seriously.

We would like to highly apologize for the unpleasant experience while you stayed at our residence regarding the unexpected smell and we understand that you also disappointed about the way our staff solved the problem. In this case, please allow us to clarify as follows:

- After front desk received your complain about the smell, we understand that you willing to change the room but we couldn’t find any other room that match with your booking (Studio Superior 38 sqm) as we were running full house during the high season. At first, we sent staff to spray the room to get rid of the stench smell. Unfortunately, it’s didn’t work and of course, we didn’t suspect that you may try to fraud us. We wondered why the ‘Durian’ smell was there while bringing ‘Durian’ in the property is ‘prohibited’. After that, we had to send our security officer to check the situation if the smell just in your room or come from somewhere else.
- In fact, Housekeeping had checked all rooms before any guest check in and make sure the rooms are in good condition. We suspected that the previous guest brought Durian and kept it in fridge and the smell may retain in the refrigerator, which our Housekeeping was remiss in checking in the refrigerator properly.
- After investigation, the front desk staff had to offer you another Studio Superior on the 1st floor which was the only studio room available on that night. FYI that the front desk staff doesn’t have authorize to upgrade room for guests more than 2 steps without permission from their manager.
- Since the Studio Superior on the 1st floor is on a smoking floor and guest couldn’t accept that. Our front desk staff had to contact their manager in order to ask permission to upgrade the room for guest to Two Bedroom Superior Suite 108 sqm.

Once again, we would like to apologize about the incidental during your stay and we would like you to know that our staff were trying their best to solve the problem, followed our standard rules and regulations. We will also repeat our Housekeeping team to be more careful in checking the readiness of the room before guests check in. We promise that there will be no problem like this in the future.

Should you travel to Bangkok again, please give us another chance to prove ourselves. For your next visit at Viva Garden, please contact our Front Office Manager directly to take care of you and rest assure that you will have a pleasant stay in our residence.

Have a Blissful Day!
Viva Garden by Bliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viva Garden Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Garden Serviced Residence

Address: 1988 Sukhumvit 60/1, Sukhumvit Road | Bangchak , Phrakanong, Bangkok 10260, Thailand (Formerly Viva Garden Serviced Residence by Bliston)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Garden Serviced Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viva Garden Residence is centrally located amid prime location on Sukhumvit road, Bangchak skytrain station (BTS), convention and exhibition centers, and many industrial estates. Viva Garden offers luxurious and exclusive serviced residence perfect for both business travelers and family seeking convenience and comfort of a home-away-from-home. Providing 111 spacious apartments with a choice of studios, one, and two bedrooms, 24 hour front desk and security, CCTV surveillance, daily maid service, a variety of facilities and services, and panoramic view of Chaophraya River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Viva Garden Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Garden Serviced Residence By Bliston Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Garden Serviced Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.