We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36/1 Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Get WoW Offer
Ranked #28 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've staying in Bangkok a lot over the last few years and knew we wanted somewhere close to Siam to make the most of our final shopping opportunities during the last two days in SE Asia for a while.

The Lit is down a small Soi about 5 minutes walk from MBK. There are a number of cheaper guest houses, a couple of restaurants (including a pizza place that was busy every time we went past) down the same lane plus it's lined with street carts so there are plenty of food options close by (not forgetting MBK's fab food court).

[Almost] every aspect of the hotel is great. It's beautifully designed, slick and modern; the rooms are cleverly put together feeling much more spacious then they actually are (all mirrors and marble with enough light switches to keep you entertained for at least half an hour!), the beds are comfy, air-con that works, excellent shower, cool bathroom, huge TV, complimentary B110 mini bar credit - just enough to get a couple of drinks.

The impression is one of perfect hospitality. Plus the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly.

The restaurant was ok, but there is definitely room for improvement; breakfast was a bit 'meh' - stick to the buffet if you don't want to wait ages for tiny portions - I ordered eggs benedict, it arrived 25 minutes later (after I chased) and was half a muffin, one egg and one thin slice of ham, and be aware that you can specify if you want a particular type of coffee (latte etc) - it's not mentioned.

We stayed on a promotional rate which included a 3 course Thai lunch or dinner. On the website there are a number of options but it's actually only soup, pad thai and fruit so possibly not tremendous value.

We were also disappointed to note that the one night we wanted to sit on the terrace and enjoy a beer it was virtually impossible due to the volume of the PA of the 'talented young artists' singing cover versions on the steps. Admittedly they weren't the most offensive pair (girl and a bloke with an acoustic guitar), but the volume was at ear-bleeding levels - it was quite pleasant to listen to in the bar at the hotel halfway down the road but really off-putting virtually anywhere in the public areas of the hotel.

My only other negative is the pool, whilst lovely to look at, is really exposed - not great if you like to keep your kaftan on for fear of putting folks off their breakfast.

Overall this is a great value hotel - we'll definitely come and stay here again next time we're in Bangkok, assuming we can get a reservation as I think word's getting out what a gem it is.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor. Avoid the promotional rate with the 3 course Thai meal. Make sure you use you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    167
    34
    2
    3
See reviews for
82
297
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it was perfect. Large twin room, check in /out a breeze. Complimentary 10 min foot massage while we settled in our room. Bathroom lovely -open style bath. Mattress super comfortable and lovely linen n pillows. Great location right next to mbk shopping centre. Taxi to airport 400 baht. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great few days at The Lit The staff from reception to the doorman could not have been more helpful kind and polite The rooms were clean light and unusual Breakfast was plentiful with a selection to please all palates The food in the restaurant was lovely a good choice of European and Thai well presented and plentiful One drawback the proximity to the huge shopping mall the MBK this place is fatal you are liable to spend far too much and return home penniless
You must visit the Golden Palace during your visit We were amazed at the beauty that surrounded us it was breathtaking
We would recommend the Lit to all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The LIT Bangkok is the best I have ever stayed not only in Bangkok, but also worldwide! Greeted by hotel staff every time. Not expensive, Room is clean, design is special, hotel is quiet, breakfast choice not many but good enough, and can find money exchange with good rate nearby.

The things I don't like: 1) slipper is not a towel-like slipper, 2) there is only 1 hook in bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was a pleasure staying in this hotel. Service good as usual in Thailand. Not too difficult to find. You are mostly by yourself, Pool area is not busy, neither spa nor the gym. Everything is in excellent condition and clean. The rooms are modern, with curtains dividing bedroom from bathtub. Toilet and shower are behind glassdoors so everything can be heard in the room...
Location- wise it is near many Shopping Centers and by the Sky Trains. To the City Center it will take around 20-30 mins depending on traffic. Not expensive though-100 baht.

You will have a good time for whichever purpose you will book the hotel. And in the Morning you can look forward to a wide Choice of Food at the breakfast Buffet!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fantastic modern hotel. Only 5 minutes walk to famous shopping district in Pathumwan, including MBK centre and Siam Discovery. Skytrain access also only 5 minutes walk. Booked two rooms with two other single friends. I stayed in Different Degree room with king size bed and my two friends in Different Degree room with two single beds. If i had a complaint, it would be that the two single beds are in fact just one king size base with two single mattresses placed on top, so in fact my two friends were sleeping right next to each other!! That is why I believe hotel better suited for couples. I had few maintenace issues in my room, but they were fixed right away. You have free use of upto 110Baht from mini bar and tea and coffee are provided for free. Bathroom had rain shower head and also conventional spray head on a hose. It also had separate bath tub. Internet was free via Wifi or LAN. There was no joiner fee for bringing back a guest, Breakfast was a good selection and more could also be ordered using an order sheet you filled out and sent to the kitchen. Staff were super friendly and very helpful. Laundry was a little pricey but just walk outside and the same street has three laundry shops which do great job for 80% less in price! Gym was good compared to many other hotels.
I have been to other hotels in Pathumwan area and must say for a four and half hotel with its offerings, the price of stay is very good and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We joined our Kiwi friends there this last week and were blown away by the stunning architecture of the hotel, pool and rooms. The staff were beyond welcoming and accomodating (and easy on the eye) and we felt VERY special. When I received my credit card statement I got another pleasant surprise at the low cost of meals etc. The Lit is extremely conveniently located for shopping and transport systems. It has conference facilities as well. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: we had the basic room which was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence

Address: 36/1 Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIT! Bangkok Hotel offers an enviable location that combines authentic Thai charm, premium service and the convenience of central city living. It's a mere five minutes walk to Bangkok's major malls such as MBK, Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery, for shopping, dining, and entertainment - as well as outstanding city attractions and landmarks including Bangkok Art and Cultural Centre, Jim Thompson's House and The National Stadium skytrain station.All 79 rooms are designed to furnish guests with a superior stay via surprising architectural features and a plethora of thoughtful design details. All rooms feature flat screen TVs, DVD player, mini-bar, and ambiance lighting.The hotel also offers guests a superb spa, fitness-centre, pool, restaurant, room service and the hotel's unique 'Fiesta Steppe' chill-out zone, a great space to drink in the local atmosphere with a glass of your favorite tipple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LIT Bangkok Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.