We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, nice rooms, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Khaosan Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Khaosan Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   139 Khao San Road | Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Rate from 750 Bht
Ranked #187 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent location, nice rooms, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my travels, was very impressed with the location and cleanliness of the rooms, had mini fridge tv air con
great location as well, right on the strip, and a very lively bar right next door
was quiet(ish) at night so getting sleep isnt an issue not that we got much ;) the rooftop pool is nice also

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    153
    179
    63
    56
See reviews for
25
183
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Empuriabrava, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been staying in that hotel many times over the years. It's a clean place right in the middle of Khao San Road and good value for money. But I would not stay there one more night as the noise and music from the street made my bed vibrate till 3 in the morning; earplugs did not help either. To be honest I must say there was a 100 Bath discount for the room and at the reception I was warned about the noise at night. There are plenty of quieter hotels nearby at good prices too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As with many places in Thailand, the pictures on the website make the hotel look nicer than it is. The hotel is clean, staff are not too helpful, pool is good but not a lot of poolside space. Perfect location if you want to stay on Khao San road

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The back rooms in the hotel are nice and quiet, although the view out the window is a brick wall. In general the staff were friendly, however if there was any misunderstanding they were confrontational and completely inflexible. I had arranged a late departure through booking.com, and when I went to the extra 650 Baht they said I had to check out at 3pm and pay and extra 350 Baht. I understood that one of the staff said I could leave me room at 4-4.20 and that would be ok, however when I went to reception at 4.20 they charged me an extra 375 Baht and argued with me about the check out time. They were completely unreasonable that perhaps a misunderstanding occurred on both sides, and I am incredibly angry at finishing a 3.5 month trip around the world arguing in the foyer with staff, where I spent the last hour on the internet writing emails that I would have done from the foyer!!!!!!

Also the swimming pool on the roof is much smaller than in the photographs, and there were people drinking up there and then doing belly flops into a shallow pool, soaking everyone around the pool. The staff did not care about this at all. I would not return here.

Room Tip: A room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good hotel to base yourself for a SHORT time, close or easy access to major sightseeing locations. With the craziness of Khao San Road right outside it’s not the place to go if you want a uninterrupted night sleep. We were on the second floor, cheapest room available – still plenty of room, double bed, Air-con, small bathroom.... room very happy with the price.
Pool on the roof was great but it closed to early.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Group of 14 of us locked this place in to stay for one night before flying further south. Khaosan Road is an insane place at any rate and if your into the party scene would definitely recommend staying here. The rooms are tidy (wouldn't say clean) but comfortable for a short stay. Partying goes well into the early hours of the morning, so if you are relying on sleep don't bother with this place. Staff were friendly and helpful with tourist spots during the day. Luggage storage was also really handy if you need to check out but stil want to explore!

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the reviews before booking! And if you are using booking.com make sure you k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Not as great as the photos, ok for a night or 2 maximum. Pool is tiny and only about 8 sun beds around it so it gets busy very quickly.

Probably better for backpackers passing through, as a reasonably priced clean hotel in the middle of the crazy Khoasan Road.

Staff were horrendously rude and demanded 500bht per room as a 'deposit' in case of any damage which was not in the small print.

Probably wouldn't recommend, but you could do worse I'm sure!

Room Tip: Try and stay away from rooms at the front as there is music and noise until late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaosan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Palace Hotel

Address: 139 Khao San Road | Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaosan Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have amenities for you within Hotel sich as Swimming Pool, Internet Center, 24 hours Food Store, Phramacy, Local Tour Desk and Interstate Tour Desk, Currency Exchange, Security 24 Hours and Elevator. Tuk Tuk is Parking in front of Hotel 24 hours ready for you to explore the city of Bangkok around khao san road as well as 24 Hours Taxi are parking in front of Hotel, ready for you to go to Airport anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Khaosan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.