We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of amazing quality food for great prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant

Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant
85/2 Tanao Road | Banglumpoo, Bangkok, Thailand
+66 2 280 7549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 7,821 restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Vegetarian and vegan food made with love, integrity and ethics. Huge menu of classic Thai cuisine plus variety of foods from around the world including Italian, Middle Eastern, Indian, and fusion food.Specialties include home-fermented pro-biotic Kombucha Tea in 5 exotic flavors, home-made Tempeh, home-made yogurt and home-baked wholewheat bread. Certified 100% Organic Rice and other organic products. No preservatives, No MSG.100's of pure fruit and vegetable juices, blended fruit drinks and exotic teas. Variety of vegan desserts including gluten-free vegan pancakes, home-baked Apple Crumble made with coconut butter.Relaxing world music and a homely atmosphere create a unique eating experience a world apart from local Khaosan Road!
ko phangnan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of amazing quality food for great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food at Ethos was delicious and plentiful. Settled into a hidden alleyway, the atmosphere was really nice and chill. Their kombucha was really good to. I look forward to eating here every time I am in Bangkok!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    104
    31
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and nice atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Go there for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch!!! Their food is very nice. Vegan and vegetarian choices are good and the pancakes are delicious! Banana & Mango Vegan was a treat, and the Blueberry standard one was amazing as well. The indications to get there from another tripadvisor user are super detailed. At the Khaosan Road Burger King take left, first small street on the right and then again left... Sign outside is clear and visible! Didn't try the Tempé, but is definitely in the list of the to do, as we saw it coming for another table and was so good! Blueberry Kombucha it's a must and their Ice Ginger Tea with Honey...yummy! Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend were brought here by another friend for dinner when we arrived into Thailand. Our friend has been living in bangkok for 4 years. We liked it so much we went back for lunch again when we were back in bangkok on our way out of Thailand. One of the best vegetarian restaurants I've been to on my round the world travels. My non veggie boyfriend really enjoyed his meal (the veggie burger) and had no problem going back again. Good sized portions too. Would recommend the spring rolls, the veggie burger and the falafel. You can sit on the floor or they also have some tables and chairs for tourists. To find it head to the bottom of Khaosan road (burger king end), take a left, take the first right down a little alley, take a left and you should see their sign. There appears to be lots of vegetarian places on that street.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a healthy alternative to the msg that plagues the city and we found it at Ethos. The owner greeted us promptly upon arrival and took our drink orders. We had kombucha tea and guava juice. Very refreshing. When we were ready for our food order she apologized and explained that due to the New Years madness certain items weren't available. Ok, no problem we're on vacation and in no rush. When we asked how long before they would be ready she said 10 minutes. Hah, we were expecting to wait an hour or so. Anyways to make a long story longer, I ordered panang curry with brown rice and the wife had the tempeh salad with peanut sauce. Both were amazing! The salad was huge and delicious especially the homemade peanut sauce. It went above and beyond our expectations. Then to top it off the owner brought another round of drinks on the house because we had to wait the extra 10 mins. Pure class. We came back for breakfast the next morning and had banana porridge, a gluten free blueberry pancake with coconut cream, cucumber juice and an espresso. Needless to say it was great. There is free wifi and great prices which make Ethos a 5 star restaurant.
p.s. Don't stress on the location, its off the beaten path but worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good food but very rude waitress. A little hard to find. Hummus is good, coconut shakes are ok but pricey. Coffee tastes like instant but hey, its thailand. If their waitress would smile or just not look like she would rather be watching Schindlers list soaking wet it would have been a more pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.