We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue | Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
+66 (2) 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 7,821 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Did you know that you can order a nice hot bowl of beef noodles (includes a couple of beef balls) off the menu for breakfast? The bowl is medium sized, leaving my tummy space to enjoy the rest of the breakfast spread. Both the freshly squeezed tangerine juice and yoghurts (3 types including natural) are home-made.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    105
    46
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Spot & Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Always an enjoyable experience. Location is ideal, food and service top notch. With friends for dinner or an more romantic dinner the Terrace is guaranteed not to let you down. Staff always happy to help.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service in an idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The service here goes beyond the call of duty, incredibly attentive and friendly. We had a charming table right by the river. I hadnt realised that the buffet closed at 10:30pm, which is worth bearing in mind. The food was above average, but at the end of the day its a buffet and thats the compromise you make for the service and the setting, although the dessert table was something else. All in all, somewhere I would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Where in the world...?!
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had the buffet dinner at The Riverside Terrace and the entire experience was perfect. The setting is just beautiful and very romantic-a saxophonist in the background, lots of fairy lights, and a lovely view across the river-make sure you request a riverside table.
The staff were constantly attentive without being overbearing, and very friendly.
The food selection was perfect-I have been to a lot of recommended hotel buffets across the world and this was one of the best with a large selection of options, but not too many that you felt overwhelmed by it. I liked how is was laid out almost by course rather than by cuisine also. Also the quality of the ingredients used in everything we ate was very high-this sometimes isn't the case with buffets.
The starters included little bowls of mozzarella balls with basil and tomato, hummus, Parma ham, smoked salmon, gazpacho, fish, a huge bread selection (to name a few).
The mains Included a vast salad bar, pretty much any kind of meat you could want cooked to your liking (the steak and lobster were delicious), sushi and much more.
Then there was a cheese and desert counter with the most beautifully delicate little deserts-probably more than 40 things to choose from at a guess.
The wine list was substantial and the prices no more expensive than a good restaurant in London mostly. The meal for two with a glass of wine and two large bottles of water came to roughly £120.
I cannot fault anything about the experience and I would massively recommend it for a special dinner if you are in Bangkok.

Tips:
Go after 8pm-it's very humid and we would be uncomfortably hot before this.
Request a riverside table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Dining on The Riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent range of delicacies. Food are served fresh and I simply love the atmosphere dining on the riverside. They offer special packages on the Loi Krathong festival with full entertainment and amazing fireworks show at the end.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.