We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Tepa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Tepa to your Saves list
Baan Tepa
245/1, Soi 9, Sri-Ayutthaya Rd., Bangkok 10300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly comfortable oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Agree with all Of the other reviews...this place is a little away from the action which we found to be a plus in Bangkok. Still close enough to major sites via cab or ferry. Rooms tiny but comfortable and the entire place is decorated with care - very unique and traditional Thai style. Not fancy but nice. Theo is very helpful. Also check out Steve restaurant a few blocks away past the temple: fantastic food in a nice cool riverside setting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baan-Tepa, Owner at Baan Tepa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am learning to response reviews that make I toooo slow to response. ^^
Thank you very much for your stay with us.
Hope you to see you again. ^^
And wish you have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have stayed here two years in a row and will be back again. Clean, comfortable and Theo will take great care of you. Many different types of rooms some with showers and some showers down the hall Ubuntu it's no big deal. Quiet Soi 9 and close to bus 13 which will take you ever where.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It you want to rest in Bangkok like your home, Baan Tepa is a good choice for you.
I stayed here with my friends only one night, but I can contact with the great regard from the owner.
There are many different room at here. You can rest with your friends or your family not only in room but also other corner in Baan Tepa too, because there are many sitting area here.
If you stay here, you can easily travel to many famous places in BKK that the owner can advice you for the travel.

I love here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We travelled throughout Southeast Asia for five weeks this summer, primarily staying in midrange boutique hotels, and Baan Tepa was easily our favourite. It was also the cheapest. We ended up extending our visit in Bangkok just to stay here a bit longer because we felt so much at home. The wooden house is lovingly restored by the incredibly sweet and interior design-savvy owners and beautifully decorated with all sorts of bric-a-brac. The place virtually begs to be photographed. All details are in place; from the ever-changing Thai breakfasts prepared by the owners to the complementary water in the fridge, cosy downstairs sitting area, useful travel advice from Theo, the owner, and great neighbourhood.

We did not know Dusit beforehand having previously stayed in Chinatown and near Sukhumvit Road, but it turned out to be a welcoming non-touristy part of the city with low buildings and pleasant local markets. We much preferred this to the glitzy Sukhumvit-area. There is no skytrain here, but everything is within reach by the inexpensive taxis that go by meter. We found the tuk-tuks way overpriced.

You should be aware that walls are thin in Baan Tepa. You can hear everything that is going on next door. Luckily, the other guests were considerate and quiet so it didn’t pose a problem. Rooms are small, but well-furnished, and beds and bathrooms are great. We ended up staying in three different rooms and felt most at home in 'Rajadamnern' downstairs. It’s a bit more expensive than the others but worth the extra baht as it’s bigger, almost like a tiny flat, and comes with an attached bathroom. The cheaper rooms have bathrooms down the hall.

We will most certainly stay here again.This is truly a home away from home.

Leonora & Annette, Copenhagen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I traveled throughout Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia for two months, and Baan Tepa was my favorite guest house. A beautiful wooden house refurbished in a manner that preserves its historic style, Baan Tepa manages to make Bangkok feel relaxing. There are few things better than navigating the chaos of Bangkok during the day and returning for a BYO beer on the couch in Baan Tepa's open air living room in the late afternoon. The location is ideal for anyone looking for a slice of life in a down-to-earth Thai neighborhood while remaining in striking distance of the important tourist sites, best accessed by Chao Phraya express boat from the nearby Thewet Pier. There are old buildings, great neighborhood restaurants, and bustling outdoor markets in the area. Baan Tepa's placement on a quiet soi (sidestreet) shelters you in its leafy courtyard from almost all noise. If all this weren't enough, the managers have great insights into the history and culture of modern Thailand. For discerning travelers, this is the place to stay in BKK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I stay here 2 time in last Nov. and May.12. Here is Nice place , Nice room and Nice guy to take care.The room are different and exciting.Here is near many place to travel.We can walk , take boat or Took Took to many famous place. I love here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

our stay at baan tepa for four nights was a pleasure. in a hectic city, arriving back at baan tepa feelslike you arrive back home. the house has a lot of character. furthermore, it is very quiet at night. the location is quite good, central enough to reach all the attractions easily, for exampleby boat, while staying in an quiet neighbourhood. the owner of the hotel helped us with a lot of good advice about what to do and how to get there. special about this hotel is the breakfast, the owner likes to cook different types of thai food for breakfast to let you experience the great food of thai. conclusion: recommendable place to stay in bangkok

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Tepa

Address: 245/1, Soi 9, Sri-Ayutthaya Rd., Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from a 80-year-old, Thai wooden house, Baan Tepa is now a new boutique hostel in the old Bangkok. The house features traditional Thai decor and is incorporated with modern amenities assuring a comfortable stay. A convenient stroll away is the Vimanmek Palace, Anantasamakhom Throne Hall, Chittralada villa, Wat Ben, Thai Parliament, Dusit Zoo and Thewet Pier, while the colorful and lively Khao San road can be reached within 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Tepa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.