We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm beer, cold food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sha Raku Restaurant and Sake Bar

Sha Raku Restaurant and Sake Bar
14 Soi Sukhumvit 23 | Klongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok, Thailand
02 664 0346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,717 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Warm beer, cold food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 via mobile

They served warm beer and when we asked if they had a cold beer we were told they didn't have cold beer.
We waited over 15 minutes to place our order. We had to flag them down.
My meal came out, my husband's didn't.
I had finished my meal (after waiting a while for his to come out) well before his hit the table.
It took so long they offered the dessert menu before dinner was received.
When my husband's meal eventually came out (mixed grill) it was cold. There were 5 types of meat on there and we couldn't guess what a couplee of them were

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worst Japanese food in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a horrible dinner here. This place is like a holdover from the 80s. The only thing marginally edible was the sashimi platter. The crab croquettes tasted like they were made from sawdust. The hotate-bata (buttered scallops) were old and tasteless. We had a succession of waiters none of whom seemed to understand the most basic Japanese or English.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great variety of tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were a large group of 10 and very much enjoyed our dinner at Sha Raku. Because we were a large group we were able to order several different dishes to try, including standard dishes such as the sashimi, tempura, pork tonkatsu, yakisoba wrapped in egg, and more unique dishes such as a miso soup with fresh crab, and my personal favorite, a mixture of fish wrapped in tamago. The dishes were all flavorful and tasty.

We noticed the customers at this restaurant were mostly Japanese, which is always a good sign for finding good Japanese food. Per the staff, the head chef is from Kyoto, Japan so some of the specialized dishes come from that region.

We did not try the bar, but from the menu there seemed to be a good a selection of sake and shoju drinks.

An added bonus for travelers - the menu has English!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

English Language:

Your staff must speak English at least.They seemed to be able to only speak Japanese. It is of course a Japanese restaurant but it doesn't mean staff speak only English. It is starting a terrible service communication already when staff is unable to speak proper English or even understand English. This is not good at all.

Staff stanby for guest order and service:

There was no one stanby and served guest while I was at the table. When I wanted to order food or drink. Noone took care of this. We just had to look and shout staff to come to us. This is terrible thing I have ever experienced.

Food:

It was ok.taste was ok and decoration was ok. nothing was special about this restaurant. One of the guest who sat close to our table , wanted to order some rice.but staff did not understand. He had a very clear English to order even though staff did not understand at all. finally another staff from inside the kitchen must came out and talked with the guest. This is not good training.Many hospitality must come with good service and trained staff to get ready to serve guest.They must work much harder for this.If they do not care, no more staff will come.

Atmosphere:

They are limited table for guest who came for two person. small tables with limited space. It looked dark all over the restaurant. But inside for the table for4 people was nice.

Payment.

They took guest credit card to charge at the back side of the restaurant. This is not good as guest felt unsecured about their credit card.Anything could be happening to cheating behavior.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Came here for lunch with my family. My kids simply love the food. Cheap and delicious. Definitely will be back again. Oishi!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sha Raku Restaurant and Sake Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sha Raku Restaurant and Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sha Raku Restaurant and Sake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.