We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Hotel in Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Alameda, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice New Hotel in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a 2 day tour in Bangkok. The hotel is modern the rooms are clean with free WiFi in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the A/C worked great. The Pool is tiny and is located at the rooftop area where a great breakfast buffet is served every morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    129
    49
    15
    13
See reviews for
14
88
51
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night here. The hotel was surprisingly clean and modern and the price was good. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very nice with a modern shower.The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff carried our bags up for us and showed us the room and how to use the electricity and where to find other useful items in the room. On the roof there is a small pool and some showers and a bathroom. We had a late flight out so after checking out we were able to leave our bags in a secured area and explore the city for the day. We were flying home to NY that night so after our day out we went upstairs to the pool area and showered (outdoors). The staff here were friendly and spoke good English. The hotel is in an area within walking distance of terminal 21 of the sky train. Terminal 21 also has a shopping mall, if you are into that sort of thing. We did not have any food or drink at the hotel as it seemed pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just arrived and found that my booking hadn't. I had to whip out the laptop and forward the confirmation email. Fortunately the reception staff are pleasant. Eventually I got a room, and the hotel appears to be both clean and comfortable. Working out how to get power to the room takes a bit of an effort and for some bizarre reason the card is inserted into the slot near door- but upside down and at an angle - weird. Wifi is complimentary and you really wouldn't want to pay for it as the signal is dismal and intermittent. If I didn't have friends (who decided to book here ) arriving late tonight I would considered departing but it's also Chinese New Year and the city is rather busy...an afternoon's work was frustrating. Polite requests to have the wifi sorted were met with smiles and not much in the way of success..
I had a shower ...not bad until at the 3min point or so I noticed the water about to run onto the bathroom floor. Off with the shower and move on. After a pleasant few drinks (the roadside bar is good, but wine is served only by the bottle) and a good pizza at Scoozi nearby - it was back and to bed. The chic looking bedlamp on one side of the bed didn't work and trying to set the ipod dock/clock/alarm was an exercise in futility (a manual would be handy).

Yes it's only a hotel, but is it so unreasonable to expect the place gets the basics right? I tried to email the hotel management, but there doesn't appear to be an email address that can be readily found. The BW website is dreadful unless you live in North America and their feedback site doesn't mention Thailand as being in Asia...along with a few other Asian nations..oh for a Marriott........

Room Tip: Consider other options if you need to do a bit of work and have reasonable expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have now stayed here twice and love this place for a short layover in BKK. Very large, modern, quiet rooms, big bed, large showers, wi-fi, and very close to shopping and BTS as well as close to a great park for running and gym equipment each morning. My perfect stay. A pool would be nice but for the price this is a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Although I tend to go for more budget hotels, this hotel was a great choice in busy Bangkok. The staff was very helpful and friendly. At one point, a man at the front desk offered to drive me to Starbucks on the hotel tuktuk (rickshaw) for free. The restaurant is on the rooftop and is very pretty. However, be careful not to fall for all the pushy gimmicks of the wait staff. The beds were too firm, but overall the room seemed clean. The bathroom was very modern and done in black tile...so, it is difficult to say whether the bathroom was clean or not. The room came with complimentary bottled water and wifi. It is located close to the subway/train.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were presentable, clean and had a welcoming feeling to it. You get free WIFI and a bonus DVD player. Rooms were suitably priced. It's not located right next door to a BRT station, you will have to walk about 7-10 mins, but you're away from the hustle of Sukhumvit area but still within easy reach of restaurants and malls. The pool was closed for a week for renovation unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights including New Years Eve.

We were very grateful when we checked in at 10am suffering from the flu that our room was ready.

The room was very comfortable, quiet, clean, good free wifi, nice bathroom and a very comfy bed.

The "pool" and area too small.

The location is really good, just a short 10min walk to Asoke making access to all the sights easy. At night there were plenty of good cheap bars and restaurants nearby. The next street Soi 18 had the P4 Kitchen, basic decor but great food and cheap. Next door is a very relaxing bar, Palm, comfy seating, good drinks, easy music and a TV which is handy if you want to watch a football game like I did. No sound though but I wasn't bothered, we won 3nil. Another good bar restaurant is opposite the Rembrandt Hotel, can't remember the name.
A couple of streets the other way Soi22 Park Plaza is full of more lively bars. We visited few bars here on New Years Eve and it was buzzing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit

Address: 17 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus @ 20 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.