We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
+66 (2) 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 7,944 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved the look and feel of the room - felt instantly relaxed and service was great. Being a lover of afternoon tea I was excited to try the Thai version which unfortunately was a mistake. We still enjoyed it but wished we stuck to the traditional English! Nevertheless it was a beautiful experience we enjoyed very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best place for your tea time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are addicted to tea time.
This is the place you must visit.

Great atmosphere in the white Author's lounge of Mandarin Oriental Bangkok.

You can choose either the traditional Thai dessert set or the western one.
And i have to say that you must try both of them

Great staff, great place, great dessert and great tea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“delicious afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked in advance and were treated to one of the seats in the main room - the décor and feel has a decadent colonial feel.
The tea is wonderfully fresh and the cakes/savouries are delicious. I would defiantly go back there again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pinkies Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Another one recommended stop on "1,000 to see before you die" book was the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. I thought it would be odd just to walk around a hotel lobby so I was looking through the site and saw afternoon tea! Perfect. We got off the Skytrain and took the complimentary boat from the dock up river to the hotel.
The hotel is gorgeous and since we arrived early for afternoon tea (they have two serving times) we were just relaxing in the lobby which was perfectly fine since it's a great spot to people watch and it's just so beautifully decorated with all the fresh flowers!
When we walked into the Author's Lounge you seriously feel like you're stepping into a different era. It's breathtaking! There are three different options for afternoon tea: tradition, vegetarian and thai. We ordered one of each since two people can share one set. If you're only going to visit once and can only order one of the sets, I say go with the Thai set. When else are you going to have the opportunity to try this, right?
There was a huge variety on the tiered trays and the presentation was amazing. The sandwiches were good and most of the desserts were tasty. The one thing that I would change is adding more savory flavors because the sweet became a bit overwhelming.
Great experience and I would recommend it more so for the ambience of the lounge and the hotel itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and had afternoon tea..brilliant experience..a few years ago we stayed in shangri la and visited..the surprising thing is it was more fun the second time..perhaps being residents made all the difference!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;