We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
+66 2 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 7,383 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under refurbishment and will reopen in December 2015
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved the look and feel of the room - felt instantly relaxed and service was great. Being a lover of afternoon tea I was excited to try the Thai version which unfortunately was a mistake. We still enjoyed it but wished we stuck to the traditional English! Nevertheless it was a beautiful experience we enjoyed very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    26
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best place for your tea time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are addicted to tea time.
This is the place you must visit.

Great atmosphere in the white Author's lounge of Mandarin Oriental Bangkok.

You can choose either the traditional Thai dessert set or the western one.
And i have to say that you must try both of them

Great staff, great place, great dessert and great tea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“delicious afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked in advance and were treated to one of the seats in the main room - the décor and feel has a decadent colonial feel.
The tea is wonderfully fresh and the cakes/savouries are delicious. I would defiantly go back there again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pinkies Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Another one recommended stop on "1,000 to see before you die" book was the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. I thought it would be odd just to walk around a hotel lobby so I was looking through the site and saw afternoon tea! Perfect. We got off the Skytrain and took the complimentary boat from the dock up river to the hotel.
The hotel is gorgeous and since we arrived early for afternoon tea (they have two serving times) we were just relaxing in the lobby which was perfectly fine since it's a great spot to people watch and it's just so beautifully decorated with all the fresh flowers!
When we walked into the Author's Lounge you seriously feel like you're stepping into a different era. It's breathtaking! There are three different options for afternoon tea: tradition, vegetarian and thai. We ordered one of each since two people can share one set. If you're only going to visit once and can only order one of the sets, I say go with the Thai set. When else are you going to have the opportunity to try this, right?
There was a huge variety on the tiered trays and the presentation was amazing. The sandwiches were good and most of the desserts were tasty. The one thing that I would change is adding more savory flavors because the sweet became a bit overwhelming.
Great experience and I would recommend it more so for the ambience of the lounge and the hotel itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and had afternoon tea..brilliant experience..a few years ago we stayed in shangri la and visited..the surprising thing is it was more fun the second time..perhaps being residents made all the difference!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authors' Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.