We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khaosan road Thailand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Boutique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Buddy Boutique Inn to your Saves list
Buddy Boutique Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   66 Chakkapong Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Khaosan road Thailand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is such a great spot close to every thing,the only problem is the lack of a window in the cell like room.so Internet noise air con no saterlight tv and in the day they are fixing the fire stairs so very noisy but at night it is very quit and for this aria that is hard to find also very clean and staff were friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Buddlefish,

Thank you for writing a few words regarding your stay here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We can now confirm that we have managed to fix the problem with the cable TV and now offer Western TV channels, including the BBC World Service.

We are sorry if the recent work conducted on the fire escapes was noisy during the day time. We attempted to limit the disruption by working only from 13:00pm until 18:00pm. We also put messages up in the main reception informing guests we would be working on this project during this period and we are sorry if this affected your stay in anyway.

Thank you for your kind words about our very clean rooms and friendly staff, we are a small team and it is nice to receive your praise.

We hope you might consider us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
43
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Althought there is nothing wrong with this hostel as the staff were very friendly (especially john) and the hotel is in a fantastic location. The lack of windows in the room let it down a bit for me so it felt almost prison like and impossible to tell what time of day it was without checking the time. The hotel is a great price though although it can be a bit loud at night so I wouldnt advise for people wanting a quiet nights sleep but then why stop near khao san road if thats what you are after.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Michael L,

We were very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your recent stay with us at the Buddy Boutique Inn.

Thank you for also sharing your feedback with many fellow travelers on the popular review website Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and hope we can exceed your expectations once more.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After finding and checking many rooms in khao san road, we ended up here. most of the places we see round either small or dirty or no windows or if good then out of our budget.

When we saw the hotel in pic we just loved it, thn waited if the hotel is actualy as good as its in the picture. And it was.

The rooms are small but very clean and well designed. I will say its a boutique designed place.

Ya the worst thing is there is only 2 channels in tv and both are thai. But who wants tv in Khao san u are there to party ; )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Travelling Elephants,

Thank you for your nice review and for choosing to stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn, at the heart of the Backpacker area in Bangkok.

We were so pleased to read your comments about your room and the way you felt the website pictures did the room justice.

We understand and are sorry about the lack of Television channels available, The Management are aware of this issue and are looking into ways we can correct this problem in the future.

Hopefully, we will see you again, the next time you visit Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Reallly awesome :)
Looks like a modern style room and very clean and not too noisy even there is reallly hot place to do party with drinks
So you can enjoy in there and it's good location to start the your traveling :) awesome and if i will go Kossan, absolutely i will visit again :)))

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bibijung,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Boutique Inn on Khaosan Road.

Everyone here was delighted to learn that you were happy with our stylish, modern rooms and found them to be clean and tidy.

As you say above Khaosan Road is a great place to start any vacation in Thailand as it offers a little bit of everything from good food, to great night-life and a local market.

All the best until your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fairly basic but with all the essentials, and a few added extras. Rooms were neat and clean and I was happy to return for 2 additional stays. I was lucky enough to have rooms with a window, but some of the rooms don't have this. Good location if you want to be in the 'tourist' district. Easy walking/tuk-tuk distance to a number of attractions, markets, etc. Staff very helpful and friendly, but didn't seem able to provide much tourist-related information. The courtyard restaurant downstairs plays fairly loud music until about 2h00 or 3h00, which made sleeping a bit of a challenge.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, ask for a room located away from the courtyard restaurant downstairs. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Janine Van Blerk,

Thank you for staying at our small boutique hotel and for writing a few words about your time here on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate your recommendation to other future travellers to stay here.

Hopefully you will be able to return for a 4th time in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in Buddy Boutique for 3 nights at the end of August. The room was very clean and all the information we needed regarding wi-fi etc was available for us in the room. We arrived before 2pm so were unable to check in early but the lad on reception was happy to allow to lock our bags in the back room for the morning. The location was great as i was right on the khao san road but not at all noisy. The room was a bit more expensive than most other accomodation in the area (£22 per night) but it wasn't unreasonable for a comfortable and clean room. We were also able to use the rooftop pool at Buddy Lodge, further down the road, this is advertised as being 'free' to Buddy Boutique customers however we were charged 200 baht per person.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Adele H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel on the traveler’s guide Trip Advisor.

We are all delighted to read you had such a pleasant and relaxing stay here.

As you mention in your review Khaosan Road can be pretty crazy at times and we are glad you enjoyed our distinctive, quiet sanctuary rooms away from the hustle and bustle.

We are sorry for any confusion caused over the swimming pool access. To clarify this point Buddy Boutique Inn guests are able to use the swimming pool at the Buddy Lodge, but only for 200 Baht per person, this facility is not available for free.

Thank you again for your very kind recommendation and the whole team is looking forward to your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Buddy Boutique was nice enough for the two nights we were there. It's in a decent location if you want to be near Khaosan Road, the staff were friendly enough (considering the language barrier).

The bad points. Our room didn't have any windows - which was a bit off putting and, with no point of reference, messed up my sleep pattern after a long flight. The concrete walls and floor was probably done by the same people who designed Hitler's bunker. But if it's only a brief visit then these are probably easy to put up with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jonny D,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Boutique Inn for your recent short stay in Bangkok and for taking the time to write a few words on the travel website, Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you liked our location, just off the main Khaosan Road and also found our staff friendly and helpful.

As we have explained before on Trip Advisor our hotel has two different types of rooms, a Superior Room which does come with a window and a Standard Room which does not. Of the 23 rooms available at the Boutique Inn, 15 of them do not come with a window.

Khaosan Road is a very busy and vibrant part of Bangkok and at night the party can go on quite late, so sometimes it is a good thing to be able to come back to a very quiet room and catch a bit of sleep.

We hope that should you return to Bangkok again you might consider returning to our hotel.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddy Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Boutique Inn

Address: 66 Chakkapong Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Boutique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buddy Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Boutique Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.