We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very helpful people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smile Society to your Saves list
Smile Society
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   130/3-4, Silom Soi 6 | Silom Road, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly and very helpful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and I couldn't ask for anything more. The staff a super friendly and very helpful. Great customer service that is hard to find these days.
The 8 bedroom dorm was very comfortable and clean too. I would definitelly come back and can highly recommend this place

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    72
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
77
138
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in a private 3 bed room for 1 night after travelling for around 20 hours. The room was basic and clean, however the downstairs area of the hostel stunk of feet!!

It is located in a busy part of Bangkok so bring Ear plugs if you want any sleep.

The shared showers and toilet facilities were ok, clean enough.

The breakfast was a particular highlight!

Overall this place is a good place to stay if you're a backpacker, there are plenty of others you can talk to and a nice communal space, but if you are looking for something a bit more high market this is not for you!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have enjoyed staying at Smile Society. I found all the people smiling :) it has been a very pleasant stay. Strongly recommended. Thank you Be (I am sorry for mis-spelling) and hopefully see you again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a double with en-suite, the security facilities were excellent with swipe cards required at all major entrance doors. The room also had satellite tv & wi-fi which was a great bonus. The owner was great too offering us useful advice and was also more than happy to arrange our transfer back to Bangkok airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I been one night whit my wife , and so impress the room was so clean king bed, ac, nice shower , internet, breakfast ,v cabe , all hat u need i really have good time there , and also the location es very good , u have everything around , if u are single is perfect for meet more people , the sttaf very nice ,,,,, excellent hostel and cheap

Room Tip: king room nice ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Really liked this place, the name suits all the staff who work here.

They helped booked onward travel and even helped get the price down on a taxi that we used to get to the hostel.

Good place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The staff is very friendly. They They helped with how to get where and what to do very well. The hostels is perfect to meet other travellers and also local people. The facilities are new and clean. I will defenitely return to this hostel when I am back to Bangkok

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6 | Silom Road, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small boutique 'youth' hostel which provide a clean, cosy and safety accommodation for young travellers. We are in great location on Silom Road which make you easily connect to other BKK attractions by both BTS skytrian and Metro. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in female and male dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To learn more about us and our conditions, pls visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.