We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thara House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thara House
Save
You added Thara House to your Saves list
100-100/1 Phra Arthit Road | Chanasongkhram. Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value in a good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in one of the two cheap single rooms on the top floor for 200b. This is a bit of a climb, but the price is great for the area! The free wifi is fast and reliable, the bathrooms are reasonably clean, and the staff are fine. Would definitely stay here again, but I can't comment on the usual rooms which have aircon and attached bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Thara House on two separate occasions. We've stayed in several hotels in the area and looked at most of the others. While some of the other local hotels might be a little more modern (not much) the Thara House is always quiet. It's just far enough away from the local clubs and bars for it to be quiet, but close enough to easily walk to where the actions at. As an added bonus the free wifi works well (fast) inside the rooms and the TV reception comes in clear.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We discovered this hotel after first walking down Khao San Road and Rambuttri and being disappointed with the high prices and mediocre rooms. Luckily, just around the corner was Thara House! You enter the lobby and are blasted with excellent AC, greeted by friendly staff, and can also use the many computers (5 baht for 10 min). Our room was 540 Baht, a double room with AC and window on the 5th floor. No elevator, so if you don't like to/can't climb stairs get a room on a lower floor as they are steep! Room was clean, comfortable, secure and best of all so centrally located that we could pop back in after sightseeing or shopping and just rest in the AC watching some TV while we worked up the energy to go out on the streets again.

As some other reviews note, there is a 7eleven and ferry stop across the street, also a bus stop (which we used to catch a bus to the Chatuchak market on the weekend). Access to bars and restaurants on Rambuttri, etc. but we preferred going to the bars that were on the same street as Thara - all locals and very good vibe. Just steps away from Thara to the right or the left but the noise didn't carry up to our room at all.

Our first time at Thara we were walk-ins and then our second time we just emailed them in advance to make a reservation and that worked fine too. Overall a basic and reasonable hotel in a GREAT location. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

To begin with it's a great location, quiet and still very close to Khaosan Road. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Rooms are decent, a/c, cableTV, own shower with toilet plus a safe for your valuables. There's internet plus ATM's. Thai nationals are also welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in differnt hotels in Bangkok around this area. I would say this hotels is best value . It is clean , stuff is friendly and helpful, you will get good value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

While back packing we have stayed here on 4 different occasions. The hotel is really well positioned opposite pier number 13 river boat stop which is a great way to travel like the locals and a great way to view the city for 14 baht one way. The hotel is less than 5mins walk to Khaosan road where you'll find more expensive hotels that are mostly not as nice as Thara House. We have paid 450 baht in high season and 400 baht during low season, this is their cheapest double without a window but includes tv, air con, 2x bottle water, toilet paper, 2x soap, 2x shampoo, safety box with room for your own pad lock. The room cleaned adding fresh towels each day. It's a small room but adequate for our needs and you could have a window room for 100 baht extra. The service is usually nothing over the top but occasionally super friendly if that's the mood that day. The rooms are a little rough around the edges but for a budget option the price is more than fair, we paid alot more in Bangkok for alot less than this hotel. The standards from our first stay to now seem to have slipped a little as during this recent stay the room doesn't smell as fresh following the cleaner and we find long black hairs every day all over the room floor and in our bathroom which is'nt nice to clean other peoples hair left from the cleaners mop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at Thara House twice (for more than a week at a time) over the last three years. It can be relied upon for affordable, clean, air-conditioned rooms. On each occasion we have opted for the double room with window for 500 baht.

Last time we were there (June 2011), we did notice that the bedding was beginning to date - although it was clean, the mattress was overly soft and uncomfortable.

There is free wifi and cable TV in all the rooms. Unfortunately the restaurant that used to be attached to the hotel (Take A Seat) has moved a few doors down, which has somehow made it lose its appeal because it wasn't nearly as busy as it used to be.

The hotel staff are straightforward and honest and the hotel is in a great location, close to the Khao Sahn action, without being too close! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara House

Address: 100-100/1 Phra Arthit Road | Chanasongkhram. Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thara House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.