We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & enjoy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wave

The Wave
199/1 Rat Burana, Bangkok 10140, Thailand
+66(0)24273341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 7,821 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chiba Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relax & enjoy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The place is a little away from the city center of Thailand.
However, it is worth to go. Price has been good kept. Service and food, very good.
And good views and good music. We would spend a relaxing evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    82
    21
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I have visited the restaurant again. It's stil excellent and offered good services.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had the best dinner, Thai food. Spicy and juicy.its great food and reasonable price. Foreigners who get there always will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great food and cheap, no many European travellers in there and popular wth local Thai,s - always a good sign. Point at the menu and smile you cant go wrong

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great river location, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is a little out of the way but its worth the effort to find it.
The location overlooking the river is great, the food is very good and so is the service, its very hard to fault anything with this place.
Its quite a big venue but it is popular so it would pay to book particularly on a Saturday night.
Overall a great place and I would happily eat there again and take my friends

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Style and substance without compromise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Wave is a little way out of Central Bangkok - but a 15 minute taxi ride from The Peninsula (about 80b) is well worth the effort.

Situated on a quiet stretch of the Chao Praya river it looks like an open plan barn with lots of concrete and neon lights - but don't let that put you off. The place was busy - packed with local people tucking into great looking thai food - which is always a good sign. Live music from a local duet added to the ambiance.

Although we turned up without reservation, we were quickly found a table and then moved to one right by the river when it became available - a lovely spot. Our meal included chicken in coconut soup, sun dried pork, spicy chicken wings and a crispy morning glory salad. All the dishes were fresh, tasty and best of all - authentically thai spiced.

Service was attentive without being intrusive - and the reason became obvious when we detected an experienced hand from a well known 5* hotel running front of house.

Prices were very reasonable for Bangkok - and despite being busy, we were not hurried in any way.

All in all a fantastic evening, excellent food, great location - so good we have booked in for our last night in Bangkok.

Well worth a visit for those who love real Thai food with a proper chilli kick!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wave also viewed

 

Been to The Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.