We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely northern Thai good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gedhawa

Gedhawa
24 Sukhumvit 35 Rd. Wattana, Bangkok, Thailand
02-662-0501
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 7,877 restaurants in Bangkok
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Homely northern Thai good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It's down soi 35 sukhumvit about 500 m . Opposite emporium next to phom prong bts .

Quiet and homely cooking , not pretentious which I found refreshing after alot of restaurants in Bangkok .

Seemed busy with locals as well as foreigners - excellent and fragrant green Thai curry .
Great price too - i ll go again but
I hope they don't get too busy as its perfect quiet restaurant .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    42
    24
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I only have a few nights in Thailand so did some research and decided to give Gedhawa a go. I had no problem finding the place, but almost gave up en route as the walk up Soi 35 was completely dark and I was on my own. But wow, once I got there I was in for a treat. Delightful atmosphere, friendly service, reasonable prices and the best Thai food I've ever had. Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely return if I ever get the chance, but next time will go by cab.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Food delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The restaurant is down soi 36 of Sukhmivit rd out of the way but worth searching for. They have the best Northern Thai food that I have had with great vegetarian options. The size is small and it fills up for lunch and dinner. It is best to make a reservation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The only negative about this small place is finding it. The food is exquisite, better than any Thai food we've had in either Calif or Hawaii. The mom cooks it up, two daughters serve, and it's almost a crime how cheap & reasonable the prices are. We gave it 5 stars, and only because we couldn't give it more, and the rating has nothing to do with the cheap prices, but rather with the fantastic Thai food you are going to savor with every forkful or chopstick full. Do yourself a favor if you're in Bangkok, and as foodies we totally vouch with confidence you, too, will come away a Gedhawa aficionado!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had delightful dinner at Gedhawa this evening. We had the cucumber salad, the northern Thai sausage and a northern Thai chicken curry. The salad was fine and both of the northern Thai dishes were quite good.

Unlike other reviewers, we had no trouble finding the place. Simply walked down Sukhumvit to Soi 35 and then up (north) to #24. Even though it was a Saturday night and we did not have a reservation, we were seated immediately. The price was very reasonable - 570 Baht for a large beer, two bottled waters, an order of sticky rice and and the above food. The waitress spoke little English, but the menu is in both Thai and English and helpfully has pictures of the dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gedhawa also viewed

 

Been to Gedhawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gedhawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.