We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Asadang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Asadang to your Saves list
The Asadang
94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at Asadang for 3 nights in June and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling in Bangkok in hopes of seeing the city. Excellent location within walking distance of attractions. Service is immaculate with Chitlada and the rest of the staff helping us with everything. Breakfast was excellent with a different exotic fruit each day....we were also given lemongrass juice upon arrival and the option to order iced coffee or tea in the afternoon free of charge. The room we stayed in was large, had a nice bathroom and an air conditioner which worked great. We thought the best part about our whole stay was the atmosphere created at Asadang as the building itself is incredibly restored and beautiful. There is no spa or swimming pool at this hotel and there are only a couple rooms so if you are looking for a large hotel chain or a premier business hotel this is not it. But if you're looking for an authentic place to stay with outstanding service try Asadang.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    32
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
89
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

If you wish to stay in the historic centre of Bangkok, but are not particularly drawn to the backpacker scene, then the Asadang is a good choice. The accommodation is beautiful, service is perfect with a balance between being helpful a d attentive without being overwhelming. This is a charming boutique hotel which is run by genuinely lovely people. You are within walking distance to significant temples, museums, the flower market and a pier to the river.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Fantastic b&b! Great location, very friendly and helpful owners, great breakfast, beautiful house and very comfortable rooms... what else do you need?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I have been traveling to Bangkok for the past 20 years and for the first time we felt off the beaten path. The location of the Asadang is central to Wat Po and The Grand Palace....about a 10 minute walk....and yet we felt so removed from the Bangkok that we had always known.

We were warmly greeted on our arrival. Our room that was selected for us by the owner, Chitada, was so nicely appointed. The staff that serves you an excellent breakfast and who takes care of your every need was incredibly gracious and accommodating.

If you'd like to experience a slice of Bangkok that you most tourists don't see when they're in this city, I recommend that you stay at the Asadang.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at The Asadang twice in two months (in April and again June 2011), at the beginning and end of an eight week trip to South East Asia, and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The location is fantastic for those interested in Bangkok’s heritage, five minutes walk away from the Royal Palace and Wat Pho. We visited the more modern areas of Bangkok where most of the hotels are (Sukhumvit, Silom, etc.) several times and found them quite souless and sometimes seedy. The Old City where the Asadang is feels more authentic somehow. As other reviewers have said Taxi drivers find it hard to find, despite the really good map The Asadang provide complete with instructions in Thai. I would strongly recommend asking your Taxi driver to phone the hotel en route for directions.
The hotel itself is a ‘heritage hotel’ and has been beautifully and tastefully restored - it really does look like it’s straight out of the pages of Elle Décor! Our room, room Lod or 8, was one of the smallest doubles and was located at the back of the building over the canal. Although small, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom very nicely done. There is quite a bit of loud music from the families who live along the canal, but happily it stops by the evening, and nights were pretty peaceful. Our only gripe with the room was that there was no hand soap – not much to complain about really!
The staff at the Asadang were great. Extremely competent and keen to help. The breakfasts were delicious: yoghurts, croissants, interesting fruit and other treats. Every afternoon when we returned to the hotel we would be served complimentary coconut ice cream and tea too! When it came to leave, on both occasions, Chitlada allowed us to stay on in our room until the evening, as our flight wasn’t until midnight – we can’t thank her enough for this!
Chitlada’s recommendations for restaurants and things to do were also excellent, especially the Supatra River house restaurant.
All in all it felt like being a guest in someone’s, very stylish, well-located home. I can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Two family members and I attended a wedding in southern Thailand and on the return trip spent two nights in Bangkok at this B & B. Friends at the wedding recommended this place and we weren't disappointed. Great location as it is near the Grand Palace.
Especially found the staff professional yet friendly . The owner was generous enough to let us use her personal laptop to check our email. The late afternoon tea was very nice and e breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Lovely boutique guest house in the old town area of Bangkok. Very close to all the sights of Ratanakosin so an ideal base for walking.

Service in the hotel is excellent, we were well looked after by the owner Chitlada and her staff, especially Chaiya. We had a minor issue with the window in our room not closing properly but that was quickly resolved, and although our room looked out onto a road we were not disturbed by traffic noise.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and while it's not cheap by Bangkok standards, the service is exceptional, we were allowed a late check out (8pm) at no additional cost.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Asadang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Asadang

Address: 94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asadang is the sister B&B of The Bhuthorn, Bangkok. It's converted from a century-old shophouse that already registered to The Fine Arts Department. The property is located in the center of Bangkok Historical area with walking distance to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, National Museum, Flower Market amd much more. There're 9 rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, and access to WiFi Internet. Each room is decorated with antique furniture, Thai craft, and hand woven silk and cotton. Our goal is to offer our guests the atmosphere of old-time Bangkok while traveling in this big and colorful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Asadang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Asadang Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Asadang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.