We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Arun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sala Arun to your Saves list
Sala Arun
47-49 Soi Ta-tien, Maharat Road | Phraborummaharajchawang, Phranakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a treat after three weeks travelling in Cambodia. The room which we had - The Lana - was great, especially at night when we sat on the balcony overlooking the river and Wat Arun. I found it interesting early in the morning too, having a coffee while watching an enormous fish directly beneath the balcony, and the boats starting to ply the water. One tip: if leaving to go to the airport ask for a metered taxi rather than the fixed charge cab that the receptionist will offer. Meter is a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
62
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had originally booked Arun residence but changed plans due to the Bangkok flood situation and rooms were booked out there so we stayed at Sala Arun. We were pleasantly surprised and would choose to stay at Sala Arun again. This is an interesting area with a mix of Chinese stores and back alleys at the front door and an amazing view of Wat Arun from the balcony. The staff are friendly the decor is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a nice room with a view and the service was polite and helpful. It was quaint with a great location in the old city (if you're there to see the sights vs party). It was a little pricey by Bangkok standards (for what we got), but we were on our honeymoon and it fit the bill nicely.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of Wat Arun
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This B&B is a sister residence to Arun Residence within the same vicinity. Arun had been sold out, so we tried this B&B. The hotel is hidden within a commercial street, and the back of the hotel faces the river and the lovely Temple of Dawn. Once you step out into the commercial street from the B&B you are overtaken by daily sounds of commerce, infused with food and spice odors, and assaulted by the buzzing of people moving among the stree. Inside the B& B it is lovely decorated, it was appealing, colorful and the staff very pleasant. Not everyone was fluent in english, but for the most part they spoke or found someone to help out with any inquiries. The room was fabulous,comfortable, spacious with a balcony. We did find the bed a slightly hard, even for Thailand standard. The bathroom was spacious, great water pressure, nice consistent hot water. The room had a TV and a safe deposit box. The breakfast was great, in fact the best we had in all of Thailand in any B&B. Pechy part of the front desk personnel was great and made our stay delightful. They were very accomodating, they provided an early breakfast for us when our tour took us out of the B&B at 7:00 am. This B&B definitely was worth the money. Very important download the B&B instruction (map) and take it with you at all times-Taxis do not know how to get here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Accidentally found this hotel. The nearby surrounding may be a bit junky, but the inside is good. The view of Wat Arun on the otherside of the river and Wat Pho's three pagodas on the same side is bafulous and very impressive.

Pakan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

However, the entry is at the end of an alley that is some kind of loading dock area and not very inviting and there is no elevator. The taxi drivers did not know the address. On the plus side, the views are killer views and the staff is very nice. The rooms are very comfortable. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

3 years ago we visited the Arun Residence in Bangkok. Now recently married, we wanted to go back to this charming hotel, were we had our first vacation together. The Arun residence was fully booked, but instead we were offered to stay at the newly opened Sala Arun (3 months old) – which is a part of The Arun residence as we understand it – and only two streets away (soi’s).
The Sala Arun calls itself a Bed and Breakfast, and has a small reception area, a café, with a small deck/terrace to the river. It has only 6 rooms and a suite (our count) and is situated down a narrow ”soi”, but facing the river.
When you walk down the ”soi”, you think that this just has to be wrong – but suddenly this little bed and breakfast appears, as a bit of sunshine on a cloudy day. Its interior is welcoming, modern but with a mix of both new and old artifacts, that makes it really cosy and warm.
The Sala Arun is situated in walking distance of the the Royal Palace, Reclining Buddha, emerald Buddha, Amulet Market, Wat Arun (across the river) and other spectacular sites. If you’re in Bangkok for sightseeing – this is the place to stay.
We were on our honeymoon, so we went ”all in” and went for the suite on the 4th floor – and we were not dissapointed. The suite was really spacious with a big bathroom and terrace facing the river and the Wat Arun. The room itself had a large bed (soft for asien standards – hard for western), sofa and a dining area. The terrace had both a hammock and sitting area. The view over the river and the Wat Arun is spectacular, especially in the evening and night were the Wat Arun is fully lightened. You can watch the river traffic (and the tour boats at night) – and you feel like sitting next to it all, but still quite private.
We think that you need to get a room on the 3rd floor or the suite on the 4th floor to get the best view, and remember to ask for a room facing the river, as it seems that some of the rooms is facing the ”soi”, and thats just not that charming.
The staff was really friendly and helpfull, and made us feel welcome. From a menu you choose your breakfast the day before you’ll get it. We think it’s made in the Arun Residence and then brought from there. We where in a bit of a hurry on the day of our departure, and therefore it was a bit annoying that the breakfast was delayed, so when it arrived we had to eat it very fast. Otherwise we think that everything else about this little gem in the middle of Bangkok was perfect, and we will hopefully go back another time.
Note 1: The Sala Arun is situated next to the river, so there can be heavy boat traffic and a bit of noise, and it's also bangkok and the river is not beautiful blue, but can contain various types of trash - so you have to abstract a bit from this - it doesn't bother us - but maybe you think different. It's also a good idea to get a printed driving description in thai and a phone number - get it at the the www.arunresidence.com - the taxi drivers can have a bit of difficulty finding the place.
Note 2: The Sala Arun offers airport pickup, but it's much cheaper to go by official taxi. Always go by taximeter even if the driver suggest another price - by taximeter it will be 350 to 400 bath from the airport to the hotel, including payment for the highway - the driver usually suggests a price around 500 bath!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sala Arun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Arun

Address: 47-49 Soi Ta-tien, Maharat Road | Phraborummaharajchawang, Phranakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SalaArun is an opulent boutique hotel located in the middle of Ratanakosin Island. The hotel's classical Asian contemporary facade hides a wealth of rich colors and modern facilities. Lush brocade upholstery and paintings compliment Turkish glass chandeliers creating a cozy welcoming home in the heart of Bangkok. All attractions including Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha Temple, Flower Market are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. Temple of Dawn is opposite Sala Arun - across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sala Arun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Arun Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Arun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.