We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Ohm rocked” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naj Thai Cooking School

Naj Thai Cooking School
42 Convent Rd. | Opp. BNH hospital, Silom, Bangkok 10500 , Thailand
+66 263210046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 465 Activities in Bangkok
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For hundreds of years Thai cooking wisdom has been passed down from generation to generation. We continue this custom by offering Thai cooking classes to carry on the Thai homemade culinary tradition while, nonetheless, enhancing the art of living and well-being. Naj Cooking School offers "Thai Cooking classes" with an authentic Thai Taste & home style cooking environment.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Chef Ohm rocked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We loved the experience that Chef Ohm provided today at his cooking school. He had everything ready to go and took us through not only how to cook but also the reasons behind many of the names. He taught us in a way that we cooked the best Thai dinner we have had in the 3 weeks while here in Thailand. His method was amazing and we will be back next time for an additional course with different items. We left completely stuffed as well and had tons of leftovers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“An apple for the teacher.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Six of us spent a delightful afternoon with Chef Ohm at The Naj Thai Cooking School. Ohm was courteous, kind and professional as we struggled with new cooking techniques. His kitchen was immaculate. I think I washed my hands 6 times. Our dishes were Tom Kai Gai, Pomello Salad, Golden Bags (tricky) and Penang Curry Beef. Do not hesitate to go there for enriching experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great fun and educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We followed an afternoon course in a class of 12 people and prepared 3 dishes including a chicken green curry and a Pad Thai. Our teacher was a very enthusiastic young cook who made the afternoon great fun and educational for both myself (trouble with a boiled egg) and my wife (a top cook). We certainly plan to follow up back home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a good chance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I just found this place by chance, going to a massage centre in a very nice part of Bangkok and I was attracted by the simplicity and charme of the entrance premises to the Cooking school and to the restaurant. It’s a really pretty and nice place
It has been a nice experience with a clever young cook, to be introduced to the wonders of Thai cuisine. He is skilful and kind and his recipes with the balanced mixture of ingredients are very tasty. This cooking lessons must be tried out!! Food is part of the culture of people and it should be understood with the help of experts. Eating in fast foods or in places for tourists is not good. You do not perceive the wealth, the imagination and the essence of a nation. The only thing is that it isn’t always possible to reproduce Thai cuisine with the fresh ingredients this young cook uses for his dish. He pick up them from his garden or bys them at the daily market. Anyway, it is worth attending his lessons.
Leaves, herbs, flowers, scents and spicy elements melt in unique wonders where your tongue tries hard to survive not to be overwhelmed!. We had the opportunity to prepare : “ tom yum soup” with the flavour of seafood, mushrooms and herbs. And to eat the soup, of course. And also we were told how to use chilli that can be too strong for plates that are not Thai ones. The second main dish was Green curry with fresh coconut milk. And no oil at all. It turned out to be a gorgeous cream-like curry, creamy and spicy according to each one’s taste. Finally we were guided to cook a Phad Thai with noodles and seafood . The noodles becoming crunchy as they should be and the seafood not overcooked in order to release all its sea depth flavour..

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Naj Maybe a Fantastic cooking school by day. By Night its one of BKK's sublime eatery’s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have spent 6 days with Khun Ken from Naj cooking over the past few months & the set up is just fantastic!! You can ask lots of questions & you get great answers... They truly are a talented group of cooks, These tasty Thai dishes are handed down a generation from Mother Naj which ads to there perfection. There tasty well thought out dishes with a great cook teaching them. I have sat in many cooking classes in Bangkok & Naj cooking school truly stands out. I'll be there again next month!!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naj Thai Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Naj Thai Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naj Thai Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.