We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like new york” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BKK Bagel Bakery

BKK Bagel Bakery
518/3 Maneeya Center North | Ploenchit Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 254 8157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #434 of 8,068 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Bagels, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Two friends, one American and one Thai decided that Bangkok needed real bagels. Not more donuts or rolls, but New York style bagels. A bagel that with every bite you get that New York chew we all love and search for while abroad. After a few months, the dream of bringing bagels to Bangkok came true. BKK Bagels are hand rolled, boiled and baked to perfection. The bagels are paired with uniquely flavored, handmade "schmears." Also available are deli-inspired, gourmet sandwiches made with bagels or fresh home made bread and deli meats that are cured and smoked in house.
dar es salaam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just like new york”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

great food! just like new york. a must visit. nice place to sit , relax and experience american culture

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good tuna melt but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

what's with the overly talkative, eye-liner wearing mincer behind the counter?? Just gimme my bagel and shut up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A dash of New York in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I really miss having bagels for breakfast like I did in the States and this smallish outlet helps with the bagel cravings. There is a variety of bagels available and the selection of schmears provides a choice for most people. We had the sea-salt bagel with Raspberry cream and the Cinnamon Raisin bagel with crunchy peanut butter.

A great choice for breakfast but do beware that seating can be limited on weekends.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional or the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are visiting and staying in the neighborhood, by all means try their bagels. They are good, but they are no better than bagels that are available all over Bangkok. Villa Market sells bagels that are of the same quality and taste and in some cases even bigger. They are 3 bagels for 75 baht. The Bagel Bakery bagels are 35 baht each. Au bon Pain also serves bagels that are just as good and with free butter and jam. The cream cheese and spreads at the bagel bakery are very over priced. It is difficult to duplicate a bagel made here in Asian because the ingredients are not here, especially the quality of the water which is key in making a good bagel. Having lived in New York City, and tasted some of the best bagels, I can attest to that. I did not try the sandwiches, so I can not comment on them, but as far as the bagel itself is concerned, I would not go out of my way to go to the Bagel Bakery when the same is available all over town. The bakery itself is small and when I went not all that clean and the service was not all that friendly. Best to take them with you as I did and eat at home or hotel. I believe they had about 8 or 9 varieties, so a large enough selection to choose one that you like.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“probably the best bagel bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong so we went there for breakfast/ brunch every day. Friendly staff and owner, wonderful bagel!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BKK Bagel Bakery also viewed

 

Been to BKK Bagel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BKK Bagel Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.