We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bangkok City Hotel to your Saves list
Bangkok City Hotel
268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 567 Reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is an excellent location, the closest BTS Skytrain station just a 3 minute walk away. THe staff are friendly and speak good English, and the breakfast was okay. From the skytrain the main malls in the area are just 10 minutes away at the most. The rooms are quite nice and tidy, and very modern looking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    286
    148
    23
    12
See reviews for
114
142
75
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked thru their website for 3 nights / 2 triple rooms. After-booking services is a bit slow (I have to email twice before they answer my queries: no connecting rooms but willing to accommodate my request of same floor for both rooms). Check-in and check-out was a breeze, less than 5-mins! Rooms was ready when we're arrived, slightly after 2pm. We did an early check-out, so there is no line.

PROS
- (Very) clean room and toilet. Hardly any dust or stickiness on the wooden floor (no carpeting).
- Public washing machine available on our floor (6th) but we didn't use it.
- Rooms are cleaned everyday.
- Complimentary 2 bottled drink. Replenished every day, even though we still have not drink the previous two.
- Doorman was smiley and courteous. (Front desk was expressionless though).
- 3 lifts available. When we were there, we hardly have to fight for it.
- If you wish to join the day tour or engage a cab back to airport, a booth is available just beside the lifts. The man there can speak English, Chinese and Malay! (We've booked a 10-seater van to Don Mueang Airport for 1000baht)

CONS
- Air con was set at the lowest but still feel as though it was set on 25C. I didn't report this as my roommates has no qualms about it.
- Found a tiny nymph (baby cockroach) near the toilet door. Wonder where it came from?!

NEARBY LOCATIONS
- Ratchathewi BTS is a 5-7 mins straight walk. (Bear the long stairs! An escalator is available on the other side of the road)
- Siam Paragon & MBK Shopping Mall is just 1 & 2 stations away.
- Platinum Mall & Pratunam Market is a 10-15 min walk. From hotel, turn right and walk straight towards Ratchathewi BTS Station, just before arrival you'll see a zebra crossing. Cross the road and walk straight.
- 7-Eleven is right beside the hotel.
- For Muslim travellers, there are two Halal restaurants across the street (Mak Yah Muslim Restaurant & Farida Fatornee). From hotel, turn right and walk straight towards Ratchathewi BTS Station. Keep looking towards your left side, till you see Mak Yah's vibrant yellow signboard. Cross the street. (Be careful!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pretty cheap for a hotel in Bangkok that is pretty accessible to almost everywhere. For example, platinum mall is a 10-15 stroll from the hotel. They allow early check-ins without any questioning and charges which is good for those arrive early in bangkok. The room itself is great too.. Toilet comes with a bath tub and the entire building probably has access to WiFi(although you probably have to keep logging in everything you enter a new hotspots)
the only downside is the buffet breakfast. Was expecting much more from this hotel. For one, there isn't any egg station and selections is pretty limited.. Probably you can head out for some breakfast around the hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi is everywhere is you worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

By no means is this place terrible, but it is terribly average. The rooms are nice and clean, toilets are big and spacious with a bath tub, TV has decent channels. It's all your usual amenities. Although depending on which room you get, you may wind up with quite a dark room due to lack of windows.

Location is not the best - unless you are ready to walk. It's actually a little far from MBK, Platinum, Siam Paragon etc, about 15-20 min walk. To get to the nearest BTS you still have to climb a mountain of stairs. You get used to it, but it's not for those with children or the elderly.

The area around it is not too bad, lots of street food, but no nightlife/vendors selling clothes etc. The buffet is okay but there's a severe lack of tables and it's chaos every morning unless you wake up really early.

No problems with the internet despite the hassle of getting new passwords everyday.

Well, you get what you pay for, so I suppose it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's quiet nice hotel to stay if you like to have shopping with low price and midle quality goods.
you could walk and use BTS for populars shopping malls with low-midle price with midle quality items. This Hotel was more flexible to have add amenities, the room was clean with wood floor however we just had difficulties due inability of communication of the staffs, mostly about english spoken, only front liner staff spoke with good english.
In general this Hotel is good to stay. Cheers

Room Tip: better to have corner room with bigger size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yes location is about 300m to Rachathewi BTS - climbing the BTS stairs here is not meant for the aged ones. At night there are food stalls selling seafood. Most of them selling the same dishes. They are prob just 50ft apart. A little dark at night around the hotel area. No cafes around if you're the type like me who likes to drink coffee at night. A dead place I wld say at night.
However nothing annoys me most was the free Internet. You will be given a coupon with the ID and password. It's written there it will only last for 7 days. That didn't bother me but the Internet is not stable. And each time it gets cut off you need to go to lobby to get a new coupon. Remember it's one gadget per coupon. I had to get 3 for my iPhone, BB and iPad.
Don't bother calling the reception - no one answers.
Breakfast is value for money.
Walls a bit thin. Can hear other guest slamming

Room Tip: I stated I prefer twin beds. They gave me a double bed and didn't even say anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend who previously stayed here when they visited Bangkok. Upon reviewing the posts from tripsadvisor, we decided to stay here.... and thank goodness we did.

Pros:
The hotel is generally clean. We paid around 1,200 TH/room/night so I wasn't expecting that much. But I was so surprised with the cleanliness of our room, and much more impressed with the restroom. Pretty much all of the rooms have the basic amenities that you need - electric kettle, cups & saucers, glasses, mini-fridge, and tissue papers. The bathroom has towels, hair dryer, mini soaps, shampoos, shower caps & shower gel. The shower was hot & cold and was functioning perfectly. The big bathtub was a bonus! The hotel also has a swimming pool (I forgot what level, but I think it was Level 5).

The price we paid include buffet breakfast - what more can we ask for? The food are decent but the coffee was my favorite!

Location wise, this place is very close to everything. It's along the road so you can just hail a cab or ride a tuktuk. There are restaurants and 7-eleven nearby and a night market so you won't get hungry here. The hotel itself offer food delivery to the room just in case you're too lazy to walk. There are also salons that offer spa & massage just next to the hotel.

Cons:
Language barrier is the only issue that I had but I think it's all over Thailand. The staff were so helpful and they were trying to answer our questions as much as they can. The staff even took a message for me from the tour guide that we hired even before I arrived at the hotel. Wi-fi is also available in our rooms, but it doesn't work on the lobby, though they have some desktop machines that you can use.

Overall, this place is wonderful and if I ever go back to Bangkok, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.