We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in center of bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bangkok City Hotel to your Saves list
Bangkok City Hotel
268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money in center of bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I choosed this hotel after a lot of research on tripadvisor , and i won't regret my decision, Centrally located , walking distance from phaya thai airport link ( from airport 20 min drive via airport link MRT ), 15 min walking distance from MBK mall, rooms are of comfortable size , try to get higher floor to be away from noice of traffic.
Breakfast has wide range from bread , noodles, eggs , rice , juice n much more , however breakfast space is small hence you have to come early to get seat to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    284
    148
    23
    12
See reviews for
113
141
75
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I traveled to bangkok with my wife for over a week and we had try three different hotel,with the similar room rate,but we found that this one is the best one,the location is excellent cause its near to a bts (sky train) so we easily can go around bangkok,or you can take a 15 minute walk you can get to siam square,and they have the great breakfast ever with their rate I think its a plus!,and the room was a ok, well the mattras is kinda hard like we sleep on a stone but I think that's an orthopedic mattras over all its worthed of money and we enjoyed stayed here for sure,ill be back here and this hotel had been listed one of my favorite!..ooo btw I think the receptionist need to smile more lol..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location near BTS ratchadewi, good value for money however the management need to review the front line staffs attitude who are very rude. And service quiet lousy. We booked 8 rooms and while checked in 2 rooms were still being cleaned until 4.30pm even 1 room the aircon was spoil. Wondering if the management do the quality check for the furnitures and fixtures....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a direct booking in this hotel in march 2013, its a very nice property brand new hotel ,located in phittchpuri soi 8, all shopping arcades r local 10 min walk to IT mall , indra mkt, Pentium plaza, best for indians to stay there, nice rooms at very reasonable price, buffet breakfast very healthy n delcious, worth staying there, good for family , no hunky bunky, hope to stay there again .

Room Tip: choose road side room , on 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

With the price we payed, we got a great deal :) Has good clean room, spacious bathroom and nice view of the city! Only a 5-minute walk to the BTS Ratchathewi station, and from there, only 1 stop to Siam square. Breakfast was basic but buffet-styled. Service is good. We'll book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We did our booking through Agoda which was marginally more expensive than booking direct from the hotel itself. We are grateful to the people who have reviewed this hotel and given us some form of warning of what to expect. This is ours. Checking in was not a problem and the lady serving us was pleasant enough - all over in a couple of minutes. We got Room 1611 with a view. The room was spacious enough and happy to report that everything was working very well in the room - absolutely nothing to complain about. There were enough English channels on TV as well. We came down for breakfast at about 6.45am (supposed to start at 7am) and there were people already eating whatever that was served - the sausages and eggs arrived at 7am. There were 2 versions of noodles, fried rice, porridge and a chicken stir fry with the usual salad, bread, fruits and drinks. Why people complain about the breakfast is beyond me. If you don't like it go stay at a 5 star hotel instead!!! Anyway everyone who came for breakfast had a place to themselves - perhaps the hotel was not fully booked. We went out after that and when we returned at noon the room was cleaned and towels replaced. Again quiet efficiency. Apart from an occasional bang of the room door in the middle of the night (expected) all was quiet and fine. Here is a tip - when you check out try and get a group of four heading to the same airport and it will be substantially cheaper when booked with the travel agent in front of the lift (Mr. Chen). 4 of us to Don Maung costs 400 baht only. We cannot fault this hotel for the price we paid and it was certainly value for money. BTS was about 10 minutes walk (senior citizen's pace) and from there one can go to Siam Paragon (next station) and Terminal 21 which is about 4 stations on. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again on our next visit to BKK and those looking for accommodations for a value for money hotel should seriously consider and give this one a try.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Location wise: It's somewhat near to the main shopping area (Platinum mall, pratunam market) if you think walking for 15 minutes is fine for you. But do take note that in hot Bangkok weather, you will hardly want to walk that distance. Often you will rather take the taxi or tuktuk.

Hotel itself:
The hotel has rather clean rooms I would say. But the floor in the toilet is not slanted appropriately so you will see that the water doesn't flow away that easily. Other than that toilet is clean I suppose. They change your towels daily and make your bed daily. in my 4 nights stay there they didn't change the bedsheets at all though. The aircon in the room is also not cold enough and only when in the middle of the night does it gets comfortably cold. They came to service our air con but it didn't seem to have any effect.
The corridors and lift has very poor ventilation and its so hot. imagine coming back from a hot day of shopping and still facing a humid hotel in the lift? nono. There's only 3 lifts serving up to 20 floors. When one lift was not in service, it was hell and everyone waited very long for the lift. Bad to those ppl who stayed around the 14 floor because by the time the lift got to those levels there was barely any space for them to enter anymore.
Hotel staff were friendly like the bell boy and the guy who helps you get taxi. Front counter reception has poor service though.
Breakfast was ok if you don't care too much about variety I guess.

Overall, if you don't mind the above points I mentioned it should be a rather ok hotel?
I would love to try another hotel on my next bkk trip though.

Room Tip: Choose a low level room so you wont have to take the lift for so long. In case of lift break down yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.