We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but 1 Lady Receptionist is RUDE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bangkok City Hotel to your Saves list
Bangkok City Hotel
268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but 1 Lady Receptionist is RUDE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

we had a nice stay in the hotel for 3 nights. the check-in was smooth and easy. the taxi service was cheap for a roundtrip airport-hotel-airport service for 5 pax. the room was clean but small for a triple person booking. Breakfast was fine though. I just dont like the attitude of one lady receptionist unlike the others were so friendly. She treated me with a rude behaviour. Just tellin her that we want the taxi service to take us to the airport but unexpectedly shower a pathetic manner towards me and making me feel I'm a very ignorant person. I dont get the connection there to be honest.

Room Tip: Never lose your receipts or else Hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    284
    148
    23
    12
See reviews for
113
141
75
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel's signage outside is not very obvious but found it after passing it once. Front office check in was a little slow but at least they spoke some English. I've booked the king size beds hence the bed was big, room was huge, toilet was huge but lack of hangers and holders, free wifi in room and lobby and tv channels suck. Breakfast is provided and for the price of the hotel, it's actually quite good. BTS station is about 300m walk and only one stop to Siam Paragon and 2 stops to MBK. 7-Eleven is just on the left as you exit the hotel, and the little road next to it has got the best street food, but choose your clean stalls carefully. Do not take cabs or tuk tuk because the road in front is always jam. If need to, a trip from MBK or Siam Paragon should not cost more than 41baht. Cab drivers will not go by meter even though their meter signs are turned on. Their opening price will start from 200baht! Do not support such cheats, take the BTS!

Overall a very value for money hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift or laundry area... Very noisy when you have inconsiderate neighbors who th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here with a a small kid and booked the standard room. The room provides just what you pay for per night rental. It has all the amenities including free wifi(though i couldnt connect), one hour of free computer usage at the reception area and Free Breakfast!!!! Though the breakfast wasn't a very lavish one with loads of variety but still it was just what a decent breakfast should have.

I liked the bathroom which had a bath tub to my surprise. Since the hotel is newly built, you can expect it in good condition .

Location is another advantage. Its walking distance (of 15-20 mins) to Prathunam, Indira Market and Platinum Mall, so there you can save some pannies if you love walking.

It has a decent pool on 5th floor (not sure about the floor) ....

All in all a good place to stay....

Room Tip: I stayed in the room with a big window giving a view of the city from height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and I would say this hotel is really good with its location+price+clean room. The breakfast is value added(can't expect too much as u only pay 1200baht for the room) and I really appreciate the clean room. 

The location is good, it's about 10 mins walk from Ratchatawi BTS and Phaya Thai airport railway station. Their staffs are all very friendly too, just tell them where u want to go and they will stop a taxi and bargain the best price for u. And in most of the case, they will ask the taxi driver to go by meter.

I rated 5 stars for it 3 stars price of room. Hope it will maintain the standard. Will definitely recommend this hotel to my friend if they are looking at cheap hotel with great location + clean room in Bangkok city .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It is surely is a great spot in BKK, 5 min walk to BTS ratchatawi station. Cleanliness was ok worthy of the price we pay 1200 thb incl breakfast. Breakfast was really nothing special and no replenish of food, and it wouldn't help if you arrive after a big tour group! Reception was ok, the best way to put it is that they would go the extra mile to help you. You will need deposit for the room key of 100 thb. Oh and the bed was hard and the wall was paper thin (so you can hear your neighbour showering).

Room Tip: No early check in allowed, but can leave the bag at the concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have stayed here now several times totally over 30 days since they opened. Unfortunately, the hotel was built cheaply with some mistakes and that is now showing after just a couple of years. Bathrooms look cool but are not very practical. No shower curtain so water on the floor. Poorly done faucets with leaks and now I have seen some mold. Strange sinks with faucets made to spill water onto counter top. Also some ac problems, not good in Bangkok, from not working to water leaking, watch your head at some of the breakfast tables or walking to the elevators. Coffee makers and toasters sometimes not working too good at breakfast and don't forget to grab what you see since it might be gone quickly. Breakfast is not a leisurely affair here but the opening of the additional area with tables has at least helped. Front desk staff who speak English can sometimes be cold and not very helpful. Don't expect your wake up call on time, probably early, maybe very early like our 5:15 call coming before 5! But, for the price, and if you know these things in advance still recommended, just don't expect a smooth stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in June'12. Perfect place to stay in Bangkok. Phaya Thai Airport Rail Link Station is about a kilometre. All the great malls (Platinam, Panthip Plaza, Siam Paragon) are within walking distance (10 to 15 minutes). Hua Lamphong Railway Station and Grand Palace are not far (taxi fare about 70 to 100 BHT). We stayed in a Family room which was large with all the basic ameneties including free wi-fi. The breakfast was very good with lot of choices. The staffs were very helpful. They have a nice little restaurant with room service. Great value for the services they provided. One of the best budget hotel in Bangkok. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet but avoid corner rooms because of smaller size and poor wi-fi connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12 Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.