We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nouvo City Hotel to your Saves list
Nouvo City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglamphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Buffet Lunch Discount!
Ranked #144 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 298 Reviews
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean & convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July 2012. Comfortable, clean rooms. The famous Thai smile was missing when we checked-in but it could be because we arrived at 1am. Breakfast was simple and sufficient. The staff is a mixed bag- some were very friendly while others were efficient but indifferent. Loved the fact that the hotel is close to several important sights. Walking times – Khao San Road (10 minutes), Grand Palace (15 minutes), Sleeping Buddha (20 minutes). Be wary of the touts along the road who tell you that the Palace / temple you want to see is closed for foreigners right now. We smiled politely and kept walking but they were very persistent. Pay attention to the Lonely Planet guide’s tips on avoiding scams. We felt safe in and around the hotel, day and night. Would definitely stay here again.
Khao San and Rambutri roads have a very large number of dining options but those places also get noisy, especially in the evenings. Eat around this hotel if you want a quieter experience. One of May Kaidee’s vegetarian restaurants (and cooking school) is a 2-minute walk from the hotel. There are a couple of laundries in the lanes in front of the hotel (30 to 40 Bhat / kilo for washing. Ironing extra). You can get a SIM card for your mobile phone and re-charge the talk-time on your phone at the 7-Eleven next door to the hotel (open 24 hours). A taxi ride to the Survanabhumi airport costs around 400 Bhat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear C C,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I have discussed your comment about our staff with our department managers and we will be taking extra care in making sure our night staff have more of that famous Thai smile in the future.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    127
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
38
149
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

stayed at this hotel one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is very clean and modern, the staff are very friendly and offered us advise on how to get to places, they told us how much taxis should cost and to avoid tuk tuk drivers who offered cheap prices for long distances as they would take you to" gem" stores and not let you back onto the tuk tuk untill you bought something. The lack of alcohol served here is a small price to pay asyou are surrounded by bars. The Sara restaurant attached to the hotel is a big let down and should be avoided at all costs, we waited at least one hour for our main course to arrive and we are still waiting for our starter, dont mention the drinks, they were none existant and we only ordered water

Room Tip: all the rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear heypapa,

We are grateful for the insightful review of our hotel, especially regarding our hotel staff.

As for the Sara Restaurant, I would like to personally apologize for the disappointing service that you had received and we will be undergoing internal changes to ensure that all of our guests will receive proper and timely service in the future.

Once again, thank you for your honest and helpful review.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice, modern and clean rooms. It's located in old city town nearby Grand Palace.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices, not only Thai but also European style.
I loved the spa and the pool roof, although there was just beverages around. I definitely come back there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Carmen D,

We are very pleased to hear about your memorable experience in the Nouvo City Hotel and hope to be able to accommodate you again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing the Nouvo City Hotel for your stay in Bangkok.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and thought it was a lovely place to stay in Bangkok. The rooms are very clean and you get free complimentary water every day.
If you want to see Koh San road you just turn left outside hotel then turn left again at the major road. It is the 5th left after this. The grand palace is also on this major road but you keep going straight down.
Be aware of the tuk tuk drivers! They will try and take you to suit shops and other destinations you do not want to go to! Just say no!
Only bads points i would say is the wifi was rubbish in our room and spa was far too expensive. There was a massage place opposite that did a full oil massage for 250 baht compared to the hotels 1000 baht! The gym was very good and I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Jenski-Bob,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay in our hotel and we are pleased to have been of service to you.

In regards to the spa prices, our local area has many shops offering services at lower rates and our rates are based on Bangkok hotel price structures and standards. We are located in an area which gives our guests choice based on budget ranges and our staff will be happy to refer you to a different shop if the hotel's spa does not meet your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

new, clean, and beautiful hotel! located near the kahosan road in the center of Bangkok.
the staff always smiles and ready to help you in every problem!
the wifi is free and fast wherever you are in the hotel including the pool on the roof the gym and the loby.
we stayed there for 4 nights and loved it!

Room Tip: order from the internet and save yourself like 600 thb per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear or b,

We are very pleased to hear about your good experiences in our hotel and even now are still smiling as we read this. We hope that our staff will be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you and hope to see you again!

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is still a new boutique hotel just around the corner of the main attractions of Bangkok. The service is great, the roof pool is a great place to relax after strolling around the city centre. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom spacious and modern. The breakfast was really nice, altough I would rather say it was a morning dinner with a lot of thai and european food to choose from. It was really nice to have recieved an upgrade (travelling with 2 kids).

If you look closer, one can see that the purchased furniture is not the best quality. I fear that in a few months that the rooms might lose a bit on quality ... In addition, the prices of drinks, services are a notch too high in comparison to other hotels, not to mention the street bargains just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Wolszczak,

On behalf of the hotel's staff and management, we thank you for your very kind comments about your stay in our hotel. Our breakfast will be receiving improvements in the upcoming weeks with a wider variety of dishes of higher quality.

We hope to see you again soon!

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for 4 nights. All in all, it was a good place to stay.

The breakfast was good although nothing to write home about and we had some really good steaks on the occassion we felt like some Western food. The room was well appointed and although the wifi was intermittant, it still worked sufficiently for use.

We took advantage of the many tours offered by the agent in the lobby and she was very helpful when it came to helping us out with various things to do and see around the city.

The hotel is Halal - this is made clear - and so we weren't expecting drinks by the pool. We did have some really good fruit shakes by the roof top pool.

I would definately reccommend this hotel to those seeking easy access to the sites around Bangkok while remaining away from the main buzz...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear RyanBCPT,

Thank you for your compliments about your stay at the Nouvo City Hotel. During these periods, we have been doing some minor adjustments to the Internet network in order to ensure fast and stable connections in the future. We are sorry if this may have caused any inconvenience during your stay and hope to make it up to you in a future visit.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nouvo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvo City Hotel

Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglamphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nouvo City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only modern boutique Halal hotel in old city Bangkok area near Khao San Road. The finest in accommodations in the city's city center and palace area with full facilities and located within walking distance to many of the city's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nouvo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvo City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.