We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real French traditional food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Your Guest Restaurant

Be Your Guest Restaurant
24 Sukhumvit Soi 53, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+6622587730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,482 of 7,251 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: French, European, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tired of impersonal and supposed to be trendy dining places? "Bistro Fredo" which was fomerly known as "Be your Guest" restaurant offers authentic provincial French Cuisine in a homely atmosphere. Located in a stylish villa, you are greeted to dine in the colorful dining room, in the cozy living room or in the relaxing terraces surrounded by a tropical garden, near by the pool. Our two chefs (including expat French Chef Fred) are glad to cook traditional and contemporary French and Thai cuisines.Generous, creative and tasty, our passionate chefs cook with their heart and palate. Whatever the occasion, the venue offers traditional recipes as well as pure creation in various cuisines: Classic & contemporary Thai & French, Italian, Spanish, Moroccan, Californian or Healthy. Be your Guest’ Restaurant is opened from Tuesday to Sunday and from 11.00 to 15.00 for lunch and from 18.00 to midnight for dinner. Our pre-booked Hi-Teas are avaialable for discerning guests.Walk-in guests are welcomed however is better to book as the restaurant can be fully booked or privatized. New Set lunch and Set dinner proposed monthly.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real French traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Was at Be you Guest with friends as we heard so many comments that we have to go.
We tried traditional french dishes as Onion soup, Croque Monsieur, Mariniere Mussels, Duck leg confit ... And we discover a tast we never had in Bangkok.
Some dish prices at first sight seems high but as we are not expert in French cuisine the waiters and the chef, speeking Thai, recommend us the traditional dishes to tast and the chef explain us the way he cooked and why the imported ingredient have a particular tast. Finally the total bill is a good value for money for real French cuisine with fresh imported ingredients.
We share our diner in the colorful and confortable living room like we were at a friend place and waiters were always available and smiling with a kind attitude.

We'll have to go back again as we were full and didn't tried the desserts such as Profiteroles, creeps Suzette, creme brûlée and the speciality of the chef the Speculos ice cream.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlanaud, Manager at Be Your Guest Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Bonjour Bangkok G

We are pleased to understand that you had enjoyed your meal and ambiance of the place.

With the new restructuring of the company, the "Be Your Guest" restaurant has now been renamed BIstro Fredo and we have created a new website for that. We are also on linkedin as we have a comprehensive profile created for all the services we provide.

We currently have great La Petite France Set Lunches promotions and we look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant.

Bien Cordialement
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Extremely horrible food, do NOT go there!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I went there with my girlfriend after reading the great reviews here.

But as it is written in the only one honest review: no no no noooooo...

First of all, the place doesn't look great at all, it is old and creepy, both outside and inside.

The service was almost inexistent even though there was only 1 other table.

Regarding the food!!!! Everything was completely overcooked and disgusting! How dare they charge these prices for a pice of crap even a streeg dog would choke on! I had the mussels as an appetizer and it was so overcooked that it was completely inedible!!! Foie gras was completely burned, dry and awful with only plain slices of mango. The duck breast was obviously frozen as it was chewy and completely bland.

To anyone who gave a better score to this place, you are either working there or absolutely nuts!!

Do not go in there, you ae wasting your time and a lot of money as everything was way overpriced!

Do not even bother with the cocktails, if McDonald's made some they would taste better than that.

Worst experience ever in Bkk, DON'T GO THERE

Special note to both the French chef and manager: you guys are fraud!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlanaud, Manager at Be Your Guest Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Bonjour Bangkok Alex 75015

We thank you for your comments that you had posted. We must apologise for the event.

We, the management of restaurant, are extremely concerrned about the comments of the clients like yourself and have proceeded to make changes as the result of your comments. Your comments are of great value to us.

Due to the recent restructuring, we have changed our name to Bistro Fredo and we have created an extensive profile on Linkedin where you are able to find our services that we provide.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show-case to you of our changes and kindly do not hesitate to email us .

Do have a great week ahead.

Bien cordialement,
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cuisine tres fine et rare a Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to Be Your Guest twice to have diner and we really enjoyed it each time.
We also plan to use their catering service for our wedding, and we can ensure that the quality of products and the way it's cooked is really nice! Their cuisine is kind of interesting fusion between French and Thai ( delicious scallops with passion fruit sauce, foie gras with mango..) and the owners and cooks are really kind and passionate people who will enjoy speaking with you and asking for your opinion about their cuisine. Definitely a very sweet experience, ending with an unforgettable dessert, dark chocolate mousse and litchi crumble. I would recommend without a doubt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Authentic European Fusion in the heart of Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best French dishes I have had so far (in Bangkok). Nice place, easy to find/commute by a public transportation (BTS), good service, great hospitality, lovely chef!

By the way, the price tag is pretty high compared to other places in BKK. We paid THB3000 for 3 main dishes and 3 appetizers (the price included 10% service charges + 7% VAT).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlanaud, Manager at Be Your Guest Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Bonjour MS244

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the restaurant.

Yes, the Skytrain - BTS Thonglor is extremely convenient and wherever you are in Bangkok, we are only a stone's throw away. We assumed you had no difficulty finding the Exit 1 which led you to Sukhumvit Soi 53 and a 3 min walk had brought you to the lush gardens of the restaurant.

Due to the recent restructuring, we have now renamed the restaurant "Bistro Fredo" and we have uploaded all our great value Set Lunches, dinners and even TV cooking shows for you to try your hand at cocking these great French dishes. We also have an extensive new profile on Linkedin - Bistro Fredo for your convenience.

Do share this information with your friends on facebook, twitter, pinterest etc

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the restaurant and on your next visit, should you require anything special, do send us an email to us.

Have a great week.

Best Regards
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing Fine French cuisine in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A really nice place for a lunch or a diner with a great decoration and a real atmosphere. Moreover, you will receive a warm welcome. The Chef and the assistant chef are really talented guys. The menu is absolutely incredible, you will find the best french specialities and some creations, that only French chefs have the secret. 100% recommended !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlanaud, Manager at Be Your Guest Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Bonjour Ernest Tito

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the company, ambiance and more importantly the food.

With the recent restructuring, we have now renamed the restaurant "Bistro Fredo" and we have uploaded all the information and TV cooking classes onto our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Restaurant. And dont forget that we have on-site parking and we are only a 3 min walk from the Skytrain - BTS Thonglor.

Please kindly share your experience on facebook, twitter and other social media and should you have any friends coming this way, do write us.

Have a great ahead and keep in touch.

Bien cordialement,
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Be Your Guest Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Be Your Guest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Your Guest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.