We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro... it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro M

Bistro M
90 Sukhumvit Soi 24, Klongton, Klongtoey | Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
6623025555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #684 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, International, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: An upbeat and trendy bistro in downtown Bangkok serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with a mouth-watering menu crafted of Thai and international delicacies.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bistro... it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is not easy to find bistro food while cruising around the Sukhumvit area. Right at the middle of the busy and getting to be a posh street of Soi 24 is Bistro M. The breakfast buffet is packed with in-house and walk-in guests appealing to its ample breakfast choices and modest price. Especially on weekends when I would like to be early for shopping at the Emporium Mall, I would have simple food before or after. I'd go for the usual Thai favorites of pad thai or curry if I'm in the mood for Thai flavors or a simple club sandwich or thin crusted pizza. Do not expect an elaborate setting, it is just your normal hotel coffee shop setting, which is fine by me. A good watering hole in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Looks good from the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The food is ok. It is worth the money, the restaurant looks a lot classier from the outside.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Felt Rushed, Food Generic But Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I ate here for the Sunday breakfast buffet. We arrived 30 minutes before the end of serving time, and the staff was polite about letting us know. I would have been happier if they didn't strike down the entire serving apparatus right at 10:30, as some of us would prefer to take longer than 30 minutes to complete a meal. Even just another 15 minutes would have made a difference for me. Just my opinion.

As for the service and staff, they were ok, but not noteworthy.

The food was pretty good but tasted, well, like your average hotel buffet. The food tasted somewhat mass-produced overall. Even the very Thai pork with bamboo dish was lackluster. I think another reviewer here hit it on the head with the phrase "trying to please everyone". This place is probably perfect for the family of six that includes four picky eaters, where you really need that quality in a restaurant!

Not sure that we'll be back, as we probably aren't the target audience for this place. Besides, there are just way too many truly exciting places to eat in BKK!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding Beef Tenderloin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A friend invited my wife and I to meet him at Bistro M, which is the in-house restaurant at the Marriott Executive Apartments on Sukhumvit Soi 24 in Bangkok. The venue is small, but tasteful, with that smooth sense of service that seems to characterize all Marriott properties in this city.

Unfortunately, we have only eaten at this restaurant once, but it probably does not matter, as we both agree that we will order the same thing in the event that we return: the Australian Beef Tenderloin.

There are many other dishes tempting the hungry gourmand at this restaurant, but we were in the mood for steak, so that is what we ordered. What arrived at our table was a gratifyingly 2.5-inch thick slab of meat four inches in circumference, with what appeared to be a one-inch fat slice of cheese covering the entire top of it like a flat hat. It was not cheese. It was garlic butter. And it slowly melted into the meat. After I stuck the prong of my fork in it and I tasted it, I raised my eyebrows, and I waited until it melted completely.

Sheer genius. The meat was succulent, it was flavorful, and it was perfectly cooked. I felt immediate endorphin bliss as I bit into a piece, and it was one of the best steaks that I have had in my entire life. Surprising, considering that the steak is merely offered like any other menu item, and not featured. The restaurant does not advertise itself as anything more than a in-house restaurant offering an international menu. Where this steak was concerned, the restaurant was clearly punching above its weight class, and I must commend them for it.

The steak came with herb buttered sautéed spinach, and we both ordered it with mashed potatoes rather than with steak fries. That was also a good choice, as the potatoes were very nicely executed. The spinach was ok. It did not ruin the rest of the meal, but it did not elevate it, either.

There is not much else to say. The atmosphere was comfortable and not too warm, and the service was very competent, but that is to be expected in a Marriott restaurant. At 690 baht, the tenderloin is a very strong value. Compare this to what you would pay for a far lesser steak at Sizzler's, or Outback, or worst of all, at Tony Roma's. It is a bargain compared to the steaks offered at dedicated steak houses in the large hotels, or even in the better restaurants like Tenderloin's or Bourbon Street.

I do not know what the overall bill was, considering that my friend was paying, but we all three of us had the Australian Tenderloin, and we all raved about it. We split one bottle of wine among us, and that certainly doubled our total cost. If you go in, order one glass of wine, drink sparkling water, and then order the tenderloin, your order for two will surely come in around 3,000 baht, or $100 USD. It sounds like a lot, and it is, but it is a strong value for Bangkok, considering that the price includes VAT, service charge and tip.

For once, I was not compelled to visit the bathroom facilities, so I cannot comment on them. I will say that the restaurant seemed empty, but that is to be expected, as this Marriott is right across the street from a major seafood venue. It also has to be noted that the concierges in Marriott hotels here commonly refer guests to other venues in the city. I am not sure why, when they have little jewels like this restaurant under their own roof.

I highly recommend this modest restaurant, and I strongly endorse the Australian Beef Tenderloin.

Hope that this helps.

Enjoy! :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good Kids' Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We live nearby and come here regulary with the children for a casual lunch or dinner. The adult menu offers a good spread in Thai and western cuisine. Set lunches are value for money. The kids' menu offers a variety and is also very value for money.

I have ordered 'takeaways' too from the regular menus.

Service is good although recently I noticed the number serving has reduced. Bright open sitting area with glass windows from ceiling to floor facing the street but not in the least noisy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro M also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Bistro M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro M, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.