We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saphaipae Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Saphaipae Hostel to your Saves list
Saphaipae Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   35 Surasak Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on New Year's Eve with my boyfriend. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The place is very secure as you need a key card in order to get to the rooms. We had a double private room which was really spacious and clean. Bed was very comfy and towels, bottled water and some toiletries were provided. Also had large lockers to store backpacks. The bathroom and showers were really clean and we'll thought out as it had a little area before the shower to store your clothes and other items. Would highly recommend and stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    109
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
64
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for 8 days and it was immaculately clean, great attention to detail with individual lamps and plugs for each bed in the dorm, lockers in rooms, hairdryers and powerful showers, good food in the downstairs restaurant and friendly helpful staff. This hostel definitely has hotel standard facilities. Also, its near the metro, making exploring Bangkok easy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Only a night that i spent time in this hostel. I was impressed!! Not only the location that situated near silom and bts surasak, but also the facility in the hostel was perfect! There are spacious resting area such as tv room, coffee bar, living area, pool table etc. Only one dissapointing thing, was they gave only one toothbrush in superior double bed room..

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Best hostel I have ever stayed at! Extra services we got include getting free movies to watch in our room, getting storage location for our bags after checkout, plus the staff were really friendly, nice and even helped us to negotiate with the taxi drivers for a proper deals. For the amount we paid (2900 baht for 4 nights) this was really exceptional (I would even dare to say 5 star like) service standards. I will definitely go back to stay there to stay. The rooms were really clean and well furnished, and the location is really near the BTS(local train service) and a 5 minutes train ride from the main town area. Great for people who want a cheaper hostel but still get hotel-like service and rooms :) Caveat - since this is a hostel, no swimming pool and gym however.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are hotel standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I genuinely have nothing negative to say about this hostel. The washrooms, beds and lockers are huge (you can fit your entire backpack). The bed has a real blanket and you have your own power socket and reading light. They have about 7 or 8 computers you can use for free. Breakfast is included. The staff is extremely helpful and speaks excellent English. They also have an ATM machine in the lobby. The little café next to the reception makes an excellent and cheap cappuccino, so no need for Starbucks. Also, it's only 2min from the BTS station. Most importantly, I felt very safe there. In my opinion a way better option than staying on Khao San road. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My first stay at a hostel so I can't compare to others, but Saphaipae was great. Very clesn and spacious. Like staying at a hotel. Big clean nice bathrooms. Friendly staff. Love the location by the Sky train. Highly recommend for budget travelers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've stayed twice in this hostel. When I arrived in Bangkok and left Bangkok. It is 2 minutes walk from Surasak BTS. It is not near Khao San road but it was never my intention to stay at Khao San.

Check-in was professional and smoothly. The beds are amazing. You have your own poweroutlets and reading light. The rooms have lockers for your backpack. Just bring your own padlock. Or you can buy/borrow one at the reception.

Wifi is freely available throughout the hostel. If you need a normal computer there are 8 computer at lobby area.

The showers and toilets are clean and there are even flowers near the toilets.

If you want to go to the city centre, take the river ferry. It is only 15 baht when you buy the ticket onboard.

I was asked to suggest any points of improvement. I have two: there isn't enought light at the lockers in the dorm rooms. It is difficult to see your stuff in the dark. Second is the -for me forbidden- second floor. I would like to take the stairs instead of the elevator.

Keep up the good work and see you next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saphaipae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphaipae Hostel

Address: 35 Surasak Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saphaipae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sa-phai-pae (sa-phai-pe) is Thai for backpacker. We are the biggest hostel in Bangkok, standing 8 stories tall with 245 beds, right on a quiet corner between Silom and Sathorn road. 5 min walk from Surasak BTS station and 10min walk to Sapan Taksin Boat Pier. - Female Dorm (4-8 beds) - Mix Dorm (2-10 beds) -Private double/twin with shared bathrooms. -Private double room with private shower room (Superior & Deluxe). Saphaipae is ideal for backpackers whom seek the convenience of the heart of Bangkok, and at the same time, to sleep peacefully at night.Hotel Quality at Hostel price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saphaipae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saphaipae Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphaipae Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.