We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saphaipae Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Saphaipae Hostel to your Saves list
Saphaipae Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   35 Surasak Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Esperance, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hostel is very much a large cheap hotel rather than a hostel. It has fantastic facilities, is well located and has very helpful staff. It has some of the most comfortable beds i have ever experienced in a dorm.
For me though it lacks any kind of hostel vibe or atmosphere because its so massive. Its a good base when stopping by in a group, but if your travelling alone it would be less good for meeting people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    109
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
64
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm very impressed about this hostel. The room generally clean (especially on 6th floor), the staff very helpful & friendly, if you want to wash your clothes by yourself, you can use the washing machine that provided in 2nd or 3rd floor (I forgot) in this hostel , I love the pork omelet in the hostel's restaurant, simple food but the taste is delicious, the place is nearby the Surasak BTS Station, so don't worry about the traffic jam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenggarong, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

i have stay at saphaipae for 5 night with my friends. this hostel is very clean and comfortable.
i chose this hostel because very close with BTS Surasak, only 5 minute by walking.
saphaipae hostel have a floor for ladies only, so for woman don't worry if you have to travelling by yourself.
this hostel have a elevator, is not like another hostel in Bangkok that only have stairs for guest.
next vacation, i just plan to stay at Saphaipae again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel very clean and tidy rooms,great common room and restaurant attached to hostel!2 minute walk to sky train,several restaurants and shops located all around the hostel!pool table was great to have and excellent atmosphere in the hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at Saphaipae for 2 nights in June 2013 in the female 8-bed dorm (room 201, I think).
The hostel is centrally located off the Surasak BTS station. It is very easy to get around the city from this location using the BTS.
The beds at Saphaipae are very comfortable and they have a soft blanket. The staff are very helpful. There is a left-luggage room and they let me take a shower after I had checked out.
The reason I didn't give the hostel 5 stars is because there was a musty smell in my room that didn't go away and the AC tended to make one corner of the room very cold.
These were small issues and this is overall a great hostel that provides very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went here earlier this week when I went to Bangkok after coming from Hua Hin. Like what the other comments, it looked more like a hotel than a hostel, which kind of intimidated me at first walking in with my big bag. The team at the front desk were really nice and they accommodated every inquiries that I had.

The rooms were nice and very clean. They have lockers for your items but if you want to secure your stuff, you need to buy the lock and key from the front desk or just bring your own. The rooms and beds are cleaned everyday at noon. I chose the room with less people (4 in a room Jatujak floor), it's 100 baht higher than the shared room with a lot of people.

The shared shower area and rest rooms are also cleaned daily, which is a good thing. It's wide and has a nice ventilation so you won't have to worry about stinky stuff. They also have a laundry area, smoking patio for the smokers, and a tv room.

They also have a restaurant at the first floor where you can eat. It's also open for non-guests of the hostel. They have a lobby where you can hang out and play (they have a billiard and some other stuff you can play) and some internet stations where you can surf.

The place is conveniently located near the BTS Surasak, a proper 5 minute walk from the station and you'll see the guest house along Surasak road. The 7-11's are a bit far though, and the street foods are found at the other side of the BTS station if you wish to eat cheap, as the area is bound by expensive hotels.

I'll definitely book with Saphaipae again in the future because I really love this place, maybe stay longer if needed! :) :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've been staying at this hostel whenever I'm in Bangkok. As of June this year, it was my third time staying in Saphaipae. To begin, the quality of the hostel never dropped a single bit. The beds were amazingly comfortable, the wifi has always been amazing, the lockers are big and spacious and shared bathrooms are always clean.

When I was there the first time back in 2011, the lobby was sparse. There were a few furnitures lying around. Fast forward to 2013, the lobby is now full of tables and chairs that you can play games on plus the bar now has permanent staff manning it! (previously, if i was not mistaken, whoever's manning the reception would also be doing the drinks at the bar)

Talking about the bar, the Thai Iced Tea is worth every baht. From the first time I've tasted it in 2011, the second time in 2012 and the third time this year, the taste still remains the same!

As a Muslim traveller as well, there is a halal eatery about 10 mins walking distance away, and if you need to head to the mosque to pray, it's about a 15 mins walk to the nearest mosque.

Saphaipae has my vote as one of the best hostels that I've ever stayed it. It is worth the money for its location and service quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saphaipae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphaipae Hostel

Address: 35 Surasak Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 564 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saphaipae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sa-phai-pae (sa-phai-pe) is Thai for backpacker. We are the biggest hostel in Bangkok, standing 8 stories tall with 245 beds, right on a quiet corner between Silom and Sathorn road. 5 min walk from Surasak BTS station and 10min walk to Sapan Taksin Boat Pier. - Female Dorm (4-8 beds) - Mix Dorm (2-10 beds) -Private double/twin with shared bathrooms. -Private double room with private shower room (Superior & Deluxe). Saphaipae is ideal for backpackers whom seek the convenience of the heart of Bangkok, and at the same time, to sleep peacefully at night.Hotel Quality at Hostel price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saphaipae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saphaipae Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphaipae Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.