We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel near Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Srinakarin Road | Hua Mak, Bangkok 10240, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel near Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a 3 week trip, we chose this hotel based on reviews and location (near airport) due to early morning flight. The rate was competitive and deal clincher was the complimentary airport pick up / drop off service. Appearance of Fourwings is good, everything looking very new, modern and clean (some might think a bit souless). We booked a standard room and it was very large with huge bathroom. There was live music in the lobby and we had a couple of drinks and some bar snacks (they were tapas style so quite small, and a little pricy), sadly there were only a handful of people in the lobby lounge and duo finished early. We had prebooked our complimentary transfer to airport and asked reception for an early morning wake up call, 4.30am, so that we could take the minibus to airport at 5am. Unfortunately, they forgot, and we got a call at 5.10am, to say that the minibus was waiting for us. This could have been a disaster if we missed our flight, but luckily we had already completed on line check in the day before, and we managed to get to airport 2 hours before our international flight. Moral of the story is do not rely on reception to give wake up call - they seemed more concerned that their mini bus was waiting for us, and were not very apologetic for this oversight. Would stay again if I could get a good rate and needed to be near airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    63
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
62
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were suggested to stay at this hotel by the airport hotel desk and it was supposed to be a 4*hotel, but all they offer is more than European 5* hotels have! The service, elegance and politeness is exceptional. Rooms are big, modern and clean. You may have great buffet dinner or go a la carte, food is tasty, elegant, pretty, with Thai flavor.

Room Tip: very convenient airport shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel is like a hotel created by a computer: efficient, user friendly, and containing all the functions you require. It is also soulless and full of pop up reminders and disclaimers, but thankfully no bugs. As a stop off point between flights, it works well. We were mainly looking for a clean, not too expensive hotel near the airport, and it hits those marks. Rooms are new and good sized; the whole property has a "Modern China" feel, if you have stayed in any newer hotel in mainland China you know what I mean - I call it "generic opulence". Disappointingly there is barely a whiff of anything Thai in the hotel. Dinner buffet offers a huge selection of choices (including a few Thai dishes), it was quite impressive. Don't miss: the outdoor pool area is lovely. It is not huge but is well laid out, with two levels and swim up bar, also a shallower area for kids. Perfect for relaxing during a layover. Unfortunately the view is not nice: the surrounding area is the grim development sprawl found in most big Asian cities today with dilapidated factories, beaten down tenements and new shopping centers for as far as the eye can see. Conclusion: this is not a hotel that will charm you with Thai flavor or lasting memories, but it delivers what it promises. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pick-up arrangements and check-in were good. Escort to the room which was modern and clean. But there were down-sides to this stay. The first was telephone advice that breakfast was served from 5.30 am and as I needed to take the 6.00 am shuttle this was welcome news. However, on arrival I was informed that the meal start time was in fact 6.00 am. So despite having paid for it, it would be unavailable. When I checked out at 5.50 am, a large group were having breakfast but I was told this was not the usual practise.
On arrival I asked for an early morning call. Later in the day I asked that the call time be amended to a later time. 'Sure!" However the call came through at the original, earlier time. I decided to eat in at the hotel as the general location was pretty poor. The meal I was served was inedible - I can't remember having a worse meal. (Awful to the power of 10).
The hotel boasts 87 channels on the TV service. Discount the non-English speaking channels (as I need to do) and the sporting channels there were 5.
The hotel is some 15 - 16 km from the airport - about a 20 minute drive. There is virtually nothing to do in the neighbourhood. If you want an airport hotel I'd suggest somewhere closer to the airport [Great Western Amaranth springs to mind as having comparable cost and comfort] otherwise actually travel in to Bangkok where there are so many good hotels to choose from. The one advantage this place does offer is that it is suitable for large buses - hence my suggestion that it may be good for tour groups. But don't eat there!

Room Tip: Room on higher floors are quieter. Choose the Bangkok city views side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Aus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Insofar as we were concerned the staff and the premises were fine.
We had the advantage of one being Thai, knew where to go and what to ask when communicating with the bus or taxi driver.

I could see however, because of its location, that it probably not the best in the world. It is a bit of an effort to get to places.

Close to the airport (20 min + on a busy day). We look upon hotels , as a place to sleep when not doing things. I did manage too much sun by the pool last Saturday, which was very pleasant at the time. It did also suit the location we needed for 2 weeks which possibly influences my thoughts.
But as I mentioned, for us, the hotel and its staff ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend booked this hotel as it is very close to his condominium. We arrived early, before the 12.00 check in time, the hotel was not full and was informed that we had to pay 2000baht if we want to check in now. I have never ever had this experience. Have travelled all over the world and even a 2 star hotel will never ask for early check in payment and especailly not a 5 star. This is not a 5 star hotel at all. 5 star in terms of the building and room but not service. I would call this a NO FRILL 5 STAR HOTEL as you had to pay if you want the free wi fi for a second device. You have you ask for the toiletries to be replenished. My pet hate is staff hovering over you and waiting for you to pay when you asked for the bill. When I arrived at the Terrace Bar, 2nd night of my stay, the bar staff was sitting down and busy with his mobil phone. When he finally noticed me he came over to me and could not understand English. When I was there the Chinese and Japanese Restaurants were closed.
As for the swimming pool, it is a joke closing at 7pm. Breakfast again is nothing compared to other 5 star hotels I stayed here in Bangkok.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel if you are expecting 5 star service and a true 5 star hotel. When I checked hotel.com and agoda, I saw hotels of similar rate at Novetel etc. and you will get a better service there.
It takes alot for me to give a poor review and I am sorry to say that this is one of the hotels I really had to.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 1906, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights for a conference, probably at a special rate. The hotel is new and luxuriously built, providing 5 star quality at a 3 star price, great modern rooms with sweeping views over Bangkok. The location is convenient for the airport (with free shuttle) but not great for visiting the city or any other activities as it is located a bit in the middle of nowhere. The hotel has a large pool with nice views, but pool hours are not very customer friendly and the terrace floor is extremely slippery when wet. Overall we had a good experience.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel

Address: 333 Srinakarin Road | Hua Mak, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#111 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#136 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Srinakarin Road with 25 minutes from Suvarnabhumi International Airport, an expressway and Airport Rail Link. The excellent linkage to new shopping center, business district. The exciting experience starts from an elegant lobby decorating with marble adding by a touch of modern interior sculptures. The 465 luxurious guest rooms are exquisite designed with an elegant and function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Fourwings Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.