We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but lacking ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soul Food Mahanakorn

Soul Food Mahanakorn
56/10 Sukhumvit Soi 55 (Thong Lor), Bangkok 10110, Thailand
66-0-2714-7708 or 66-0-8590-42691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #408 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Groningen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food but lacking ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Without a doubt one of the best real Thai restaurants in the Ekkamai / Thong Lo area. The quality of the food is excellent and they use only organic ingredients. However the prices are high compared to other restaurants serving the same dishes and they really lack ambiance. It can also get super crowded especially in weekends so it might be wise to make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    121
    50
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had dinner at Soul Food last night and it was simply delicious.
I didn't make a reservation which was not a problem although I would recommend making one for peace of mind. I arrived alone and was seated at the bar, which I have no problem with. In fact my evening was enhanced by the fact that I was sitting next to someone who is in the restaurant business and we chatted which was nice. Jarrett, the owner, was behind the bar and was a great host. He knew the man I was sitting next to so they were chatting quite a bit about different things - I was graciously included in the conversation as well as being given a glass of (delicious) Rioja which Jarrett was sampling.
Anyway, lets get to the food. WOW! Simply delicious. I had the banana flower salad which was quite delicious. Beautifully served and I never knew you could even use the flower pod from the banana tree. Smoked duck larb was my other dish and was also delicious with mint in it, smoked duck, regular duck and small crunchy pieces of fired duck skin - simply divine.
Choosing what to order was hard as it all looked so good. I would go back in a flash to try other things.
The cocktail list is also great with many cocktails that have been invented at Soul Food. I had a So Fashioned, which was bourbon with ginger, cranberry and bitters and the combination was fabulous. I finished off with a lemon grass daiquiri, which was also delicious...
I thought it was quite delicious with very pleasant staff, nice surroundings and a good ambience - oh, and a brilliant wine list too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thai Fusion...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I ate here a week after it first opened and keep coming back every trip to Bangkok. The owner was an American food writer in Asia before opening his own place. The Bar pours generous doubles so if you are longing for a good, stiff cocktail in Bangkok, this is one place you'll get one. The food is not exactly fusion, but Thai with a distinctive and delicious twist. Expect a casual and convivial atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fantastic dishes. Great variety of food. Normally I don't like fushion but this does not stray too far from how great Thai food tastes. They also have really good cocktails!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best banana flower salad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food is here is excellent! The banana flower salad is out of this world. The Thai staff speaks some English and are most accommodating. The owner is American (from Pennsylvania) and is very friendly with the guests. Delicious food!!! Go there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul Food Mahanakorn also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Soul Food Mahanakorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soul Food Mahanakorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.