We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff are very friendly and always available if you have any queries. The accommodation was clean and simple, just what we were after. Air conditioning works well. Shared bathrooms and shower were no problem, never had to wait. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    123
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
169
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staff very friendly, one of the only places on our travels that had free breakfast and wifi. Fast and cheap laundry service. Great location for seeing all the sights. Nice places to eat nearby down the back streets. In all excellent value for money, would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is perfect for people looking for a single or double occupancy room on a budget. The place is very clean and just a short walk to Khao San Road. Make sure you know if your room has A/C because some of them don't. Also the room next to the washing machine may be woken up from the noise if you're a light sleeper.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Such a lovely stay here - the staff were really friendly and helpful! Simple rooms and shared bathroom but we never waited for a shower. Free breakfast and wifi fantastic when on a budget. Got our laundry done as well, and the service was really quick.

Great location in the old town - near the river ferry and walkable to Khao San Road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent stay here. It is a very secure guesthouse - which is a great plus when traveling! - and lovely people who run it.
The mattresses take some getting used to (very hard), but I guess that also depends on your personal preferences. Otherwise, perfect!
Thank you Isa Sang Sang, see you again in August!!

Make sure to book ahead since they are in demand and fully booked. I really wanted to come back before my flight back to Europe, and I only just managed to reserve the last room, and it's 5 weeks from now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we arrived very late the night we stayed here but the staff were happy to stay up and wait for us, our room was large and comfortable as well as very clean, the bathrooms are shared but adequately clean, while there was no one who spoke English on the front desk when we needed to book tickets (it was quite early about 830am and we needed them for that day) they were able to wake someone who was happy to come and help, the prices for bus tickets and tours were more costly through the guesthouse but we didn't have time to go elsewhere, it is worth looking at the travel agencies around Khaosan rd where you are bound to find a great deal. Khaosan Rd is located about 5 mins walk from the guesthouse. There are plenty of hostels closer to Khaosan rd but if you want great service and a quiet but still central location this is the perfect guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for NYE and we weren't dissapointed.

The guesthouse is perfectly located near the famous Khaosan Road, close enough to walk (10mins) and far enough away from any of the friendly chaos !

The guesthouse was very clean, we had our own little wing due to the duration we stayed, it was very clean and spacious. The showers were excellent !!

The staff were very friendly and they offered some brilliant trips and tours !

A note to anyone wanting to book any trips, wait until you get here as they're around 25% cheaper from this guesthouse than if you book at home on the internet like we did for some of our outings.

The breakfast was great and the fridge was always stocked with refreshing drinks and low prices !

It's a perfect place to stay and when we return to Bangkok we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.