We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Save Saved
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 745 hotels in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent stay here. It is a very secure guesthouse - which is a great plus when traveling! - and lovely people who run it.
The mattresses take some getting used to (very hard), but I guess that also depends on your personal preferences. Otherwise, perfect!
Thank you Isa Sang Sang, see you again in August!!

Make sure to book ahead since they are in demand and fully booked. I really wanted to come back before my flight back to Europe, and I only just managed to reserve the last room, and it's 5 weeks from now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    68
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
100
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we arrived very late the night we stayed here but the staff were happy to stay up and wait for us, our room was large and comfortable as well as very clean, the bathrooms are shared but adequately clean, while there was no one who spoke English on the front desk when we needed to book tickets (it was quite early about 830am and we needed them for that day) they were able to wake someone who was happy to come and help, the prices for bus tickets and tours were more costly through the guesthouse but we didn't have time to go elsewhere, it is worth looking at the travel agencies around Khaosan rd where you are bound to find a great deal. Khaosan Rd is located about 5 mins walk from the guesthouse. There are plenty of hostels closer to Khaosan rd but if you want great service and a quiet but still central location this is the perfect guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for NYE and we weren't dissapointed.

The guesthouse is perfectly located near the famous Khaosan Road, close enough to walk (10mins) and far enough away from any of the friendly chaos !

The guesthouse was very clean, we had our own little wing due to the duration we stayed, it was very clean and spacious. The showers were excellent !!

The staff were very friendly and they offered some brilliant trips and tours !

A note to anyone wanting to book any trips, wait until you get here as they're around 25% cheaper from this guesthouse than if you book at home on the internet like we did for some of our outings.

The breakfast was great and the fridge was always stocked with refreshing drinks and low prices !

It's a perfect place to stay and when we return to Bangkok we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in June. We arrived quite late (around 10:30pm) but this was not a problem. We had room 301, located on the second floor, which was quite spacious with two single mattresses directly on the ground. We did not have aircon, however this was never a problem as the room was adequately cooled with the two fans provided. Our room also had a door which led out onto a shared balcony which overlooked the front aspect of the guesthouse. The location of this place is great - down a quiet street away from the main road yet only a 10-15 min walk to all the action and debauchery of Khao San road and its surrounds. Additionally the station for the river ferry is only about a 10 min walk also. Breakfast was nothing to write home about - standard mock western eggs/sausage/toast and jam, but hey it was free so I'm not complaining! Overall I really liked this guesthouse, it had character and was well located and very nice given the price. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As you enter on to Soi 3 it is right at the end, you have to walk through another guesthouse before you get to teh Khaosan but its not a problem as its open, which you then walk into the front part oif it where there are tables and chairs, and a freidge with drinks in that you can buy. It has a little reception area where there is details on laundry and other services and also where the computers are for the free internet use.

We stayed in teh Double superior which was upstairs left of reception there are four room up there that are all double but ours was the biggest, and these four share one bathroom which isnt a problem as it has a shower and toilet in there. The rooms had A/C which was good especially after walking around the Khaosan road and getting a sweat on! The rooms were nice and clean. The staff are friendly and always very helpful. And this place also has a printer for you to print of boarding passes or anything else you require.

Good place to stay if you want to be near the Khaosan road but not actually on top of it! The breakfast you get is very nice and cute, you get two bits of toast a fried egg and a sausage which was all very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful place.

The owners were lovely and did everything to help you out.

Rooms were basic, two beds on the floor but we did go for the cheapest standard room with fans, shared shower was cleaned everyday and looked like it was cleaned during the day also.

A good distance from khaosan but walkable in about 10 minutes

The free breakfast was nice. Would highly reccomend this place to anyone. Specially the first time goers to Bangkok.

We managed to get here without using taxis for a total of 200bt for two people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked in here for a night before our flight out of Thailand. Due to the site we booked through, we were under impression our room would have A/C but it did not despite it being a 'superior double'. Most likely the fault of Hostel booker's website but definitely check this out before booking. Even so, we booked a double and were given bunk beds.

Staff were very friendly though and the actual guesthouse seemed cosy with decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Due to the site we booked through, we were under impression our room would have A/C but it did not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.