We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 782 Hotels in Bangkok
Byron bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“clean & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we arrived very late the night we stayed here but the staff were happy to stay up and wait for us, our room was large and comfortable as well as very clean, the bathrooms are shared but adequately clean, while there was no one who spoke English on the front desk when we needed to book tickets (it was quite early about 830am and we needed them for that day) they were able to wake someone who was happy to come and help, the prices for bus tickets and tours were more costly through the guesthouse but we didn't have time to go elsewhere, it is worth looking at the travel agencies around Khaosan rd where you are bound to find a great deal. Khaosan Rd is located about 5 mins walk from the guesthouse. There are plenty of hostels closer to Khaosan rd but if you want great service and a quiet but still central location this is the perfect guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    144
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
189
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for NYE and we weren't dissapointed.

The guesthouse is perfectly located near the famous Khaosan Road, close enough to walk (10mins) and far enough away from any of the friendly chaos !

The guesthouse was very clean, we had our own little wing due to the duration we stayed, it was very clean and spacious. The showers were excellent !!

The staff were very friendly and they offered some brilliant trips and tours !

A note to anyone wanting to book any trips, wait until you get here as they're around 25% cheaper from this guesthouse than if you book at home on the internet like we did for some of our outings.

The breakfast was great and the fridge was always stocked with refreshing drinks and low prices !

It's a perfect place to stay and when we return to Bangkok we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in June. We arrived quite late (around 10:30pm) but this was not a problem. We had room 301, located on the second floor, which was quite spacious with two single mattresses directly on the ground. We did not have aircon, however this was never a problem as the room was adequately cooled with the two fans provided. Our room also had a door which led out onto a shared balcony which overlooked the front aspect of the guesthouse. The location of this place is great - down a quiet street away from the main road yet only a 10-15 min walk to all the action and debauchery of Khao San road and its surrounds. Additionally the station for the river ferry is only about a 10 min walk also. Breakfast was nothing to write home about - standard mock western eggs/sausage/toast and jam, but hey it was free so I'm not complaining! Overall I really liked this guesthouse, it had character and was well located and very nice given the price. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As you enter on to Soi 3 it is right at the end, you have to walk through another guesthouse before you get to teh Khaosan but its not a problem as its open, which you then walk into the front part oif it where there are tables and chairs, and a freidge with drinks in that you can buy. It has a little reception area where there is details on laundry and other services and also where the computers are for the free internet use.

We stayed in teh Double superior which was upstairs left of reception there are four room up there that are all double but ours was the biggest, and these four share one bathroom which isnt a problem as it has a shower and toilet in there. The rooms had A/C which was good especially after walking around the Khaosan road and getting a sweat on! The rooms were nice and clean. The staff are friendly and always very helpful. And this place also has a printer for you to print of boarding passes or anything else you require.

Good place to stay if you want to be near the Khaosan road but not actually on top of it! The breakfast you get is very nice and cute, you get two bits of toast a fried egg and a sausage which was all very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful place.

The owners were lovely and did everything to help you out.

Rooms were basic, two beds on the floor but we did go for the cheapest standard room with fans, shared shower was cleaned everyday and looked like it was cleaned during the day also.

A good distance from khaosan but walkable in about 10 minutes

The free breakfast was nice. Would highly reccomend this place to anyone. Specially the first time goers to Bangkok.

We managed to get here without using taxis for a total of 200bt for two people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked in here for a night before our flight out of Thailand. Due to the site we booked through, we were under impression our room would have A/C but it did not despite it being a 'superior double'. Most likely the fault of Hostel booker's website but definitely check this out before booking. Even so, we booked a double and were given bunk beds.

Staff were very friendly though and the actual guesthouse seemed cosy with decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Due to the site we booked through, we were under impression our room would have A/C but it did not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during a stopover in Bangkok and were thoroughly impressed. The hostel was clean and well located.

The staff were SO helpful, allowing us to leave our luggage for the day at no extra cost, and use the shower and internet on our return after a long day in Bangkok even though we'd checked out by that point.

Excellent value for money - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
3.1 mi away
Bangkok Loft Inn
Bangkok Loft Inn
#56 of 782 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
16.2 mi away
Airy Resort
Airy Resort
#299 of 782 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
5.6 mi away
MHC-Guesthouse
MHC-Guesthouse
#77 of 782 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#71 of 782 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Klassique Sukhumvit
0.3 mi away
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#177 of 782 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#88 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.