We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 757 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this place via TripAdvisor as it won one of their awards for best stay and it was definitely justified. We stayed for 3 nights and experience was wonderful, great staff, free computers and email, amazing value and sharing bathroom was not a problem - it was always clean and had good shower. Great quiet location as well, very walkable for local meals but we did need taxis for sightseeing around Bangkok, still easily affordable. Staff were very helpful, booked airport transfers, did laundry, etc. The only thing I would say is the heat, we had a fan but still warm at night, but that is true of anywhere in Bangkok without AC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    94
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
132
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My experience of this budget accommodation was very good from the beginning. The staff here are fantastic. They communicated with me before my stay & were incredibly friendly and helpful during my stay (2 days). I walked all over the place from this location without any trouble. The bathrooms are shared & they were spotless every time I entered. My room (#1, I think. First door on right) was quite small, but fine. The only thing that would prevent me from staying here was the heat. I did have a fan, but it just wasn't enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great stay here. Yes, a great budget option in Bangkok. It is clean and peaceful, with a friendly welcoming host. This is why we love tripadvisor, yes? We emailed that we were arriving very early in the morning. They were great about responding to emails, and gave instructions for arriving. The bathrooms are not in the room, you share with the one or two other rooms on your floor, but they are clean, and it was never a problem. Keep in mind that the guesthouse, while in a very nice area of Bangkok, close to one of the major tourist areas, is not near any of the several train systems, such as the sky train. Taking a taxi to get to the closest sky train will add a bit to your daily costs, and they taxis are not always willing to go to this neighborhood from other areas. That being said, it was a fine trade-off. The guest house is very comfy and very sweet, and they even include breakfast. There is another guest house on the same property, and they even have an expresso machine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joetsu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We liked the place. The staff were really nice and it had a good atmosphere. Having computers available was really useful too for backing up photos and doing some printing. That said, our twin fan room was crazy hot. Not sure why, the place just seemed to be a heat sink. Also, it opened onto a balcony and the window opening onto it did not close properly so it didn't seem very secure. With another AC room, it probable would have been fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Two of us stayed here for five nights. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. The breakfast is made to order and the eggs are just delicious, and you are close to many tourist sights, city buses, restaurants and the Chao Phraya Express piers. Most importantly, though, the staff who works here is extraordainarily kind and helpful. Directions and guidance were always given to us, and their help made our stay in Bangkok even more enjoyable. Highly recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a lovely place and sweet and helpfull people. It's simple, clean, cosy and I would definately stay here again.
The shared bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait. There is no noise at night, so good sleep too. Nice little breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location about 10 mins walk from Khao Saan Road where most bars are and just far enough to be quiet. Surrounded by other hostels and small shop.
Staff friendly and keen to help with anything you need. Receptionist speaks good english. She will help you with trips, bookings and direcrions.
Rooms are basic and the beds comfortable. The allow you to use a fridge in the main area if you need.
The whole place is clean and we did not see any bugs.
The breakfast they offer is good. You get 2 toast with pictures cook on it. 2 eggs, 2 sausage and a tea or coffee and matmalade. We tried to book more nights but could not get space.
I have recomended this to others I know already.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#146 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.