We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Khaosan Baan Thai two times for a combined 7 days in the summer of 2012. During july and august, we stayed at several hostels in Asia, but never felt as home and comfortable as we did here. The reason for that was the excellent staff here at the hostel. Very helpful and friendly! We booked a tour through the hostel, which was good and well-priced. We also booked airport transfer during both stays. The first time, the bus was delayed and the hostel called a cab instead with no extra charge. We were also able to store luggage in the hostel between stays for a very low fee.

The rooms are as simple as they get. Definitely not the best about the hostel. There is no aircondition, so it gets quite hot. Wifi worked excellent though and there are also computers available for guests.

Location was nice. In walking distance (10 minutes) to the busy Khaosan Road. I would prefer staying a bit away from the middle of Khaosan Road as it is very noisy. Khaosan Baan Thai is located in a quiet place in the end of a small alley.

Despite the rooms, I would definitely stay here again. Great place and also perfect if you're interested in speaking with other travellers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    114
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
160
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A nice little place that caters well for every need in a cheap and cheerful way.
The receptionist is outstanding and will make everything work - travel, tuk tuk, dining suggestions etc.
Nothing is a problem.
The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom facilities are fine, the breakfast is a light affair and more importantly, the drinks are cold and cheap.
Location near the river is magnificent so catching a riverboat / ferry is within walking distance.
A perfect place for a quick Bangkok stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Here now. A quiet location but near waterway, bars and a night market. Unbelievably good receptionist who is so helpful. Wifi, laundry, breakfast all good. Lots of travel books in library, pleasant outside area to chill.
Rooms spotlessly clean as are shared bathrooms. Mattresses hard as they are in asia but comfortable and on floor. Pillows excellent. Cheap drinks and cold.
This is a great budget hotel. Not fault able

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Khaosan for 2 nights and found it to be very pleasent. The room we had was very basic but that's all we needed, a bed and 2 fans. The toilets were always clean and tidy and there was enough of them that you never had to wait. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was very central to everything. If we go back to Bangkok we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hostel wasn't too easy to find as the map they provide on their site omitted a number of streets hence the confusion. Anyway, the house was quite nice and somehow resembles my own house here in the Philippines. For the first time in my entire life, I decided to get a non AC room. Ang altho we got 3 fans in the room (we were 3) it wasn't really that cool. Anyway, it was worth every penny. from Khao san road, i suggest you take the cab as there really isn't much to see. It's also quite near to a pier where you could ride the ferry to the Grand Palace, Wat Po and Wat Arun so it was very convenient. If there's one thing I wish this place had, it's definitely ensuite bathrooms. :) A room for 3 with no AC for just 780 THB?! I'd say it's a steal. The owner's really nice too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for only one night on a stopover - I had a very quiet, relaxing night and breakfast was really good in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful in giving me directions for the day and in setting up a cab for me to get back to the airport. The free internet was a bonus, as well.

I don't know Bangkok extremely well so I can't comment too much on the location, but I was able to walk around and see some sights and walk back to Samsen Soi all in an afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place has an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from Khaosan road. It's not far from the river as well. The offer a nice little breakfast, and the lady at the reception was really friendly. Only the rooms are quite small and it can get very hot in summer, because there's only a fan in the room. Nevertheless cozy little place in the heart of Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#76 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#111 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.